2011年強制性公積金計劃(修訂)(第2號)條例草案

陳健波議員就2011年強制性公積金計劃(修訂)(第2號)條例草案於6月21日的立法會會議上發言

相對世界各地的退休金制度,香港強積金制度是成立時間最短、供款率最低、及積金資產結餘最低的地方。事實上,一般來講,退休金制度至少要運作30至40年方會進入成熟期,所以,以行政費佔總資產的百分比去比較香港和資產規模比香港大十多倍到幾十倍的退休金制度,並不科學,亦不合理。

事實上,營運強積金制度有固定開支及與資產排鈎的浮動開支,由於現時強積金規模細,固定開支佔資產百分比似乎較高,但隨著強積金程序自動化及簡化、供款上限提升、強積金結餘不斷上升、及行業競爭等情況出現,都會令到行政費不斷下降,慢慢接近已成熟同規模遠比香港為大之市場。

香港人口老化情況嚴重,為解決香港人退休問題,優化強積金制度,包括全自由行、提高供款上限及供款百分比、鼓勵自願性供款等,都非常重要,政府亦應在強積金基礎上,研究全民退休保障計劃,並作諮詢及討論,以達至全港共識。

我在法案委員會作出多項建議,亦獲政府同意作出相應修訂,現在不再詳細讀出。我支持通過今次的法案,令半自由行能盡快推出。

至於議員提出的修正案,黃成智議員動議的修正案,訂明積金局須向投訴人提供初步調查意見副本,我希望大家留意到,該通知書只是積金局調查的初步意見,並且須通知被規管者的申述權利。被規管者可以因應積金局得出意見之原因,作出額外申述及提出證據。可以睇到,調查過程並未完成,在被規管者作出申述之後,結果有可能完全不同。所以,在有最終調查結果前通知投訴人,並不適當,亦不公道,所以我不能支持黃成智議員的修訂。但是,我是支持在完成有關調查及有最終結果後,通知投訴人有關結果及制裁行動詳情。

我明白甘乃威議員建議修正案之目的,在於保障投資者,以免投資者需付出高昂法律費用向法庭提出訴訟。但我相信,香港規管機構應否獲賦權,命令受規管者向投資者作出賠償,同時如果中介人違反條例第IVA部規定及標準而蒙受損失,可向法庭提出法庭索償程序的修訂,對香港整個金融規管制度會產生十分深遠的影響,是一個重大的決定,應該作出全面諮詢,令到受影響有關人士有機會反映他們的意見,以衡量各項利弊,再作決定,所以在全面研究甘乃威議員修訂的影響前,不能支持修訂。

社交分享

Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes (Amendment) (No. 2) Bill 2011

Speech by Hon KP Chan on the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes (Amendment) (No. 2) Bill 2011 at the Legislative Council Meeting on June 21st, 2012

Compared to retirement schemes elsewhere, the Mandatory Provident Fund in Hong Kong is the most immature with the lowest contribution rate and asset balances. In general, pension systems require at least 30-40 years of operation to reach maturity. It is therefore neither scientific nor rational to compare the administrative cost as a percentage of the asset balances between the MPF and retirement schemes in other countries which asset sizes are ten to dozens times larger than that of the MPF.

As a matter of fact, operating costs of the MPF is a combination of fixed transaction costs and variable costs aligned to the amount of assets under management. Because of the low balances of the MPF, fixed costs translate into a higher percentage fee. With automation and simplification of the administrative procedures, increase in the levels of relevant income, accumulation in the overall balances of the MPF, and free market competitions, fees will reduce over time and approach the level of mature markets which sizes are much larger than Hong Kong.

The issue of aging population in Hong Kong is severe. To meet the retirement needs of our citizens, it is of utmost importance for us to optimize the MPF system, including full portability, increases in both levels of relevant income and contribution rate, as well as incentives in voluntary contributions. The Government should also conduct studies, consultations, and discussions to reach a consensus on a universal retirement protection scheme to complement the MPF.

The Government has agreed to and made corresponding amendments to a number of my proposals in the Bills Committee, which I will spare the details in this speech. I am supportive of the current Bill in the hope of launching the Employee Choice Arrangement as soon as possible.

As for the amendments proposed by Members, the amendment moved by Hon Wong Sing-chi requires the MPFA to give a copy of their preliminary view to the complainant in the event of an investigation. I hope everyone is aware that the notice is only the preliminary view of the MPFA which also serves the purpose of notifying the regulated person his or her right of appeal. The regulated person has the right to file additional appeals and present evidence in relation to the grounds which the MPFA base their views on. It is apparent that the investigation is incomplete at this stage which may render entirely different results depending on the appeal by the regulated person. Therefore, it is neither appropriate nor fair to provide the preliminary view to the complainant prior to the conclusion of the investigation. As such, I cannot support the amendment proposed by Hon Wong Sing-chi. However, I am supportive of making the final results and details of the sanctions available to the complainant after completion of the investigation.

I understand the purpose of the amendment proposed by Hon Kam Nai-wai is to protect investors so that they do not have to pay exorbitant legal fees to the court proceedings. However, I believe it is a major decision on whether or not the Hong Kong regulatory authorities should be empowered to command the regulated person to pay compensation to the investors. At the same time, the amendment will have far-reaching implications on our entire financial regulatory system if damages can be claimed through civil proceedings in court from intermediaries in violation of the requirements and standards under Section IV A. There must be a full consultation so that all stakeholders have the opportunity to express their views and the pros and cons can be thoroughly evaluated before a decision is made. Before there are comprehensive studies on the impact of the amendment by Hon Kam Nai-wai, the amendment cannot be supported.

Social sharing