完善本港住屋政策

陳健波議員就完善本港住屋政策議案於2012年4月18日立法會會議發言

• 本港的住屋政策一直是市民其中一項最關心的議題。由於新的行政長官已經選出,我相信現時是本港一個重要契機,讓本港社會重新審視及制定一套長遠而又全面的住屋政策。

• 我認為香港住屋政策最大的原則,應以公營房屋為主導。目前有接近50%人口住在公屋及資助出售單位之中,將有關的比例提升,可以讓更多人口可以入住公營房屋,當中應以公屋為主,再興建適量的居屋及夾心階層住屋,供沒有能力買私樓,但又無資格入住公屋的家庭申請。

• 只有大幅增加公屋供應才可以盡快解決劏房、籠屋及板間房的問題,保證到人人有得住的基本權利。新加坡有多達85%的人口住在政府興建的組屋中,事實證明越多市民入住公營房屋,社會就越穩定,因為市民有安樂的居所,便可以安居樂業,貧窮的情況亦大有改善。新加坡的組屋政策除了解決市民的居住問題外,並肩負融和社會及減少社會矛盾的作用,更體現了政府對社會未來發展的承擔。

• 即使本港適量增加公屋供應,我相信不會對私營樓市產生太大影響,因為入住公營房屋的市民都來自基層,並非私樓的目標客戶。而且,近年國內富裕的市民喜歡來港置業,將來私樓的市場會面向全中國,根本不乏客源,同時將來的樓價亦極可能因內地市民大舉來港買樓而不斷上升,導致基層市民難以負擔。所以現在是一個適當時機,增加公屋供應量,徹底解決基層住屋問題。

• 至於私營樓市,政府唯一的工作就是安排足夠土地供應,再由發展商按市場的需求決定發展的情況。目前,土地供應已經回到正軌,未來數年將會有足夠的供應,樓價一定可以平穩發展。早前我指出全港住宅用地只佔全港面積約7%,工商用地只約佔3%,農業魚塘用地約佔6%,反映出香港發展的空間,其實遠比我們想像中為大,只要政府做好土地供應的規劃,一定可保證有足夠的土地供應。

• 最後,政府制定住屋政策的前,亦要做好人口政策,包括計算香港人口的承載能力,制定政策控制來港人數及改善本港人口質素,否則只會徒勞無功。事實上,政府就算增加公營房屋的供應,但人口特別是基層人口不斷增加,結果仍然供不應求,達不到政策目的。所以,政府必定同時做好人口政策的規劃,全面掌握人口的變化趨勢,令到住屋政策能夠作出相應的調整。

社交分享

Perfecting Hong Kong’s Housing Policy

Speech of the Hon KP Chan on Motion on Perfecting Hong Kong’s Housing Policy at the Legislative Council on April 18th, 2012 (Synopsis)

• Housing is always a prime concern of the public. As we have a Chief Executive Elect, there is no better timing for the community to reconsider and lay down the long term and comprehensive housing policy.

• In my view, the policy should be led by public housing in principle. Currently, almost half of the population is living in public rental and homeownership housing. This ratio should be lifted basically through additional public rental housing, supplemented by homeownership and sandwiched class flats for those who could not afford private housing but are ineligible for public rental units.

• Irregularities of illegally-partitioned, caged and multi-room flats may only be resolved readily by substantial increase in public rental housing. So is the intrinsic right of shelter. In Singapore, public housing is accommodating as high as 85 percent of the population. It has been demonstrated that the more people living in public housing the more stable is society. When housing is no longer a cause for concern, people would turn their attention to pursuing careers. Poverty would also be greatly relieved. Public housing policy in Singapore has not only resolved accommodation but also promoted social harmony and mitigated conflicts. It has demonstrated the undertaking of Government on the future of society.

• For Hong Kong, I am not convinced that increasing public housing for the grass root would grossly affect private development because they have different targets. Moreover, affluent Mainlanders are buying properties in Hong Kong in recent years, and the private housing market is reorienting to meet the increasing demand. Meanwhile, housing prices would also surge on buying spree beyond affordability of the grass root. Now is good timing to increase public housing and resolve accommodation for the grass root once and for all.

• In private housing, the only role of Government is supplying adequate land for developers to meet market demand dynamically. At present, land supply is back on the right track. With adequate supply in the years ahead, housing prices should re-stabilize. Previously, I said that land use for residence only accounts for 7 percent, commerce for 3 percent and agriculture including fishery for 6 percent of total area of the territory. These figures show that there is actually more space for development than perceived. So long as planning is properly done, there would be no shortage of land supply for development.

• Finally, the Government should put population policy ahead of housing policy including population sustainability, policy on new arrivals and demographic quality. Otherwise, no housing effort would be productive. Actually, if increase in public housing fell short of population growth, particularly the grass root, recurring shortage in supply would defeat policy objectives. Therefore, the Government must have proper population policy to allow housing policy to adapt to changing demographic trends.

Social sharing