根據議事規則第49B(1A)條動議的議案

陳健波議員就根據議事規則第49B(1A)條動議的議案於2012年4月18日立法會會議發言

• 經過26個月的調查,調查委員會終於完成調查工作,並於上月發表報告,結論及理據已經詳列於報告中,並在記者會上作出詳盡解釋。然而,仍然有意見認為立法會動用157萬及超過兩年時間調查今次的事件,結果仍然未能找到充足證據,按基本法第七十九條第七款譴責甘乃威議員,調查工作是浪費議會時間及納稅人的金錢。

• 我作為調查委員會的副主席,希望在此對有關言論作出回應。我認為今次的調查工作不但不是浪費時間金錢,而是維護立法會公信力、挽回公眾信心的重要工作,這亦是原則性的問題,要還各方面一個公道。事實上,回想在零九年事件發生時,每日都有近百篇的新聞報導爭相報導,立法會亦接到不少市民的信件、電郵及來電,普遍認為有必要查明,有關情況都反映出輿論高度關注事件。

• 在此情況下,立法會根本不可能坐視不理,否則將無可避免會被批評為包庇立法會同事,亦無法向公眾解釋為何不作出跟進,最終難以平服市民疑慮。另一方面,事件涉及議員操守,性質十分嚴重,而事件是否屬實,當時存有不少疑點及爭議,由於事件在議員辦事處發生,涉及公帑運用,立法會理所當然有責任查明真相,還各方面包括甘乃威議員、王麗珠小姐等一個公道。

• 有意見認為,今次調查並無找到實質的證據或結果,反映調查並無實際的效用。我相信,不一定要成功對有關議員提出譴責,調查才算成功,我們的目標並非在於否能成功解除有關議員的職務,而是要還各方的公道,所以不能夠因為我們可能找不到進一步的證據,就在開始前乾脆任何事都不做,這只不過是不負責任的表現。

• 此外,報告提到立法會目前未有就嚴重程度未至於需取消有關議員資格的失當行為,訂出合適的處理機制及相應的罰則。委員會認為,議會應重新考慮檢討現行機制,以確保在處理涉及議員不同程度的失當行為時,有合適的機制及罰則,以維護立法會的公信力。我十分同意有關的建議,因為隨著本港政界的發展,以及透明度不斷增加,相信日後繼續會有議員被投訴行為失當,為免出現因缺乏機制而無法處理的情況,立法會應盡早研究有關問題。

• 至於為何在無人投訴情況下,依然進行調查? 王小姐向調查委員會解釋,她就此事件感到極大壓力,想盡快忘記這件事和盡量低調。由於調查委員會在向甘議員及證人取證時,已參考王小姐於2009年12月3日透過其律師向立法會議員發出的公開聲明所載的資料,並就該等資料向他們提出相關的問題。加上出席研訊的證人均能夠向調查委員會提供十分有用的證供,讓調查委員會能夠充分瞭解到有關的情況,調查委員會決定尊重王小姐的意願,不尋求立法會特別授權行使特權法,命令王小姐出席研訊,否則等如於傷口灑鹽,加深王小姐的痛苦。

• 至於調查用了26個月調查,是否有拖延的情況? 首先,調查橫跨二個暑假,共六個月的時間。其次,調查委員會決定不准許甘議員盤問證人,但採取措施確保他有機會檢視及回應證人所提證據及證供,文件來往較為費時。第三,調查委員會在安排甘議員出席研訊日期時,需遷就甘議員及陪同他出席的一名執業大律師的時間表。該名大律師曾因公務而只能在星期六出席研訊。最後,在調整過程中,代表甘議員的律師曾超過十次就甘議員的權利、調查程序等事宜致函調查委員會,委員每次均小心研究其論點,以確保調查對甘議員和各方公平公正。

社交分享

Motion Tabled under Rule 49B(1A) of Rules of Procedure

Speech of the Hon KP Chan on Motion under Rule 49B(1A) of Rules of Procedure at the Legislative Council on 18 April 2012 (Synopsis)

• After conducting the probe for 26 months, the Committee of Inquiry has completed its task and released its report last month. Its conclusions and rationale in the report are also elucidated at a media briefing. Still, there are criticisms that this inquiry is wasting time and public fund. They say the Legislature has spent HK$1.57 million and over two years to find the allegations inconclusive. There is insufficient evidence in support of censuring the Hon Kam for misconduct under Article 79(7) of the Basic Law.

• As Vice-chairman of the Committee, may I response to these criticisms? In my view, this inquiry is not wastage of time and money but an act to defend credibility of the Legislature and reassure public confidence. These are matters of principle. Furthermore, it would clarify any doubt on affected parties and uphold justice. As a matter of fact, there were over 100 reports in the media every day back in 2009 after exposure of allegations. The Legislative Council also received letters, emails and phone calls from in favour of an investigation. All these reflected the public did have grave concern.

• In these circumstances, this Council could not be ignorant. If we did, we would inevitably be criticized of cover-up and protecting our colleague. We would not be able to justify our inertia. At the end of the day, we would hardly remove doubts of the public. On the other hand, the allegation involved misconduct of an Honorable Member of this Council and was inherently serious. There were also many doubts and controversies. As the incident occurred in the office of the Member and involved public funds, this Council has the unequivocal duty to find out what had happened and uphold justice for the benefit of both the Hon Kam Nai-wai and Ms Wong Lai-chu.

• Some also criticized that this inquiry was fruitless as it did not find any creditable proof nor draw any conclusion. I do not believe that worthiness of an inquiry should be judged only by having the accused censured. We are not trying to disqualify the accused and this is no our goal, but to uphold justice for all. Therefore, we should not elect inaction simply because we were unlikely to find additional evidence. If we did, we would not be acting responsibly.

• Moreover, the Report points out that the Legislative Council does not have procedures and sanctions related to misconduct that is not serious enough to warrant disqualification. The Committee of Inquiry recommends this Council to reconsider the existing arrangements to provide them for different degrees of misconduct as a means of upholding creditability. I fully support this recommendation. With the development of local politics and increasing transparency, Members are more susceptible to complaints against misconduct in future. We should consider this issue early to avoid facing an unfortunate situation of lacking such procedures.

• Why did we pursue the investigation without a plaintiff? Ms Wong informed the Committee that she was under excessive stress and would like to put the matter behind the sooner the better. She also wished to remain low-key. When the Committee inquired on the Hon Kam and other witnesses, it had taken into account Ms Wong’s public statement to the Legislative Council dated 3 December 2009 and put relevant questions to them. Furthermore, all witnesses attending the hearing provided useful testimonies that helped the Committee of Inquiry fully master what had or might have happened. In the circumstances, the Committee of Inquiry decided to respect the wish of Ms Wong and to abstain from seeking authorization of the full Council to summon her under the power and privilege law. If the Committee did so, it would put her under further stress and might be more damaging.

• Why did it take 26 months to complete? Were there occasions of delay? Firstly, there were two session breaks of six months in total during the inquiry. Secondly, the Committee decided to disallow the Hon Kam cross-examining witnesses. Instead, arrangements were made for him to review and response to evidence and testimonies of witnesses. The related exchange of correspondences took time. Thirdly, hearing dates had to fit in diaries of both the Hon Kam and his counsel. The latter were only available on Saturdays. Finally, the Hon Kam’s counsel wrote to the Committee on at least 10 occasions on rights of his principal and procedural matters. On every occasion, the Committee considered carefully his arguments with a view to upholding integrity and equity of the inquiry.

Social sharing