開拓本港土地資源

陳健波議員就開拓土地資源議案於2012年2月29日立法會會議上發言

• 近年本港住宅及商業用地供應不足,導致物業價格大幅上升,更影響到本港發展。政府推算本港人口將在2039年上升至890萬,加上經濟同步發展,本港未來需要增加4,500公頃土地應付實際的需要。

• 為應付未來土地發展,政府已表示將全面檢視香港土地資源運用情況,並承諾以創新思維開拓土地資源,近日更開展優化土地供應策略公眾諮詢,提到目前六種供應土地的模式,包括更改土地用途、重建、收地、填海、發展岩洞、重用前石礦場。

• 這六項供應土地的模式各有優點及限制,市民對部份模式有不同意見,特別在填海、收地及更改土地用途上存有好多爭議。我認為只要能夠顧及環境及保育,任何開拓土地的模式都應該考慮,而且應多模式並行,方可確保土地穩定供應。

• 維港以外填海問題是優化土地供應策略公眾諮詢的重點,亦是爭議最大的模式。根據資料顯示,過去30年新加坡透過填海增加多達13,700公頃的土地,約佔該國原有面積26%。而澳門的面積在20世紀初只有1,100公頃,目前已增加至近3,000公頃,即是澳門約有三分之二的土地是由填海而來。相比之下,香港開埠以來填海所得土地只有6,824公頃,佔總面積6%。好多人以為香港的土地大部份由填海而來,想法明顯不算正確。

• 同其他模式相比,填海有不少好處,例如土地供應量較有預算、可解決重建或剩餘的建築填料,同時填海得來土地是全新社區,規劃上會更容易。不好的地方就是可能影響到自然環境,是最多人反對的原因。自然保育十分重要,但政府提出25個維港以外的填海選址,相信並非全部地點都對自然環境有好大影響,所以社會人士不應一刀切反對,應該實事求是,只要政府能顧及環境保育,就應該支持在合適地點進行填海。

• 另外較大爭議的模式就是更改土地用途及收地,可能涉及到不少鄉郊用地及農地的問題。政府數字顯示全港住宅用地只佔全港面積約7%,工商用地只約佔3%,農業魚塘用地約佔6%,而林地灌叢草地等所佔面積就高達66%,從數字上可以知道,香港發展的空間,其實遠比我們想像中為大。

• 有分析指出,新界西北交通發展漸趨成熟,當港珠澳大橋落成後,發展會一日千里,區內有不少土地仍未開發,亦有不少已荒廢的農地及綠化地帶,只要政府能選擇部分合適、對自然環境影響較低的地方更改土地用途,一定可以為本港提供到大量土地,亦可以減低填海的需要。

• 有議員擔心,發展荒廢的農地及綠化地帶會引發業權人破壞農地及綠化地帶,從而爭取發展為住宅用地。有關不法行為極有可能發生,但總不能為了一部份不法人士而阻礙本港發展,只要政府做好整體規劃的工作,加強打擊不法行為,問題可以得到解決。

• 今日有議員提出發展邊境禁區用地的建議,有關建議的好處我不再重覆,只想強調邊境禁區用地可以用作工業用地,從而扶助高增值的工業發展,使香港的經濟多一項發展的路向,亦可以發展成為加強粵港兩地交往、融合的平台,實在是一舉多得,希望政府能夠認真考慮。

社交分享

Expanding Land Resources in Hong Kong

Speech of the Hon KP Chan on Member’s Motion on Expanding Land Resources at the Legislative Council on 29 February 2012 (Synopsis)

• Supply of land for residential and commercial uses has been insufficient in recent years, leading to surge in property prices that has an adverse impact on the economy. According to official forecast, population would reach 8.9 million by 2039. As the economy would grow in tandem, Hong Kong would need 4,500 hectares more land to satisfy demand.

• In order to satisfy land demand for development, the Government is conducting a comprehensive review of land use and undertaking to explore land resources with innovative ideas. Lately, the Government is consulting the public on strategies on optimizing land supply. Six means are put forward for consideration, including rezoning, redevelopment, repossession, reclamation, developing caves and rejuvenating quarries.

• These six means have their merits and limitations. Public views are mixed. Reclamation, repossession and rezoning are particularly controversial. In my view, any means of development is worth considering as long as environmental protection and conservation are not compromised. A multi-modal approach should be used to ensure stable land supply.

• Reclamation outside Victoria Harbour is the focus of this public consultation and it is also the most controversial. Statistics shows that the area of Singapore has increased by 13,700 hectares or 26 percent over the last 30 years through reclamation. The area of Macao is almost 3,000 hectares, as compared to 1,100 hectares at the turn of 20th Century. About two-third has come from reclamation. In contrast, the area of Hong Kong has only increased by 6,824 hectares or 6 percent through reclamation since 1841. It is a misconception that Hong Kong has been relying on reclamation for additional land.

• Comparing with other means, reclamation has its advantages. For instance, land supply is more manageable and construction wastes may be disposed of more productively. Moreover, reclaimed land would form new communities as their layouts are much less restrictive. The downside of reclamation is adverse impacts on the environment and this is the common cause for objection. Conservation does matter but the 25 proposed locations are outside Victoria Harbour and not all of them necessarily adversely affect the environment. I ask the public to be pragmatic and not to object indiscriminately. As long as the environment and conservation are adequately considered, reclamation at suitable sites should not be objected.

• Other controversial means are rezoning and repossession because they might involve village environ and farmland. According to updated official figures, residential land accounts for 7 percent, commercial land for 3 percent, agriculture and fishery land for 6 percent and woodland and greens for 66 percent of the territory. There is more land for development than generally perceived.

• The transportation network of New Territories Northwest is being developed and will be complemented by the Hong Kong/Zhuhai/Macao Bridge under construction. There are plenty unused land, fallowed farmland and greenbelt for redevelopment. The Government may pick those more suitable and less intrusive for rezoning. It would not only release more land for redevelopment but also reduce the pressure of reclamation.

• Some learned Members worry that redevelopment of fallowed farmland and greenbelt would provoke unauthorized destruction, particularly in pursuit of residential development. Admittedly, malpractice is unavoidable, but proper redevelopment should not be frustrated. As long as there are proper planning and effective law enforcement, the problem of malpractice would not be irresolvable.

• Other learned Members propose on redevelopment of restricted area along the border. I shall not repeat its merits but would like to stress the value of industrial land use at the locality. It would help develop high value-added industries and add another path of growth to the economy. It would also help develop a platform for increasing exchange and convergence between Guangdong and Hong Kong. In view of multiple benefits, it deserves serious consideration of the Government.

Social sharing