政府牽頭推動全民節能運動

陳健波議員就政府推動全民節能運動議案於2012年2月15日的立法會會議發言

• 面對氣候變化,天氣變得極端,世界各地不斷出現好似乾旱、水災、暴雪、颶風等極端氣候災害,數以百萬計的人民生計不保,甚至需要被迫逃離家園,成為氣候難民,香港遲早亦會受到影響。

• 為了應付能源需求,不少國家大幅度增加使用核能,以達致高效能、低排放的目的。在福島事件發生前,特區政府正是希望透過大幅度增加核電達致減排。香港應對氣候變化策略及行動綱領其中一個主要建議,就是將核能在發電燃料組合的比例由現時的23%,大幅增至2020年50%。

• 日本福島核事故令全球重新檢視核能安全問題。事實上,核電風險之高,核廢料處理的深遠影響,香港能否承受,是一個好大的疑問。香港並無天然資源,可再生能源的選擇亦相對較少。但天然氣價格遠較燃煤高,而兩電加價事件亦說明依賴天然氣會令電費增加。

• 在眾多的能源政策上,節能是最有效、最快速、最具成本效益的方法,既可應對氣候變化問題,亦可減輕市民經濟負擔。政府應採取主動,設立節能目標以及政策,透過各種的行政措施,鼓勵全民參與節能運動,令香港真正邁向低碳城市之路。

• 環境局顧問在2009年預測本港在2020年的總賣電量將會激增至每年640億度電。不過,兩電於2010年的總賣電量為444億度,顧問報告卻嚴重高估為504億度。如果報告於2020年出現同樣誤差,總賣電量將被高估86.4億度電。因此,如果配合節能,政府根本沒有需要大幅提高核電。只要每年減少3%消耗,8年已經可以減少25%消耗。

• 台灣提出電費折扣優惠,要市民的用電量較上年同期減少,就可獲5%至20%電費折扣,計劃實施一年,合共減少45億度電,相等於台北市全年住宅用電量的60%。而新加坡亦推行全國節省10%能源運動,如果市民成功節省10%用電,可以參加大抽獎。

• 反觀香港,各界過去一直提出好多極具建設性的節能減碳建議,但政府一直無定出一個全港性節能目標,於是,我們有一大堆節能建議,但如何透過節能去達到減排目標,當中時間表、路線圖完全欠奉。

• 前年,我參加了業主委員會。去年大家定出一年減5%用電量的目標,一年後,我們整個屋苑真係減少了5%用電量,總共慳左140萬電費。大家居民都覺得好開心,下年目標是3%,管理公司認為控制冷氣用量最為有效,其次為減少燈光的耗電。

• 低碳的生活方式與經濟增長,以及提高市民生活質素其實並無衝突。政府不斷要大幅增加使用核能或者其他能源,其實我們身邊其實已經有一個最有效、快速、極具成本效益的方法,就是節能。

• 我希望政府能夠肩負火車頭的角色,在與各界商討之後,訂出一個切合香港環境的節能目標,電力之外,亦可從煤氣、汽油着手,透過鼓勵性的行政措施,引領全港市民達致我們的節能目標,邁向低碳城市之路。

社交分享

Government-led Promotion of a Territory-wide Energy Conservation Campaign

Speech of the Hon KP Chan Moving Motion on Territory–wide Energy Saving Campaigns at the Legislative Council Meeting on 15 February 2012

• As climate changes, weather is becoming extreme. Severe calamities like drought, flood, snowstorm, hurricane, etc are occurring repeatedly all over the world. Millions of people are suffering. Many are even forced to flee and become refugees of the climate. Hong Kong could not be immune.

• In meeting increasing demand, many countries are expanding nuclear power for its high efficiency and low emission. Prior to the Fukushima incident, the SAR Government was also intended to substantially increase nuclear power to help reduce carbon emission. One of the key proposals in Strategies and Action Plan for Climate Changes is to raise the share of nuclear fuel in power generation from the current level of 23 percent to 50 percent by 2020.

• Following the Fukushima incident, the world is reviewing safety of nuclear power. In fact, nuclear power is high in risks and nuclear waste disposal has far-reaching implications. It is doubtful that Hong Kong could afford them. As Hong Kong does not have natural resources, we have limited choices of renewable energy. Natural gas costs much more than coal. The latest round of increase in tariffs has shown that the reliance of natural gas would push up electricity bills.

• Energy saving is the quickest, most effective and most cost efficient of all energy policy initiatives. It would not only meet the challenge of climate changes but also reduce household expenditures. The Government should take the lead and lay down energy saving targets and policies. It should also encourage communal participation in energy saving campaigns through administrative means and help Hong Kong move on to become a low-carbon city.

• The consultants of Environment Bureau forecast in 2009 that electricity consumption would surge to 64 billion Kilowatt hour (kWh) by 2020. However, the actual consumption in 2010 was only 44.4 billion kWh, as against the forecast of 50.4 billion kWh. Applying the same margin of error to the forecast for 2020, there would be an over-estimate of 8.64 billion kWh. Therefore, Hong Kong does not need to step up nuclear power if we would all save energy. With an annual saving of 3 percent, for instance, total saving for 8 years would amount to 25 percent.

• In Taiwan, households are offered discounts from 5 percent to 20 percent for less power consumption compared to the same billing period in the preceding year. The scheme achieved a reduction of 45 billion kWh for the first year, equivalent to 60 percent of domestic power consumption of Taipei. In Singapore, target of the national energy saving campaign is set at 10 percent. Households achieving 10 percent saving in power consumption are eligible for lucky draw.

• In Hong Kong, however, many constructive ideas have been proposed but the Government has yet to respond with territorial targets in energy saving and emission reduction. As such, we have a bundle of thoughts but no timetable and road map for reducing carbon emission through energy saving.

• In the year before last, I joined the Owners’ Committee (OC) of my housing estate. The OC and the management company agreed on a target of 5 percent saving in power consumption for last year. We attained the target and saved HK$1.4 million in electricity bill. All residents are pleased. Our target for this year is 3 percent reduction. According to the management company control of air conditioning usage is the most effective means, followed by reduction in power consumption in lighting.

• Low carbon life style and economic growth as well as quality of life are never mutually-exclusive. The Government is looking to the increase in nuclear and other sources of power without realizing that we have already the most convenient, most cost efficient and fastest means in hand. It is energy saving.

• I ask the Government to take the lead and set a viable target for energy saving after discussions with the community. Apart from electricity, town gas and petrol fuels should also be covered. Incentives should be offered to guide Hong Kong to achieve such energy saving targets and to march forward on the road to a low carbon metropolitan.

Social sharing