為及早診斷癌症而進行的預防健康檢查

陳健波議員就為及早診斷癌症而進行的預防健康檢查於2012年2月8日的立法會會議上提出質詢

本港的癌症新個 案自二○○○年起的十年間暴增約百分之22,但作為診斷癌症和評估癌症分期的重要工具的放射診斷造影在本港進行的宗數卻遠低於其他地方。美國哥倫比亞大學 的研究顯示,癌症造影技術的突破令美國十年間因癌症死亡的人數降低四成。根據醫院管理局(醫管局)的數字和按使用公私營醫療服務的人口比例約為九比一推 算,二○一○至一一年度,本港平均每千人口約進行18.3宗磁力共振掃描,遠低於大部分經濟合作與發展組織(經合組織)成員國於二○○九的數字(例如冰島 的75.5宗、法國的55.2宗及加拿大的43宗)兩倍至四倍。而該年度進行的電腦斷層掃描平均為每千人口約77.5宗,亦同樣遠低於冰島的156.2 宗、法國的138.7宗及加拿大的125.4宗。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)鑑於香港的癌症新個案於近年大幅增加,而二○一○至二○一一年度在醫管局轄下醫院進行的磁力共振掃描及電腦斷層掃描的宗數已分別比五年前增加了約五分之一及三分之一,為何該等數字仍遠落後於上述國家;

(二) 鑑於經合組織的資料顯示,於二○一○年希臘每百萬人口有22.6部磁力共振掃描機,澳洲每百萬人口有42.5部電腦斷層掃描機,是否知悉,現時全港每百萬 人口分別有多少部磁力共振掃描機及電腦斷層掃描機;鑑於根據報道,去年屯門醫院承認,有非急症病人需要輪候八年才獲得磁力共振掃描服務,這是否因為器材或 人手不足;及

(三)鑑於上述癌症新個案的升幅當中,45歲至64歲及65歲或以上兩個年齡組別的升幅分別達百分之44及17,當局有否提 出針對性措施改善這兩個組別的患癌風險;另外,根據美國癌症協會的數字,香港自二○○五年起的癌症新個案的五年升幅約為美國的兩倍,當局有否分析香港及其 他地方的癌症個案數字及近年的趨勢,深入比較環境、生活習慣及基因的差異以找出本港的升幅高於外地的原因,並從宏觀政策層面上減低癌症的發生率?

食物及衛生局局長周一嶽的答覆:

癌症是香港主要的公共衛生問題。二○○九年,本港有近26,000宗癌症新症個案。為了與市民一起有效地對抗癌症,政府和醫院管理局(醫管局)採取的措施必須符合科學理據和實際情況。在回答有關提問之前,我想先澄清數項事宜:

(i) 第一方面,問題前言提及美國哥倫比亞大學的一項研究。根據我們搜集到的資料,該校商學院一位博士於二○一○年發表了一項研究,結論指出美國一九九六至二 ○○六年間,年齡調整癌症死亡率降低了百分之13.4,當中四成(即百分之5.4)有可能歸因於癌症造影技術發展,並不是有關技術令因癌症死亡的人數降低 四成。

(ii)第二方面,問題提及經濟合作與發展組織(經合組織)的一些數據。根據有關報告,各國提供資料的範圍並不統一,例如有些並未 涵蓋私營界別服務,有些只涵蓋提供醫療保障退款申請的機構,有些則未有涵蓋公營機構。就美國而言,經合組織指出磁力共振掃描或電腦斷層掃描服務似乎有被濫 用的情況,原因可能是醫生透過轉介服務可以得到報酬。

本港的社會制度及醫療體制均與問題提及的國家不同。舉例而言,一些歐美國家的整體醫療衛生開支佔本地生產總值的百分比,往往高達雙位數字,為政府財政和醫療系統帶來龐大的壓力。反觀香港的數字僅為百分之4.8,而本港市民的健康指數仍可媲美其他已發展國家。

此外,本港的人口分布、健康及疾病的發病率,以及地理環境等因素亦與問題提及的國家截然不同。加上各地的醫護人員對使用醫療科技的培訓、習慣及誘因都各有不同。因此,電腦斷層掃描和磁力共振掃描機的數目,以及每年進行的掃描宗數,都不宜與經合組織的數據作出直接比較。

(iii)第三方面,問題假設放射診斷造影器材和服務在公私營界別所佔的比例為9:1。有關比例只適宜用於推算公私營醫療住院服務。香港有相當數目的非住院病人,會在私營醫療機構接受有關的掃描服務。
就問題的三部分,我現回應如下:

(一)正如剛才所述,公營醫院進行的電腦斷層掃描及磁力共振掃描的宗數,並不能與經合組織的數字作比較。就公營醫院而言,醫生會按病人臨床需要,安排進行電腦斷層掃描或磁力共振掃描檢查。所有癌症新個案,如需要以上服務協助評估癌症分期,均納入優先處理類別。

(二) 根據衛生署輻照儀器牌照服務處的紀錄,截至二○一二年二月一日,全港共有83部已領有牌照而用於醫療的電腦斷層掃描機。另外,由於磁力共振掃描機並不是幅 照儀器,無須領取法定牌照,我們並無相關的全港統計數字。醫管局方面,在二○一一/一二年度,其轄下會有28台電腦斷層掃描機及14台磁力共振掃描機。醫 管局已計劃於二○一二/一三年度在瑪嘉烈醫院添置電腦斷層掃描機,並在明愛醫院添置磁力共振掃描機。醫院亦會繼續採取靈活的措施,例如增聘及挽留人手、從 海外招聘放射技師或增加服務時段等,改善放射診斷造影服務。

(三)一般而言,年齡增長是患上常見癌症的風險因素之一。本港人口持續增長和 老化,癌症新症實際數字亦會持續上升。另一方面,各地的年齡層組成等人口結構特性都不同。二○○○至二○○九年,香港年齡介乎45至64歲以及65歲或以 上群組的人口增長率,就比美國同期的增長率高近一倍。因此,直接比較兩地的癌症新個案數字或升幅,並不能反映癌症的實際風險或影響。

為對有關數字作出有意義的分析,我們在統計學及流行病學上,會參考以標準人口計算的年齡標準化發病率或死亡率。本港整體人口患上癌症的發病及死亡風險皆呈下降的趨勢。

政府於二○○一年成立了高層次和跨專業的癌症事務統籌委員會,由我擔任主席,聯同公私營界別的癌症專家,就本地的癌症防控工作,作出督導及建議。

委員會轄下的「癌症預防及普查專家工作小組」,審閱科學證據後,為主要癌症的預防方法和普查提供建議。例如,根據科學理據,全港已開展子宮頸普查計劃,以便及早診斷子宮頸癌,及推行乙型肝炎疫苗注射,亦可以預防肝癌等。

另外,醫管局的癌症資料統計中心提供完善的癌症監察系統,協助我們紀錄和分析整體人口的癌症資料,並就主要的癌症作出推測,以便計劃有關的醫療服務。衛 生署則透過設立行為風險因素監測系統,定期收集香港成年人口各種與健康風險有關的行為模式資料,包括吸煙習慣、進食蔬菜、運動、飲酒、接受子宮頸細胞檢驗 等,從而提供實證支援和評估各種促進健康和預防癌病的工作。

世界衛生組織估計四成的癌症死亡個案可透過實踐健康生活模式而避免,包括 不吸煙、健康飲食和恆常運動等。雖然本港吸煙率已經由一九八○年代初的百分之23,顯著下降至現時的百分之11,但我們不能自滿,並將持續推行控煙工作。 衛生署亦將持續進行多方面的健康教育,推廣健康生活模式。

政府亦覑重通過有效的治療,阻止疾病在形成後進一步惡化。醫管局一直致力推 行放射治療服務,為合適病人提供更適時及妥善的治療。另一方面,醫管局於近年擴大醫管局藥物名冊的範圍的同時,逐步包括更多用以治療癌症的藥物,並以標準 收費向病人提供。政府亦向醫管局增撥資源,以應付藥物開支的增長。由二○一一年八月一日起,合資格的病人更可透過關愛基金醫療援助項目,申請資助使用尚未 納入撒瑪利亞基金安全網的癌症藥物。

此外,醫管局亦於部分聯網推行先導計劃,為患癌病人提供個案管理服務,由跨專業團隊成員合作制定綜合癌症護理方案。初步證據顯示,病人對癌症個案管理服務普遍表示滿意。

在政府當局、醫護界和市民共同努力下,本港的癌症發病率、死亡率和生存率,均可媲美其他已發展國家及地區。

社交分享

Preventive Health Screening for Early Detection of Cancer

Question by Hon KP Chan on Preventive Health Screening for Early Detection of Cancer at the Legislative Council Meeting on February 8th, 2012

While the number of new cancer cases in Hong Kong surged by about 22% in the decade since 2000, the number of radiological imaging scan, which is a crucial tool for diagnosing cancer and assessment of cancer stages, performed in Hong Kong was much lower than those in other places. Studies conducted by the Columbia University of the United States (US) reveal that the breakthrough in cancer imaging technologies resulted in a drop in the number of cancer-related deaths in US by 40% in a period of 10 years. Based on the figures of the Hospital Authority (HA) and the ratio of around nine to one for the number of people using public medical services to those using private medical services, it is projected that in 2010-2011, the average number of Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) scans performed in Hong Kong per 1,000 population was about 18.3, which was two to four times lower than those in most member countries of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) in 2009 (e.g. 75.5 in Iceland, 55.2 in France and 43 in Canada). Similarly, the average number of Computed Tomography (CT) scans performed in that year was about 77.5 per 1,000 population, which was much lower than the numbers of 156.2 in Iceland, 138.7 in France and 125.4 in Canada. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) given the significant increase in new cancer cases in Hong Kong in recent years, and that compared to the numbers five years ago, the numbers of MRI and CT scans performed in 2010-2011 at the hospitals under HA had already increased by about one-fifth and one-third respectively, why such numbers still lagged far behind those in the aforesaid countries;

(b) given that according to the information of OECD, in 2010, there were 22.6 MRI machines per one million population in Greece and 42.5 CT machines per one million population in Australia, whether it knows the respective numbers of MRI and CT machines per one million population in Hong Kong at present; as it has been reported that last year, Tuen Mun Hospital admitted that some non-urgent patients had to wait for eight years before they could use the MRI scanning service, whether this was caused by insufficient equipment or manpower; and

(c) given that of the aforesaid rate of increase in new cancer cases, the rate of increase in the two age groups of 45 to 64 and 65 or above was 44% and 17% respectively, whether the authorities have put forward any targeted measure to reduce the cancer risks of people in these two age groups; in addition, given that according to the statistics of the American Cancer Society, the rate of increase in the number of new cancer cases in Hong Kong in the five years since 2005 almost doubled the corresponding rate of increase in US, whether the authorities have analysed the numbers and recent trends of cancer cases in Hong Kong and in other places, and compared in depth the environmental, lifestyle and genetic differences so as to identify the causes of the higher rate of increase in Hong Kong as compared to other places, and reduce the incidence of cancers at the macro policy level?

Reply by the Secretary for Food and Health, Dr York Chow:

Acting Madam President,

Cancer is a major public health concern in Hong Kong. In 2009, there were nearly 26,000 newly diagnosed cancer cases. To fight against cancer with the public in an effective manner, the measures adopted by the Government and the Hospital Authority (HA) must be scientifically justified and accord with the actual situation. Before I respond to the question, I would like to clarify on a few points here –

(i) Firstly, the preamble of the question refers to a study from the Columbia University of the United States (US). The information that we have gathered shows that a doctor from the Columbia Business School published a study in 2010, holding the conclusion that between 1996 and 2006, the age-adjusted cancer mortality rates in the US declined by 13.4%, with about 40% of the decline (that is 5.4%) attributable to imaging innovation. The study did not conclude that imaging technologies resulted in a drop in the number of cancer-related deaths by 40%.

(ii) Secondly, the question draws reference to some data provided by the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). According to the relevant report, the data provided by various countries did not share a common basis. For instance, some excluded private sector services; some only covered organisations eligible for reimbursement under their health protection system; while some excluded the public sector. With regards the data of the US, OECD pointed out that there seemed to be an overuse of computer tomography (CT) and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) examinations, possibly because of payment incentives that allowed doctors to benefit from exam referrals.

There are also differences between Hong Kong and countries mentioned in the question in terms of social infrastructures and healthcare systems. For example, in Europe and America, the total health expenditure in some countries forms a steep double-digit percentage of gross domestic product, bringing immense pressure to the Government’s finances and healthcare system. On the other hand, the figure for Hong Kong is at 4.8%, yet our health statistics still compare favourably with other developed countries.

Moreover, the demographics, health circumstances, disease incidence and geographical settings of Hong Kong are also different to the countries mentioned in the question. In using medical technology, healthcare personnel of different places may also have received different training, adopted different practices and face different incentives. In this connection, it is not appropriate to use OECD data for direct comparison on the number of CT and MRI scanners or the number of scans performed each year.

(iii) Thirdly, the question assumes a 9:1 ratio for the use of radiological imaging facilities and services between the public and private sectors. This estimation is only valid for in-patient services in the public and private healthcare sectors. There is a substantial number of out-patients in Hong Kong who receive CT or MRI scan services in the private sector.

My reply to the three parts of the question is as follows:

(a) As mentioned above, the number of MRI and CT scans performed in public hospitals cannot be compared with the figures provided by OECD. As far as public hospitals are concerned, doctors will arrange for CT or MRI scans based on patients’ clinical needs. All new cancer cases will be included in the priority category if such services are needed for assessment of cancer stages.

(b) According to the Irradiating Apparatus Licensing Service of the Department of Health (DH), as at February 1, 2012, there are 83 units of licensed medical CT systems across the territory. As MRI scanners are not irradiating apparatuses and not subject to statutory licensing control, we do not have statistics on the number of scanners in Hong Kong. As regards HA, it will have 28 CT scanners and 14 MRI scanners in 2011/12. HA plans to procure an additional CT scanner in Princess Margaret Hospital and an additional MRI scanner in Caritas Medical Centre in 2012/13. Hospitals will also continue to implement flexible measures to improve radiological diagnostic services, such as employment and retention of staff, recruitment of radiographers from overseas or provision of additional service sessions.

(c) Generally speaking, ageing is a risk factor for common cancers. With a growing and ageing population in Hong Kong, the actual number of new cancer cases will continue to rise. On the other hand, it should be noted that the age composition and other demographic characteristics of places can vary. Between 2000 and 2009, Hong Kong’s population in the “45 to 64” and “65 or above” age groups grew at almost double the rate of the US. For this reason, a direct comparison in the number of new cancer cases or the rate of increase between two places cannot reflect the risk of cancers or the actual impact of the disease.

In statistics or epidemiology, we refer to the age-standardised incidence and mortality rates calculated using the same standard population, in order to make a meaningful assessment of the figures. Hong Kong has seen declining trends in both age-standardised incidence and mortality risk of cancers.

In 2001, the Government established a high-level multi-disciplinary Cancer Coordinating Committee, overseeing and advising on prevention and control of cancer in Hong Kong. The Committee is chaired by me and comprises of cancer experts from the public and private sectors.

The Cancer Expert Working Group on Cancer Prevention and Screening under the Committee reviews the scientific evidence and provides recommendations on preventive measures and screening of major cancers. For example, according to scientific evidence, we have implemented a cross-territorial cervical screening programme with a view to achieving early diagnosis of cervical cancer. We have also implemented Hepatitis B vaccination for prevention of liver cancer.

In addition, the Hong Kong Cancer Registry of HA serves as a well-established surveillance system. It captures and analyses statistical cancer data of the population, and provides predictions on major cancers facilitating healthcare service planning. On the other hand, DH regularly captures risk-related behavioural risk factors of the Hong Kong adult population through the Behavioural Risk Factor Surveillance System. It collects information such as smoking habits, vegetable consumption, physical activities, use of alcohol, cervical screening practices. This provides evidence that helps us evaluate our health promotion and cancer prevention programmes.

According to World Health Organisation’s estimation, 40% of the cancer deaths could be avoided by leading a healthy lifestyle, such as not smoking, pursuing a healthy diet and regular physical exercise. Although the percentage of cigarette smokers in Hong Kong has dropped from 23% in early 1980s to 11% at present, there is no room for complacency. We will continue our efforts in tobacco control. DH will continue to launch health education initiatives to promote healthy lifestyles.

The Government also places emphasis on effective treatment in order to stop the progression of disease after its occurrence. HA has been committed to radiological treatment services which provide timely and adequate treatment for suitable patients. On the other hand, while HA has been expanding the coverage of the Drug Formulary in recent years, more cancer treatment drugs have been included on a gradual basis and are provided to patients at standard fees and charges. The Government has also provided additional resources to HA to meet increasing drug expenditures. From August 1, 2011, eligible patients can apply to the medical assistance projects under the Community Care Fund, for financial assistance in using cancer drugs that are not yet included in the Safety Net supported by the Samaritan Fund.

HA has also launched a pilot scheme at a number of its clusters for case management of cancer patients. Under the scheme, a consolidated cancer treatment plan is jointly devised by a team of multi-disciplinary professionals. Preliminary evidence suggests that patients are generally content with the cancer case management services.

Under the joint efforts of the Government, the healthcare sector and the community, Hong Kong’s cancer incidence, mortality and survival rates are comparable to developed countries and regions.

Social sharing