下任特首必須正視人口、失業及退休保障問題

陳健波議員就呼籲有意參選行政長官的人士回應市民訴求議案發言

•    掌管香港未來發展的行政長官應以市民的訴求為制訂政策最根本的基礎。下屆行政長官將會由1200個選舉委員會委員投票產生,但行政長官的服務對象其實是所有市民,並非單單是有投票權的選民。

•    負責任的參選人在制訂政綱時應該盡量聽取不同階層的意見,並清晰表達自己的施政立場,政綱出台之後亦應有時間讓市民消化,批評,甚至作出修改。今日的原動議及修正案都是想透過立法會表達意見,關鍵是參選人在聆聽這些意見後,能否打造一套能平衡各方利益的政策

•    我個人的理想特首必須正視香港人口政策失衡的問題。所有政策其實都受到人口政策影響,政府如果不知未來人口結構的發展,並不可以提出一個長遠的治港政策。過去社會總是迴避檢討人口政策的問題,相信是擔心觸及家庭團聚及歧視。家庭團聚是基本的人權,不應該受任何影響,但亦不代表政府可以坐視。我認為新一屆政府應盡快就香港人口政策作出研究,以全新思維處理香港人口問題。

•    香港究竟可以容納到幾多人呢?人口結構與整體香港發展密不可分,我建議新一屆政府成立高層次專組,立即為香港的人口承載能力出研究,為香港未來10至20年的人口定下上限,並且按照整體人口結構發展去制訂就業、房屋、醫療、教育等各方面的政策

•    第二,青少年失業問題高企,失業率徘徊雙位數,向上流動機會愈來愈少,但過去政府紓緩青少年失業問題主要推出臨時職位,無助青年長遠發展;中年失業亦愈來愈嚴重。問題跟人口與工種出現錯配不無關係,因此政府在優化人口結構的同時,亦要處理不斷窄化的經濟結構,落實六大產業之外的第七、第八個產業,令香港產業多元發展

•    第三,我認為下一屆政府不應該再迴避人口老化問題,在強積金的基礎下再研究其他種類的退休安排,以保障一些在已有制度下未獲照顧的人士,令香港退休制度更趨完善。

•    行政長官選舉的外圍賽已經展開,市民既然要求參選人在撰寫政綱前,要仔細聆聽他們的訴求,市民亦應該仔細研究參選人的政綱、班底以及個人能力之後,才作判斷。

社交分享

Next CE Must Face Up Issues with Population, Unemployment and Retirement

Hon KP Chan on Motion on Calling Upon Persons Intending to Run for Chief Executive to Respond to Public Aspirations

•    As the helmsman, the Chief Executive should respond to public aspirations in formulating policies for Hong Kong’s development.  The next CE will be elected by a committee of 1,200 but he is actually accountable to the entire population, not just the electorate.

•    An answerable candidate should listen to views of every walk of life when preparing his platform and present his policies clearly.  The public should be allowed time to digest, comment and even propose revisions to the announced platforms.  Today’s Motion and Amendment are intended for the Legislature to express its views.  What matters most is whether their proposed policy packages would take account of these views and balance different interests of society?

•    An ideal CE should treat the imbalanced population policy seriously.  As all other policies are virtually affected by the population, the Government could not prepare long term policies for Hong Kong if it does not have a full picture of demographic changes.  For years, the community has been deferring review of population policy, probably out of concerns over touching on family reunion and discriminations.  Family reunion is a basic human right and should be free from undue influences.  However, the Government should not be evasive.  In my view, the next Administration should comprehensively review population policy and deal with population issues with new thinking.

•    How many people could Hong Kong accommodate?  Demography and development are closely related.  I ask the new Administration to set up a high-powered task force to study population sustainability and size for the next 10 to 20 years.  Accordingly, policies on employment, health care, education and others might be drawn up with reference to demographic changes.

•    Secondly, unemployment of young people is increasing and social mobility is becoming more restrictive.  Their age-specific unemployment rate has been staying at double-digit.  Past efforts to relieve youth unemployment with temporary jobs are impractical in helping them pursue longer term goals.  Middle age unemployment is also getting worse due largely to mismatch of skills and jobs.  Apart from improving the population structure, the Government should also redress the contracting economic structure.  In addition to six pillar industries, the Government should also look for the seventh and even the eighth industry as a means of further diversification.

•    Thirdly, in my view the next Administration should face the issue of aging population.  It should consider additional arrangements for retirement protection to complement MPF for the benefit of those who are not covered by existing schemes.

•    The preliminary round of the race for CE has started.  As the people are demanding for their voices to be heard and written into platforms of candidates, they should also study individual platforms, teams and capabilities before drawing any conclusion.

Social sharing