手提電話會否真的致癌?

陳健波議員就減低手提電話致癌影響提出質詢:

近日,聯合國轄下的世界衛生組織(下稱」世衛」)將手提流動電話(下稱」手機」)列為可能致癌類別,與殺蟲劑,愛滋病病毒,及近日傳媒廣泛報道的塑化劑同級。世衛指出,長期使用手機與患上聽神經瘤的風險有關,每天使用手機超過30分鐘更會令用戶患上神經膠質瘤的機會大增四成。醫療專家指出,惡性神經膠質瘤不但無法被根治,病人的一年存活率更只有一半。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)    當局會否就世衛的報告作出跟進,研究手機輻射對市民健康的影響;如會,詳情為何;如否,原因為何;鑒於國際醫學期刊刺針指出,兒童腦部吸收的輻射量比成年人高兩倍,衛生署也建議兒童避免經常使用手機,當局會否特別提醒有年幼子女的家長,並鼓勵市民盡量使用免提裝置,甚至使用短訊等減少輻射的聯絡方法;

(二)    鑒於現時電訊管理局(下稱」電訊局」)鼓勵手機商以自願方式在手機貼上標明通過類型檢定的標籤,但標籤沒有顯示手機的比吸收率(即在使用電話時人體組織器官吸收的輻射數值),而現時獲檢定為符合射頻輻射安全標準的手機之間的比吸收率可以相差超過27倍,是否知悉,電訊局會否考慮要求手機商於手機產品包裝盒加上產品輻射數據的標籤,供市民參考;及

(三)    鑒於現時電訊局採用兩個不同的手機射頻輻射安全標準,是否知悉電訊局有否計劃只採用最嚴謹的標準;鑒於美國國家癌症研究中心的資料顯示,手機在接收欠佳的地區會發出較強的輻射,而電訊局亦指市民應考慮避免在接收欠佳的地區使用手機,當局會否檢測個別地區(特別是偏遠地區)的流動電話網絡訊號強度,並進一步協助流動網絡營辦商改善訊號較差地區的流動網絡覆蓋,以防止手機需長期加大放射功率搜尋及維持訊號,影響香港市民的健康?

答覆:

世界衛生組織的國際癌症研究機構於今年5月31日就射頻電磁場發表有關致癌的評估,引起一些公眾人士關注。

流動電話技術所產生的射頻電磁場,屬於非電離輻射的一種,與X光、核輻射等電離輻射並不相同。簡單而言,非電離輻射的能量較低,不足以改變物質的化學性質,不能打破人體內的化學鍵造成傷害。

射頻電磁場被人體吸收,可能產生小量熱能,但經人體自行調節體溫後,一般不會引致不良的健康影響。

2000年,國際癌症研究機構展開名為Interphone的國際研究,以了解使用流動電話與腦腫瘤是否有關。這是至今為止最大規模的同類研究。2010年,10年後,該項研究報告得出的結論是:

(i) 並無數據顯示,使用流動電話10年以上的人,有較高患上神經膠質瘤(glioma)和腦膜瘤(meningioma)的風險;

(ii) 並無一致趨勢顯示使用流動電話時間越長,風險會越高;及

(iii) 雖然在研究對象之中,累計使用流動電話時間最長的10%人士(即累計在10年間使用1 640小時或以上,或平均每日通話大概半小時或以上),在統計學上有較高風險患上神經膠質瘤,但因為研究方法的限制,以致數據可能存在偏差和誤差,這結果絕不等同每日使用流動電話30分鐘或以上會增加患上神經膠質瘤的風險。

總而言之,Interphone研究並無提供任何強而有效的結論,亦無法解釋任何因果關係。事實上,可能致癌的風險因素相當繁多。若要排除所有其他因素,去確定純粹使用流動電話會否致癌,國際癌症研究機構建議還需要更深入的研究工作。

不過,基於上述數據,國際癌症研究機構在今年5月31日將射頻電磁場訂為導致人類癌症媒介中的2B類。2B類的定義是「或可能令人類患癌」。一般而言,這分類表示在動物實驗方面未有足夠證據、在人類研究方面只有有限證據顯示有可能致癌。事實上,不少日常生活所見的媒介亦同屬2B類評估,例如咖啡、某些乾洗劑等,其證實的風險遠遠低於石棉、吸煙、二手煙、尼古丁、電離輻射等。

雖然無法證明使用流動電話會增加大腦腫瘤的風險,但由於全球的使用者近年大大增加,以及缺乏使用15年以上的數據,所以國際間仍不斷進行大量研究,以調查、了解和監測潛在的影響。

就問題的3部分,綜合衛生署及電訊管理局(電訊局)的資料,現回覆如下:

(一)    電訊局網站設有《射頻輻射安全》頁面,提供相關資訊供市民參考。該局亦擬備了關於射頻輻射的資料單張、小冊子、海報等,向市民宣傳安全使用流動電話的資訊。

此外,衛生防護中心的網頁,亦有載述國際癌症研究機構的最新評估,以便市民了解相關健康影響及風險。

如之前所述,流動電話對健康的影響仍有待進一步的研究。不過,市民假如感到憂慮,可以自行決定採取一些日常生活習慣,減低接觸流動電話的射頻電磁場,例如避免長時間通話、使用免提裝置以增加和電話的距離、避免在電話操作時接觸天線等。這些資訊都在電訊局和衛生防護中心的網頁可以找到。

市民可能特別關心兒童及青少年較易受射頻電磁場影響,因為他們從小就有機會接觸這類科技。就此,家長可以自行決定子女是否應該避免使用流動電話作非必要的通話。

衛生署會繼續留意有關報告及相關科研結果,以便掌握最新資料及對公眾健康的風險作出評估;亦會向電訊局提供相關專業醫學意見,以供該局考慮有關規管事宜。

(二)    所有在本地市場銷售的流動電話,都必須符合電訊局發出的HKTA2001規格,即《檢定測試規格-用戶電訊設備的安全及電氣保護規定》。這項規格是根據國際認可標準訂立,涵蓋電訊器材的電氣安全規定,以及流動電話的射頻電磁場安全標準。

其中流動電話的射頻電磁場水平,必須符合國際非電離輻射防護委員會(ICNIRP)或美國國家標準學會/電機及電子工程師學會(ANSI/IEEE)的安全標準。銷售不符合上述規格的流動電話,即屬違反《電訊條例》,可被檢控。

現時,電訊局推行「電訊設備鑑定及驗證計劃」,旨在完善電訊設備的鑑定和驗證安排。在該計劃下,生產商或供應商以自願方式為流動電話申請驗證,以證明符合相關的技術規格。絕大部分香港出售的流動電話品牌的產品,均已申請及通過上述驗證,而電訊局亦已於其網站內,公布所有通過驗證流動電話的「比吸收率」值,即specific absorption rate,供市民參閱。

由於公眾已經可以方便地從互聯網上取得關於流動電話產品的射頻電磁場數據,電訊局目前未有考慮要求流動電話生產商或供應商,於產品包裝盒加上相關數據。

(三)    問題所指兩套不同的流動電話射頻電磁場安全標準,即是剛才提及分別由ICNIRP和ANSI/IEEE制定的「比吸收率」上限,是電訊局經諮詢衛生署的專業意見後,採用作為流動電話射頻電磁場的安全標準。由於兩套標準有各自的評估方法及程序,兩者並不能作直接比較,然而提供的安全保障大致相同。

在接收欠佳的地區,例如偏遠地區或市區一些較隱蔽地點,流動電話的射頻電磁場可能較強。但即使在這種情況下,正常操作流動電話仍不會超出射頻電磁場安全標準所訂定的「比吸收率」限值。若市民仍有憂慮,可考慮使用免提裝置、減少在接收欠佳的地方使用流動電話及縮短利用流動電話通話的時間。

社交分享

Do Mobile Phones Really Cause Cancer?

Question on reducing carcinogenic effect of mobile phones by Hon KP Chan:

The World Health Organisation (WHO) of the United Nations has recently classified mobile phones as possibly carcinogenic to humans, and placed them in the same category as pesticides, human immunodeficiency virus and plasticiser which has attracted wide media coverage recently.  WHO has advised that prolonged use of mobile phones is associated with the risk for acoustic neuroma, and that using mobile phones for more than 30 minutes daily will result in an increase in the risk for gliomas by 40%.  Medical specialists have pointed out that a malignant glioma cannot be completely cured, and only half of the patients with such a tumour have a survival rate of one year.  In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) whether the authorities will follow up the WHO report by conducting a study on the effect of exposure to radiation from mobile phones on public health; if they will, of the details; if not, the reasons for that; given that it has been pointed out in the Lancet, an international medical journal, that the amount of radiation absorbed by the head tissues of children is two times higher than that of adults, and the Department of Health has also advised that children should avoid using mobile phones frequently, whether the authorities will specifically warn parents of young children about this and encourage members of the public to use hands-free devices as far as possible or even use communication means which can reduce exposure to radiation such as SMS messages;

(b) given that the Office of the Telecommunications Authority (OFTA) currently encourages mobile phone manufacturers, suppliers and dealers to affix labels on a voluntary basis to mobile phones stating that they are type-approved, yet these labels do not show the Specific Absorption Rate (SAR) of mobile phones, which is a measure of the amount of radiofrequency radiation absorbed by the organs of a person when he is using a mobile phone, and that among the mobile phones which are confirmed to have complied with OFTA’s standard on the safety limits of radiofrequency radiation at present, the difference in their SARs can be over 27 times, whether it knows if OFTA will consider requiring mobile phone manufacturers, suppliers and dealers to affix labels to the packaging boxes of mobile-phone products to state the products’ radiation data for public reference; and

(c) as OFTA is applying two different standards on the safety limits of radiofrequency radiation for mobile phones, whether it knows if OFTA has any plan to apply the most stringent standard only; given that the information provided by the National Cancer Institute in the United States shows that mobile phones will have higher radiation emission level in poor reception areas, and OFTA has also advised that members of the public should consider avoiding using mobile phones in poor reception areas, whether the authorities will check the strength of signals of mobile phone networks in individual areas, in particular remote areas, and further assist mobile network operators in improving the coverage of mobile networks in poor reception areas, so as to obviate the need for mobile phones to increase the radiant power over a prolonged period in order to search and maintain signals, which will affect public health?

Reply:

On May 31 this year, the International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) under the World Health Organisation published its assessment on the carcinogenicity of radiofrequency electromagnetic fields, giving rise to concerns among some members of the public.

Unlike ionising radiation such as X-rays and nuclear radiation, radiofrequency electromagnetic fields generated by mobile phone technology are a type of non-ionising radiation.  Simply put, non-ionising radiation has lower energy and is insufficient to change the chemical properties of substances.  It cannot cause harm by breaking chemical bonds in the human body.

Radiofrequency electromagnetic fields may generate a small amount of heat when absorbed into the human body.  This would normally not give rise to any adverse health effects as the human body’s normal thermoregulatory processes can carry this heat away.

In 2000, IARC launched an international study named Interphone to research into whether there was any association between mobile phone use and brain tumours.  To date, this has been the largest study of its kind.  In 2010, the Interphone study concluded in its report that –

(i) There was no data indicating an increased risk of glioma and meningioma amongst people who had used mobile phones for over 10 years;

(ii) There was no consistent trend that showed risk increasing with longer mobile phone call times; and

(iii) Although statistically, the 10% of the sampled population with the highest cumulative call time (i.e. accumulating over 1 640 hours of calls over the 10 years, or averaging over 30 minutes of calls per day) had a higher risk of glioma, there were limitations in the study method that could lead to bias and error in the data.  The results are certainly not equivalent to an increased risk of glioma upon making mobile phone calls for over 30 minutes per day.

In sum, the Interphone study did not come up with any strong or valid conclusion, nor did it explain any causal relationships.  In fact, there are numerous risk factors which may cause cancer.  IARC suggests that more extensive research is required in order to eliminate all other factors in ascertaining whether the use of mobile phones in itself is carcinogenic.

Nevertheless, on the basis of the above data, IARC classified radiofrequency electromagnetic fields as a Group 2B cancer-causing agent on May 31 this year.  By definition, Group 2B agents are “possibly carcinogenic to humans”.  Generally speaking, there is less than sufficient evidence in experimental animals and only limited evidence in humans showing that agents classified under Group 2B are carcinogenic.  As a matter of fact, many agents found in our daily lives are also classified as Group 2B agents, such as coffee and certain dry cleaning agents.  The proven health risk is far lower than that of asbestos, smoking, second-hand smoking, nicotine and ionising radiation, etc.

While there is no evidence showing that mobile phone use would increase the risk of brain tumours, a large amount of research is under way around the world to investigate, understand and monitor the potential impact of mobile phone use, given that there has been a surge in the mobile phone users globally in recent years, as well as a lack of data on mobile phone use covering a period for more than 15 years.

In response to the three parts of the question, my reply, with consolidated input from the Department of Health (DH) and the Office of the Telecommunications Authority (OFTA), is as follows –

(a) OFTA has set up a dedicated page on its website on Radiofrequency Radiation Safety which provides relevant information for public reference.  OFTA has also produced information leaflets, booklets and posters on radiofrequency radiation to disseminate information about mobile phone safety among the public.

In addition, the Centre for Health Protection website maintains a webpage which refers to the latest assessment of IARC.  This would help the public understand the relevant health effects and risks.

As explained above, the health effects of mobile phone use requires further investigation.  However, if members of the public remain concerned, they may choose to adopt certain practices in their daily lifestyles to reduce exposure to radiofrequency electromagnetic fields, such as limiting the length of mobile phone calls, using hands-free devices that keep the mobile phone at a distance, as well as avoiding contact with the antenna when the phone is in use.  Such information is available on the websites of OFTA and Centre for Health Protection.

Some members of the public may be particularly concerned that children and adolescents may be more vulnerable to the effects of radiofrequency electromagnetic fields, because this technology has been available to them from their early years.  In this regard, parents may decide on their own as to whether their children should avoid using mobile phones for unnecessary calls.

DH will continue to keep in view the findings of reports and research on this subject, in order to keep abreast of the latest developments and the risks to public health.  DH will also offer professional medical advice to OFTA for consideration of regulatory issues.

(b) All mobile phones sold in the Hong Kong market must comply with the HKTA2001 specification issued by OFTA, namely “Compliance Test Specification – Safety and Electrical Protection Requirements for Subscriber Telecommunications Equipment”.  The specification is set according to internationally recognised standards and covers the electrical safety requirements for telecommunications equipment, as well as the safety standards on radiofrequency electromagnetic fields for mobile phones.

According to the above specification, the level of radiofrequency electromagnetic fields from mobile phones must comply with either the safety limits imposed by the International Commission on Non-Ionising Radiation Protection (ICNIRP) or those by the American National Standards Institute/Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (ANSI/IEEE).  Selling mobile phones that do not comply with such specification is a breach of the Telecommunications Ordinance and liable to prosecution.

At present, OFTA operates the Telecommunications Equipment Evaluation and Certification Scheme with a view to better providing for the evaluation and certification of telecommunications equipment.  Under the scheme, manufacturers and suppliers apply for certification of mobile phones on a voluntary basis in order to prove that such products comply with the technical specifications concerned.  The vast majority of mobile phone brands sold in Hong Kong have applied for and acquired certification for their products.  OFTA has also published the “specific absorption rate” (SAR) of all certified mobile phones on its website for the reference of the public.

As data in respect of the level of radiofrequency electromagnetic fields from mobile phone products are readily accessible to the public via the Internet, OFTA has not, at this stage, considered requiring mobile phone manufacturers or suppliers to specify the relevant data on the packages of their products.

(c) The two standards on the safety limits of radiofrequency electromagnetic fields from mobile phones mentioned in the question refer to the aforementioned SAR limits promulgated by ICNIRP and ANSI/IEEE respectively.  These limits are adopted by OFTA as the safety standards on radiofrequency electromagnetic fields for mobile phones having consulted the Department of Health.  Since the two standards make use of different assessment methodologies and procedures, they cannot be compared directly.  Despite the difference, the safety protection offered by two standards is largely equivalent.

In areas with poorer service reception, such as remote areas or obscured spots in urban areas, mobile phones may generate a higher level of radiofrequency electromagnetic fields.  However, even under such circumstances, the normal use of mobile phones will not result in exceeding the SAR limits prescribed in the safety standards on radiofrequency electromagnetic fields for mobile phones.  If members of the public remain concerned, they may consider using hands-free kits, avoid using mobile phones in areas with poor reception and shortening their mobile phone calls.

Social sharing