香港青少年自殺問題

陳健波議員就青少年自殺問題提出質詢:

據報,自殺是本港年輕人的頭號殺手,公眾十分關心青少年自殺的問題。報道又指出,自殺的青少年多來自基層家庭,而大部分青少年選擇的自殺方法亦十分激烈,對其家人及朋輩影響深遠。早前勞工及福利局局長亦就網上出現自殺群組的情況表示關注。就此,政府可否告知本會:

1. 鑑於本港男性自殺死亡的數字一直遠比女性的為高,而2009年青少年男性的自殺比率又較2008年大幅上升了百分之30,當局有否分析此現象的成因,並作出針對性措施,提出從根源上解決問題的方法;

2. 鑑於在2006-2007年度,當局與屯門區各大超級市場合作,把放炭的櫃位上鎖,凡要買炭都要先聯絡職員,成功令該區的自殺個案大幅下跌五成,政府有否打算把該計劃擴展至全港18區;如有,進展為何;如沒有,原因為何;及

3. 鑑於網絡使用者在美國利用主要的搜尋引擎進行有關自殺方式的搜索時,最先出現於當眼位置的均會是當地政府的防止自殺熱線號碼,當局會否考慮與本地的主要搜尋引擎營運商合作實施類似措施;當局會否考慮設立協調和通報機制(例如警方、網站及網絡供應商之間的緊急通訊渠道),確保一旦在本港發現類似近年在外國多次出現網上直播自殺過程的個案時能及時阻止?

答覆:

就陳健波議員的問題的三個部分,我的回應如下:

1. 根據政府統計處的數字,15至24歲青少年(包括男女)的自殺個案由2008年的82宗下跌至2009年的74宗,當中男性自殺個案則由2008年的44宗增加至2009年的51宗。

「檢討兒童死亡個案先導計劃」檢討委員會剛於2011年1月發表總結報告。在2006年及2007年已向死因裁判法庭呈報的24宗涉及17歲或以下兒童及青少年的自殺個案中,有17宗(約71%)涉及15至17歲青少年。該報告指出導致兒童及青少年自殺最常見的原因為家庭關係問題(11宗),學業問題(7宗),以及感情關係問題(5宗)。

政府一直採取多管齊下的措施預防自殺。在福利服務方面,社會福利署(社署)除了在中學實施「一校一社工」政策外,亦聯同教育局於中學推行「共創成長路-賽馬會青少年培育計劃」,為有需要的學生提供輔導、指引和支援服務,協助提升他們的抗逆力。在2011-12年度,政府將額外投放資源,在全港中學增加兩成社工人手,以加強學校社會工作服務及進行聚焦抗毒工作,並藉此加強有關的輔導服務。

此外,社署資助非政府機構設立青年熱線服務,為有需要的青少年提供輔導及協助。社署並透過綜合青少年服務中心提供一系列的支援服務,包括舉辦親子活動,強化親子關係和溝通;同時加強親職教育,讓父母更掌握子女在成長上各方面的需要,以便及早察覺子女的問題及在有需要時向有關服務單位求助。

針對有自殺傾向人士的需要,社署透過資助香港撒瑪利亞防止自殺會的「自殺危機處理中心」,為他們提供危機介入和深入輔導服務。中心更開辦了「活出彩虹服務」,為曾有親人或朋友自殺身故的人士提供服務。

在公眾教育方面,社署會繼續與相關的政府部門協作,透過不同的活動及媒介,向社會宣揚「辦法總比困難多」、「愛惜生命 總有出路」及「希望在明天」等正面信息。

為加強小學的輔導工作,教育局由2006/07學年起改善小學的輔導人員人手比率,為每所十八班或以上的小學提供一名學生輔導人員。教育局亦已增撥資源,由2008/09學年起逐步擴展「校本教育心理服務」,加強對學校的支援。

針對青少年自殺的問題,教育局已推行多項措施協助教師及家長及早識別有自殺傾向的學生,包括提供指引及輔導教材套等。教育局亦曾就2009年網路自殺群組事件,提醒學校及早識別和支援可能參與自殺群組的高危同學,鼓勵學校籲請家長支持有關工作;並建議家長和教師參考教育局網頁「評估青少年自殺危險的清單」或「自殺危機評估表」,為出現異常情緒或行為的同學作進一步評估。

在醫療服務方面,缳生署學生健康服務中心為小一至中七學生提供健康檢查,包括心理健康及行為等問卷調查;有情緒或行為問題甚至自殺傾向的學生會被轉介至醫院管理局(醫管局)、社署或社福機構跟進。學生健康服務中心亦不時舉辦有關社交心理健康的講座及向學生作出宣傳,有關資料會上載至學生健康服務的網頁。學生健康服務的青少年健康服務計劃並會在學校為中學生提供基本生活技巧訓練及專題探討,使青少年對生命建立正面的思想和態度。此外,醫管局亦為有自殺傾向的青少年提供相關的專科服務,兒童及青少年精神科會為有需要的個案提供全面的自殺風險評估,並安排各項跟進服務。

2. 改變售炭方式的試驗計劃是當局於2006年委託一所本地大學進行有關屯門區以社區為本的防止自殺策略研究的其中一個項目。該試驗計劃由社署、醫管局、屯門醫院、屯門警區聯同區內五所超級市場及便利店協作推行。試驗計劃推行期間,屯門區內以燒炭方式企圖自殺的個案數字雖由7宗下跌至5宗,但期內以其他方法企圖自殺的個案數字卻由104宗增加至150宗。由於該項措施對減低企圖自殺個案沒有明顯效果,當局現階段未有計劃把試驗計劃全面擴展至全港十八區推行。我們會繼續密切留意各區的情況及趨勢,並按需要聯同相關機構推行切合區情及需要的措施。

3. 現時透過本港主要的網上搜尋引擎搜尋「自殺」字眼,結果均會包括提供防止自殺服務的相關資料。鑑於有自殺傾向者可能在網誌或網上群組等留下線索,社署已資助香港撒瑪利亞防止自殺會的「自殺危機處理中心」推出「網蹤人計劃」,加強網上巡邏,搜尋含有「自殺」或「尋死」等字眼的網誌,為高危者提供情緒支援服務。社署自2010年4月起再向中心增撥資源開發網上平台,以互動方式接觸有需要人士。此外,社署將會透過獎券基金撥款,於今年稍後推行為期三年的「網上青年外展試驗計劃」,透過互聯網主動接觸有需要的青少年,包括有情緒問題及自殺意念的青少年,提供適時介入及支援。

如接獲任何市民舉報網上發現「自殺群組」或聲稱企圖自殺的個案,社署、「自殺危機處理中心」和警方會迅速介入,與各大網站、網絡供應商及其他非政府機構緊密聯繫,尋找有自殺意念的人士並向他們提供輔導。此外,如發現個案涉及刑事成分,警方會深入調查及採取行動拘捕犯案者。

社交分享

Teen Suicide Problems in Hong Kong

Question on youth suicide by Hon KP Chan:

It has been reported that suicide is the number one killer of young people in Hong Kong, and the public are gravely concerned about the problem of youth suicide. It has also been reported that the young people who committed suicide mainly came from grassroots families, and most of them chose an extreme way to commit suicide, which had a profound impact on their families and peers. Earlier, the Secretary for Labour and Welfare also expressed concern about the emergence of suicide groups on the Internet. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

1.     given that in Hong Kong the number of suicide deaths of male has all along been much larger than that of female, and the youth male suicide rate in 2009 increased substantially by 30% as compared with that of 2008, whether the authorities have analyzed the reasons for this phenomenon and taken targeted measures so as to provide ways to solve the problem at source;

2.     given that the authorities collaborated with the major supermarkets in Tuen Mun District in 2006-2007 to lock the shelves for keeping charcoal so that anyone who wanted to buy charcoal had to contact the staff first, which had successfully reduced the number of suicide cases in the district substantially by 50%, whether the Government intends to extend such programme to all the 18 districts in Hong Kong; if so, of the progress; if not, the reasons for that; and

3.     given that in the United States, when Internet users conduct searches relating to suicide methods using major search engines, what always appear first conspicuously on the screen are suicide prevention hotlines of the local governments, whether the authorities will consider collaborating with operators of major local search engines to implement similar measures; whether the authorities will consider setting up a coordinating and reporting mechanism, such as an emergency communication channel between the Police, web sites and network providers, to ensure that once cases similar to incidents of suicide being webcast, which happened quite a number of times in foreign countries in recent years, are found in Hong Kong, they can be stopped in time?

Reply:

My reply to the three parts of the question raised by the Hon Chan Kin-por is set out below:

1.     According to the statistics of the Census and Statistical Department, the number of suicide cases of youths aged between 15 and 24 dropped from 82 in 2008 to 74 in 2009. Among them, the number of suicide cases involving male increased from 44 in 2008 to 51 in 2009.

The Review Panel of the Pilot Project on Child Fatality Review just released its final report in January 2011. Among the 24 cases reported to the Coroner’s Court involving suicide of children and youths aged 17 or below, 17 cases (about 71%) involved youths aged between 15 and 17. The report indicated that the most common reasons for the suicides of children and youths were family relationship problems (11 cases), schooling problems (7 cases) and relationship problems with boyfriend/girlfriend (5 cases).

The Government has been taking a multi-pronged approach in preventing suicide. On welfare services, apart from implementing the policy of “one school social worker for each secondary school”, the Social Welfare Department (SWD) collaborates with the Education Bureau (EDB) to implement the “P.A.T.H.S. to Adulthood: A Jockey Club Youth Enhancement Scheme” which provides counselling, guidance and support services to needy students to assist them in enhancing resilience. In 2011-12, the Government will allocate additional resources to increase the manpower of school social workers by 20% to enhance school social work services and carry out focused anti-drug work so as to strengthen the related counselling services.

Moreover, SWD subvents non-governmental organisations (NGOs) to set up “Hotline Service for Youth at Risk” to provide counselling and assistance to needy youths. SWD also provides a series of support services through Integrated Children and Youth Services Centres, including parent-child activities which strengthen the relationship and communication between parents and children, and enhanced parent education which helps parents better understand the developmental needs of their children and facilitates early identification of their children’s problems as well as seeking help from the relevant service units where necessary.

To meet the needs of people with suicidal tendency, SWD provides crisis intervention and intensive counselling services for them through subventing the Suicide Crisis Intervention Centre (SCIC) of the Samaritan Befrienders Hong Kong (SBHK). SCIC also operates the “Suicide Survivors Service” to provide services to relatives and friends of those who had committed suicide.

As for public education, SWD will continue to collaborate with the relevant Government departments through different activities and media to promote positive messages of treasuring life and positive attitude towards adversities.

To strengthen guidance work in primary schools, EDB has improved the manning ratio of student guidance personnel since the 2006/07 school year by providing one student guidance personnel for each school with 18 classes or above. EDB has also increased the resources for the gradual extension of School-based Education Psychology Service to enhance support for schools.

To address the problem of youth suicide, EDB has implemented a number of initiatives to help parents and teachers identify early students with suicidal tendency, including the provision of guidelines and resource package etc. EDB also reminded schools to identify and provide support services in time to students who might be involved in the online suicide groups in 2009 and encouraged schools to appeal to parents to support the work. Parents and teachers are suggested to refer to the Checklist of Youth Suicidal Risk Factors or the Risk Assessment Checklist at the EDB website to further assess students with unusual emotion or behaviour.

On medical and health services, the Student Health Service Centres of the Department of Health provide health check for Primary 1 to Secondary 7 students, including surveys on mental health and behaviour. Students with emotional or behavioural problems or even suicidal tendency will be referred to the Hospital Authority (HA), SWD or welfare organisations for follow-up services. The Student Health Service Centres also organise talks on social and mental health. Information on psychosocial health is also disseminated via pamphlets and uploaded onto the Student Health Service website. The Adolescent Health Programme under the Student Health Service provides basic life skills training and topical programmes to help youths establish positive attitude and thinking. Besides, HA provides relevant specialist services to youths with suicidal tendency. The child and adolescent psychiatric service conducts comprehensive suicidal risk assessments for needy cases and arranges various follow-up services.

2.     The pilot scheme of changing the method of selling charcoal packs was a project under a study on a community-based programme for preventing suicide in Tuen Mun conducted by a local university and commissioned by the Government in 2006. The pilot scheme was implemented with the collaboration of SWD, HA, Tuen Mun Hospital, Tuen Mun Police District as well as five supermarkets and convenience stores in the district. During the implementation of the pilot scheme, although the number of suicide attempts by charcoal burning decreased from seven to five, the number of suicide attempts by other means increased from 104 to 150 in the same period. As the initiative did not have a substantial impact on reducing suicide attempts, the Government has no plan to implement the pilot scheme in all 18 districts in Hong Kong at this stage. We will closely monitor the suicide trends and situation of individual districts, and where necessary, collaborate with relevant organisations to implement measures that suit district circumstances and needs.

3.     At present, if keywords like “suicide” are searched on the internet using the major search engines in Hong Kong, the search results will include information on suicide prevention services. As persons with suicidal tendency may leave traces on blogs or online groups, etc., SWD subvents SCIC of SBHK to implement a “Blog Search Scheme” to strengthen online patrols by searching blogs for keywords like “suicide” and providing emotional support services for persons with high suicidal risk. Since April 2010, SWD has allocated additional resources to SCIC to develop an online platform for reaching out needy persons with interactive tools. Moreover, SWD will implement the three-year “Pilot Cyber Youth Outreaching Projects” later this year with funding from the Lotteries Fund to reach out to needy youths proactively through the internet, including those with emotional problems and suicidal tendency, and provide timely intervention and support.

Upon receipt of any report from the public on any online suicide group or suicide claim, SWD, SCIC and the Police will quickly intervene by looking for the persons with suicidal tendency and providing them with counselling services through maintaining close contact with websites, internet service providers and other NGOs. Moreover, for cases involving criminal element, the Police will conduct thorough investigation and take arrest actions.

Social sharing