2011至12年度財政預算案採納的建議

2011-12年度財政預算案採納了多項本人早前提出的建議,包括人民幣債券,強積金不足以應付退休需要,電費補貼,差餉免徵,公屋免租,調高免稅額以及照顧長者等措施:

金融業

本人建議:推動人民幣債券市場發展 – 政府應爭取更多內地、香港和外國企業在香港發行長年期人民幣債券,保險業對人債有持續的需求,如果人債可以大規模及持續地在港發行,對本港要發展成為離岸人民幣業務中心及推動人民幣保險業務,十分有幫助。

  • (預算案演辭 93.) 首先,我們會與內地有關當局、兩地金融監管機構和市場人士保持緊密溝通,進一步發展本地人民幣債券市場。截至1月底,共有31筆總值約744億元人民幣債券發行,而發債體已由內地金融企業擴展至跨國非金融企業。我們會繼續鼓勵海外企業來港發行人民幣債券和爭取內地企業來港發債,亦會為企業在香港募集的人民幣資金,爭取擴大可在內地投資的渠道。此外,我們會優化人民幣結算平台,吸引更多企業利用我們的結算服務。推動人民幣金融產品和服務多元化,可以鞏固本港作為人民幣離岸中心的地位。

注資強積金

本人建議:全面檢討強積金制度,盡快研究全民退休保障 – 社會近期已關注到強積金制度,對低收入或者沒有工作的人士保障不足的問題,並且越來越多人支持全民退休保障制度。面對人口老化的問題,政府盡快重新研究全民退休保障制度。

  • (預算案演辭 177.) 強積金和職業退休計劃一直發揮協助就業人口儲蓄的作用,使他們的退休生活得到更佳保障。為增加有關計劃成員的退休儲蓄,我建議為所有在2011年2月23日已成為強積金計劃或職業退休計劃下受香港《僱傭條例》涵蓋的成員的人士,向他們的強積金戶口一次過注入6,000元。這次的注資建議不設收入上限,希望協助更多市民為退休作好準備。這既不會增加通脹壓力,也是我們現在財政上可負擔的。
  • (預算案演辭 178.) 我已經為這項措施預留240億元。財經事務及庫務局稍後會公布詳情,積金局會協助執行注資工作。我希望在2011至12年度內開始向有關的強積金戶口注入款項。

紓緩措施

本人建議:提供電費補貼 – 為了減低通脹對市民帶來的壓力,建議續推電費補貼措施,補貼額並由每月最高300元增至450元,給全港住宅用戶,為期一年。

  • (預算案演辭 48.(1)) 向每個電力住宅用戶戶口提供1,800元的電費補貼,涉及的政府開支約為47億元;

本人建議:豁免徵收差餉一年,公屋免租一個月 – 豁免差餉及公屋免租金等措施,市民直接受惠,同時亦可紓緩通脹的壓力。

  • (預算案演辭 48.(2)) 寬免2011至12年度全年的差餉,以每戶每季1,500元為上限。估計約百分之八十二的物業在該年度不用繳交差餉。這項建議會令政府收入減少約99億元;
  • (預算案演辭 48.(3))代繳兩個月公屋租金。其中,政府會為須向香港房屋委員會繳交額外租金的租戶繳付單位兩個月的基本租金。至於居住在香港房屋協會乙類單位的非長者住戶,政府會為他們繳交兩個月租金的三分之二。這項措施涉及開支約19億元;以及

本人建議:調高子女及供養父母及祖父母的免稅額至適度水平 – 本港已經步入通脹期,市民面對生活壓力將會不斷增加,由於政府最近數年均沒有增加子女及供養父母的免稅額,建議政府將子女及供養父母、祖父母的免稅額增加,分別由目前50,000增至100,000元;以及30,000元增至60,000元。同時,亦應研究調高基本免稅額。

  • (預算案演辭 51.(1)) 把 供養父母或祖父母的免稅額增加兩成。供養60歲或以上的父母或祖父母,免稅額會由現時30,000元增加至36,000元。同時,與這些父母或祖父母同住 的納稅人所享有的額外免稅額會由現時30,000元增加至36,000元。供養55至59歲的父母或祖父母,免稅額會由現時的15,000元增加至 18,000元,而與這些父母或祖父母同住的納稅人所享有的額外免稅額會作同樣幅度的增加。如父母或祖父母入住安老院舍,長者住宿照顧開支的扣除上限,會 由現時60,000元增加至72,000元。這項措施將惠及約51萬名納稅人,政府每年收入會減少5億7,000萬元;以及
  • (預算案演辭 51.(1)) 把子女免稅額提高兩成,由現時每名子女50,000元增加至60,000元,而每名子女在出生的課稅年度所享有的一次性額外免稅額,也由現時每名50,000元提高至60,000元。我預計這項措施將惠及約30萬名納稅人,政府每年收入會減少6億5,000萬元。

照顧長者

本人建議:在新區大力發展類似長者綜合社區計劃,興建更多長者及康復宿位,為當區創造更多就業及在職培訓的機會,加快新市鎮的發展外,亦可紓緩宿位嚴重短缺的問題。

  • (預算案演辭 145.) 在住宿照顧服務方面,行政長官在施政報告中已提出加建院舍、充分利用現有院舍的空間及透過「改善買位計劃」,以增加資助安老宿位的供應。我建議增撥每年1億3,000萬元經常撥款,增加約1 300個資助安老宿位,包括護養院宿位、護理安老宿位和可提供持續照顧的宿位。
  • (預算案演辭 146.) 為了提升參加「改善買位計劃」院舍的服務水平,我建議增撥每年4,000萬元經常撥款,調高甲一級宿位的買位價格,並要求有關院舍為長者安排物理治療和康復訓練。此舉同時有助提升私營安老院舍的質素。

公營房屋供應

本人建議:加快並增加興建公屋 – 政府應加快興建公屋,讓現時居於惡劣環境的基層市民,能夠盡快上樓,同時亦應研究增加公屋的供應量,以便更多市民能夠入住公屋,緩和日益加劇的民怨。

  • (預算案演辭 28.) 增加私營房屋土地供應不會影響現時公營房屋供應。政府各有關部門會物色公屋土地,以維持一般公屋申請者平均輪候時間大約三年的目標。
  • (預算案演辭 29.) 從2010至11年度起的五年期間,新建公屋量預測約為75 000個單位,其中在2011至12年度及2012至13年度,預計分別約有11 200個及16 700個新建公屋單位落成。在上述兩個年度,新建公屋單位約八成四位於市區。

社交分享

2011-12 Budget Embraced Submissions

The 2011-12 Budget has embraced many initiatives from my earlier submissions, such as expanding RMB bonds market; inadequate MPF contribution for retirement; subsidising electricity, rates, and rent; increasing tax allowance and taking care of the elderly:

Financial Services

My Submission:    Expansion of the RMB bonds market – there are huge demands for RMB bonds in Hong Kong. The Government should strive for more Mainland, local and foreign enterprises to issue long term RMB bonds in Hong Kong. Substantial and continual issues of RMB bonds will not only reinforce Hong Kong as an offshore centre for RMB transactions but also promote insurance business in RMB.

  • (Budget Speech 93.) First of all, we will maintain close contact with relevant Mainland authorities as well as the financial regulators and market participants of both sides to further develop Hong Kong’s RMB bond market. As at end-January, there were a total of 31 RMB bond issues with an issuance size of about RMB 74.4 billion. The range of issuers has expanded from Mainland financial institutions to multinational non-financial institutions. We will continue to encourage overseas enterprises to issue RMB bonds in Hong Kong, solicit more Mainland enterprises to issue bonds in Hong Kong and seek the expansion of channels for enterprises to invest in the Mainland the RMB capital raised in Hong Kong. Moreover, we will optimise the RMB clearing platform to attract more enterprises to use Hong Kong’s RMB settlement services. Diversification of RMB financial products and services will help consolidate Hong Kong’s status as an offshore RMB business centre.

Injection into Mandatory Provident Fund Accounts

My Submission:    Comprehensively review MPF and promptly consider universal retirement protection – the society has become concerned with inadequate protection of the MPF to the low-income and employed, while showing increasing support for a universal retirement protection system, which the Government should promptly reconsider in the face of an aging population.

  • (Budget Speech 177.) The Mandatory Provident Fund (MPF) System and other occupational retirement schemes have been functioning well to assist our working population to save up for better retirement protection. We hope to increase the retirement savings of scheme members. In this connection, I propose to make a one-off injection of $6,000 into the MPF accounts of all MPF scheme members and members of occupational retirement schemes covered by the Employment Ordinance of Hong Kong as of 23 February 2011. To assist more citizens in preparing for retirement, no salary ceiling will be imposed for the injection proposal. The proposal will not increase inflationary pressure and is drawn up in the light of our fiscal position.
  • (Budget Speech 178.) I have earmarked $24 billion for this measure. The Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau will announce the details in due course, and the Mandatory Provident Fund Authority will assist in implementing the injection. I expect that the injection of funds into the MPF accounts will start in 2011-12.

Relief Measures

My Submission:    Subsidise electricity bill – to reduce inflationary pressure on citizens, measures to subsidise for the electricity bill is advised to be extended for one year with the monthly maximum increased from $300 to $450 for all households.

  • (Budget Speech 48.(1)) Granting each residential electricity account a subsidy of $1,800. This will cost the Government about $4.7 billion;

My Submission:    One year exemption on rates payment and one month rent-free period for public housing – measures to exempt rates payment and public housing rent will directly benefit citizens and relieve inflationary pressure.

  • (Budget Speech 48.(2)) Waiving rates for 2011-12, subject to a ceiling of $1,500 per quarter for each rateable property. It is estimated that about 82 per cent of properties will be subject to no rates in the year. This propos al will cost the Government approximately $9.9 billion;
  • (Budget Speech 48.(3)) Paying two months’ rent for public housing tenants. The Government will pay two months’ base rent for tenants who are required to pay extra rent to the Hong Kong Housing Authority. For non-elderly tenants of the HKHS’s Group B estates, the Government will pay two-thirds of their rent for two months. This measure will involve expenditure of approximately $1.9 billion; and

My Submission:    Raise the child and dependent parent/grandparent tax allowances to a proper level – Hong Kong has entered into an inflation period and inflation stress on citizens will continue to intensify. The Government is advised to simultaneously raise the tax allowances for child and dependent parent/grandparent from $50,000 to $100,000 and $30,000 to $60,000 respectively. The basic Tax allowance should also be reviewed.

  • (Budget Speech 51.(1)) Increasing the allowance for maintaining dependent parents/grandparents by 20 per cent. The allowance for maintaining a dependent parent/grandparent aged 60 or above will increase from the present $30,000 to $36,000. At the same time, the additional allowance for a taxpayer residing with his/her parent/grandparent will increase from $30,000 to $36,000. The allowance for maintaining a dependent parent/grandparent aged between 55 and 59 will increase from the current $15,000 to $18,000. The same increase applies to the additional allowance for taxpayers residing with these parents/grandparents. For taxpayers whose parents/grandparents are admitted to a residential care home, the deduction ceiling for elderly residential care expenses will be raised from the current $60,000 to $72,000. This measure will benefit about 510 000 taxpayers and cost the Government $570 million a year; and
  • (Budget Speech 51.(2)) Raising both the child allowance and the additional one-off child allowance in the year of birth by 20 per cent from $50,000 to $60,000 for each child. I estimate that this measure will benefit about 300 000 taxpayers, costing the Government $650 million a year.

Taking Care of the Elderly

My Submission:    The Government should also actively develop schemes similar to the Integrated Elderly Community Project to generate more elderly and rehabilitating accommodations, which not only will create more training and employment opportunities and accelerate the development of New Towns, but also ease the shortage of accommodations for the elderly.

  • (Budget Speech 145.) On residential care services, the Chief Executive has announced in his Policy Address that the Government will provide additional subsidised residential care places by building new residential care homes, making full use of the space of existing homes and offering more places under the Enhanced Bought Place Scheme. I propose an increase of $130 million in the annual recurrent funding to provide about 1 300 additional subsidised residential care places, including nursing home places, care-and-attention places and places offering a continuum of care.
  • (Budget Speech 146.) To enhance the service quality of residential care homes under the Enhanced Bought Place Scheme, I propose to increase annual recurrent funding by $40 million to raise the purchase prices for EA1 places. The residential care homes concerned will be required to provide physiotherapy treatment and rehabilitation training for the elderly. This will also help enhance the quality of private residential care homes.

Supply of Public Housing

My Submission:    Speed up and expand public housing construction – the Government should speed up the construction of public housing to relieve grassroots citizens from devastating living conditions, meanwhile consider increasing the supply to allow more citizens to move in.

  • (Budget Speech 28.) Increasing the supply of land for private housing development will not affect the current supply of public housing. Relevant government departments will identify public rental housing (PRH) sites to maintain the average waiting time for general PRH applicants at around three years.
  • (Budget Speech 29.) In the five-year period starting from 2010-11, the forecast production of new PRH flats is about 75 000 flats. The new PRH flat production forecast for 2011-12 and 2012-13 will be some 11 200 flats and 16 700 flats respectively, of which about 84 per cent will be built in urban areas.

Social sharing