僱員再培訓局新技能提升計劃下的保險業課程

陳健波議員就僱員再培訓局新技能提升計劃下的保險業課程於112日立法會會議上提出質詢

問題:

政府技能提升計劃中的保險業課程,已於2009年12月開始改由僱員再培訓局(再培訓局)接辦。資料顯示,在再培訓局接辦前,由於分配開辦課程的資源 即將用完,所以保險業課程要減少開班,令報讀人數下跌,由2008年 4月至9月的1800多人,逐步減至2009年10月至2010年 3月的148人。就此,政府可否告知本會:  

(一) 由再培訓局接辦後,保險業課程開班的情況為何、報讀人數有否回升,以及當局可否確保有足夠的學額,供保險從業員及有意投身行業的市民報讀;
(二) 當局有否評估上述課程的效益(包括除了讓在職保險從業員在修畢課程後申請持續專業培訓學分外,該等課程能否達至提升他們實際工作技能的目標);及
(三) 當局有否評估,過去3年,有意投身保險業的學員在完成上述課程後,有多少人加入了保險行業工作,以及當局有否向他們提供協助?

答覆:

主席:

(一) 僱員再培訓局(再培訓局)於2009年12月起分階段透過該局的「新技能提升計劃」續辦「技能提升計 劃」下的課程,而首批續辦課程包括「保險業」的16項課程。再培訓局於2009年8月成立「保險業行業諮詢網絡」(委員包括業界商會、工會及專業團體的代表)向再培訓局提供意見,以確保有關課程配合市場需要。按照「保險業行業諮詢網絡」的建議,再培訓局開放其中13項續辦課程予保險從業員以外的人士報讀, 提高他們轉職保險業的機會。

在通過再培訓局的申請及投標機制後,自2010年3月起,共有6間培訓機構陸續開辦該16項「保險業」的 「新技能提升計劃」課程。截至2010年12月,共有1163名學員入讀有關課程。按照現行機制,若市場有需求而開班情況理想,培訓機構可向再培訓局申請額外培訓學額。

(二) 政府不時就「技能提升計劃」進行效益評估,收集各行業(包括保險業)的學員及其僱主的意見,結果顯示學員及僱主一般對課程在提升學員技能及就業能力等方面的成效都表示滿意。

再培訓局亦非常覑重其課程的質素保證及效益。各行業諮詢網絡就業界的人力需求、培訓需要、課程內容、入讀資格等方面提出意見供該局參考。而就「保險業」 的「新技能提升計劃」課程而言,在培訓機構開辦課程之前,它們須審核導師資歷,並由「學術及職業資歷評審局」核實有關的「持續專業進修」安排;各項課程均 設有課堂測驗及期末考試,以評估學員的學習成果。學員須在考試中取得合格成績及其出席率達最少80%,方可獲發畢業證書。保險業從業員完成計劃下的課程 後,可得到「持續專業進修」學分。

再培訓局不時就其課程收集學員的意見。就「新技能提升計劃」下的「保險業」課程而言,統計結果顯 示,98%學員對課程表示「滿意」或「極滿意」,反映學員普遍滿意課程的整體安排和成效。而該局亦計劃在2011年第2季,即培訓機構開辦「保險業」的 「新技能提升計劃」課程約一年後,與「保險業行業諮詢網絡」共同檢視開班情況、課程內容、訓練模式、培訓成效等,並按需要修訂課程設計和開發新課程。

(三) 「新技能提升計劃」課程(包括旗下的「保險業」課程)主要是為在職人士而設的半日/晚間制課程,沒有附設就業跟進服務。因此,再培訓局並無備存畢業學員轉職保險業的統計數字。

為了幫助更多有不同就業需要的學員,再培訓局亦開辦全日制就業掛鉤課程,這些課程為失業和轉業人士提供職前培訓及就業跟進服務。現時,再培訓局提供一項 「保險代理證書」全日制就業掛鉤課程,協助學員掌握入職保險代理所需的知識和技巧;此項課程在2009/10年開始開班,在該年度共有59名學員入讀,其 中46名完成培訓並成功就業,當中19名入職保險業。而再培訓局在2010/11年度亦推出了兩項全日制就業掛鉤「保險行政助理證書」及「保險管理文憑」 課程,幫助學員投身保險業後勤支援服務及管理工作,這兩項新課程現正招生,因此未有畢業學員的就業數據。

社交分享

Courses for Insurance Industry under the Skills Upgrading Scheme Plus

Question by KP Chan on Courses for the Insurance Industry under the Skills Upgrading Scheme Plus at the Legco Meeting on January 12

Question:

Since December 2009, the insurance courses in the Government’s Skills Upgrading Scheme have been taken over by the Employees Retraining Board (ERB).  There is information indicating that before ERB took over the courses, the number of classes for insurance courses had to be reduced because of the imminent exhaustion of the resources allocated for organising such courses, thus causing enrolment to drop from some 1 800 for the period between April and September 2008 to 148 for the period between October 2009 and March 2010.  In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a)  Of the situation of classes convened for insurance courses since ERB has taken over them, whether enrolment has rebounded and whether the authorities can ensure sufficient places for insurance practitioners and members of the public who are interested in joining the industry to enrol;

(b) Whether the authorities have assessed the effectiveness and benefits of the aforesaid courses (including whether such courses could achieve the objective of enhancing incumbent insurance practitioners’ actual working skills apart from allowing them to apply for Continuing Professional Development credits after completing the courses); and

(c)  Whether the authorities have assessed how many trainees, who are interested in developing a career in the insurance industry, had joined the insurance industry after completing the aforesaid courses in the past three years, and whether the authorities have offered them assistance?

Reply:

President,

(a)  The Employees Retraining Board (ERB) started taking over “Skills Upgrading Scheme” (SUS) courses in phases since December 2009 by launching its “Skills Upgrading Scheme Plus” (SUS Plus).  The first batch of courses taken over by ERB included 16 courses for the insurance industry.  ERB set up the Industry Consultative Network (ICN) for the insurance industry in August 2009.  The ICN comprises representatives of trade organisations, labour unions and professional associations and advises ERB with a view to ensuring that the courses will meet market demand.  In accordance with the recommendation of the ICN for the insurance industry, ERB relaxed the entry requirements for 13 of the migrated courses by accepting non-trade practitioners so as to facilitate them to join the insurance industry.

After going through the application and bidding processes of ERB, six training bodies have gradually rolled out the 16 insurance courses under SUS Plus since March 2010.  As at December 2010, 1 163 trainees had been admitted to these courses.  Depending on market demand for classes, training bodies may apply to ERB for additional training places under the existing allocation mechanism.

(b) The Government conducts evaluation of SUS from time to time.  The views of trainees from various industries (including insurance) and their employers are collected.  The results have shown that the trainees and employers were generally content with the effectiveness of SUS courses in improving the skills and employability of trainees.

ERB also places a lot of emphasis on the quality and effectiveness of its courses.  The ICNs of various industries advise ERB on manpower demand, training needs, as well as the design of and entry requirements for training courses.  Taking the insurance courses of SUS Plus as an example, prior to the commencement of a training course, the training body concerned has to vet the qualifications of its trainers and seek accreditation of the related Continuing Professional Development (CPD) training by the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications.  All courses have their respective class assessments and course-end examinations.  A trainee is required to pass the examinations and attain an attendance of at least 80% before he may be awarded a certificate.  Trade practitioners in the insurance industry can obtain CPD credits after completing SUS Plus courses.

ERB undertakes course evaluation to collect feedback from trainees from time to time.  As far as the training courses of the insurance industry under SUS Plus are concerned, 98% of trainees rated the courses as “satisfactory” or “very satisfactory”, indicating their general appreciation of the overall arrangements and benefits of the courses.  ERB also plans to review the courses in conjunction with the ICN of the insurance industry in the second quarter of 2011, i.e. about one year after the launching of insurance courses under SUS Plus.  The review will cover enrolment situation, course design, training mode and overall effectiveness.  Existing courses will be revamped and new courses will be developed as necessary in light of the review findings.

(c)  As SUS Plus courses, including those of the insurance industry, are part-time courses which target at those in employment, no placement service is offered to trainees.  As such, ERB does not keep any statistics on the number of trainees who have joined the insurance industry.

To benefit more trainees with different employment needs, ERB also offers full-time placement-tied courses for the unemployed and those who wish to change jobs.  Trainees of these courses receive pre-employment training and placement services.  At present, ERB offers a full-time placement-tied course entitled “Certificate in Insurance Agent Training” which seeks to equip trainees with the knowledge and skills for employment as insurance agents.  The course was first launched in 2009-10.  Altogether 59 trainees were admitted to the course in that year.  Of these, 46 successfully secured a job upon completion of training, with 19 working for the insurance industry.  In 2010-11, ERB launched two new full-time placement-tied courses entitled “Certificate in Insurance Administration Assistant Training” and “Diploma in Insurance Management” which aim to help trainees to seek employment as supporting personnel or managerial staff in the industry.  As both new courses are still at the enrolment stage, statistics on employment situation of the graduates are not yet available.

Social sharing