反對成立專責委員會調查八達通事件

陳健波議員就委任專責委員會調查八達通決議案發言:

電話直銷是世界性的正常商業活動。自從八達通事件之後,令電話直銷陷於停頓,打擊了此種正常商業活動。

八達通事件發生,我相信私隱專員公署有一定責任。私隱專員公署每年接到數百宗私隱投訴,針對八達通的,五年內就有十多宗。一些私隱專員公署就八達通事件最後報告提出要改善的問題早已存在,亦不限於八達通,例如合約字體大小,同意資料轉移的格式等等 。如果私隱專員及早更新指引,相信不會有八達通事件。

我相信香港的商業機構一定會跟指引辦事,因為商業機構的董事局都會要求管理層依足法律辦事。所以如果法律或者指引沒有更新,而商業機構依照現有法律去辦事而被指責,我相信是不公道亦不合理。

事實上,正規的直銷活動都是在嚴密監察下進行,例如資料轉移,打電話過程,及直銷後註銷資料,都有指定程序處理。個人資料搜集亦絕大部分有書面同意,但當然之後有待改善。

八達通事件發生後,八達通委任的獨立審計行已就金管局及八達通本身要求作出調查及報告。私隱專員公署亦就八達通作出調查,並提出多項改善建議。政府亦已就如何加強保障私隱作出修改法律建議,作出公眾諮詢,及就私隱條例作出修改建議。立法會亦已多次就法律修改建議作多次討論及作聽證會。現時提出的法律建議,已在多方面大幅加強對消費者保障,部分建議甚至被認為矯枉過正。

我認為再成立專責委員會只會消耗大量立法會資源,但實際意義不大,因此不能支持。

社交分享

Against the Appointment of a Select Committee on the Octopus Incident

KP Chan on Member’s Resolution on Appointment of a Select Committee on Octopus Incident at the Legislative Council:

Telemarketing is an ordinary business around the globe. Since the Octopus incident last year, telemarketing has been almost in standstill in Hong Kong, affecting business routine.

I am convinced that the Privacy Commissioner for Personal Data is partly responsible for occurrence of the Octopus incident. Among hundreds of complaints he received each year, more than 10 cases were against Octopus in the last five years. Many areas for improvement raised in the Privacy Commissioner’s final report on the Octopus incident are generic and they are also not confined to Octopus, such as font size of the contract, language used for consent to data transfer, etc. If the Privacy Commissioner had updated his guidelines timely, the Octopus incident might not have happened.

I believe that all commercial firms are acting within guidelines. Their Directors would require the management to act within ambit of the law. As statutes or guidelines are not updated timely, it would be unfair and unreasonable to criticize firms that have followed published rules.

Actually, proper telemarketing is conducted under close supervision. For instance, there are definite procedures for data transfer, dialing and data destruction. Personal data are collected under written consent in most cases. That said, there is always room for improvement.

Following the incident, Octopus appointed an independent auditor to investigate and report to the HKMA and its Board of Directors accordingly. The Privacy Commissioner’s Office also conducted an investigation and made recommendations for improvement. The Government has proposed amendments to the Personal Data (Privacy) Ordinance to provide better protection of privacy for public consultation. The Legislative Council has also conducted several rounds of public hearing and deliberations on the proposed legislative amendments. These proposals would significantly improve protection of consumers. Some proposals are even considered as excessive.

In my view, the proposed Select Committee would consume considerable resources of the Legislature but not in a productive way. Therefore, I cannot support the proposal.

Social sharing