2010-11施政報告致謝議案 (房屋、保單持有人保障基金、保監獨立及人民幣政策)

以下是陳健波議員在10月27日立法會會議上就施政報告致謝議案議案內房屋、保險及人民幣政策的發言撮要:

施政報告將焦點重新放在房屋及扶貧等民生問題上,大方向是正確的。然而,從輿論及市場的反應來看,都顯示政府的政策力度不足,有不少迫切的問題仍未有回應。

房屋政策

•        雖然特首已就房屋政策提出一連串重點措施,但政策力度不足,令樓價再次上升。投資者爭相入市及搶購二手樓,令人憂慮。我希望政府能重新審視房屋政策,研究是否需要再推出措施,遏止炒風。

•        報告認為,過去十年每年平均一手私人單位吸納量為一萬八千五百個,所以未來十年每年提供二萬個單位,已經足夠所需。但過去兩次金融風暴及沙士令需求減少,而回歸前每年平均超過二萬七千個單位供應尚且供不應求,何況現時國內投資者有增無減。我建議政府定期制定未來五年的土地供應量,確保住宅供應合符需要,及避免為市場帶來錯誤訊息。

•        我認為「置安心資助房屋計劃」方向正確,但二零一四年才有第一批單位,遠水不能救近火,而供應量亦過少。我重申支持復建居屋,為合資格而又未能負擔私樓的基層市民改善居住環境。

 

保險政策

•        政府正擬備設立保單持有人保障基金,特首表示會爭取在年底前諮詢,保險業界深表歡迎,但正如我多次強調,保險業界希望當局能夠加快步伐。假如在未來一兩年間再度出現金融風暴,保障基金仍未成立,一旦有保險公司出現問題,政府就會承受很大的壓力。

•        另外,保障基金將從保費徵款以供賠償,但由於運作初期未能有足夠儲備,希望政府能夠先行墊支,以便基金能盡快開展。

•        政府正就成立獨立保險業監管局諮詢公眾意見,但諮詢文件並沒有詳細列出監管架構的具體內容。保險業對建議有不同看法,但一致存有疑慮,希望政府再向業界作第二次諮詢。

•        業界希望保監局不會作過份監管,以確保本港國際金融中心的地位不受影響及保險市場能持續發展。

•        業界反對由金管局去監管銀行銷售保險產品的建議,擔心監管不一,希望由獨立保險業監管局監管所有保險銷售渠道,以免市民有所誤解。

 

人民幣業務

•        我高興見到政府爭取擴大企業在香港募集的人民幣資金可在內地投資的渠道。隨著人民幣產品不斷發展,本港的人民幣結餘數額會大幅增加。人民幣回流機制讓金融機構把籌集到的人民幣投資在內地,賺取比境外為高的回報,從而令人民幣產品例如人民幣保單更具吸引力。

•        我亦支持政府爭取更多企業在港發行人民幣債券的建議,如果人債可以大規模及持續地在港發行,對本港發展成為離岸人民幣業務中心十分有幫助。

社交分享

Motion of Thanks for the 2010-11 Policy Address (on Housing, Policyholders’ Protection Fund, IA Independence & RMB)

Speech of the Hon KP Chan on housing, insurance and RMB policies on the motion of thanks for the Policy Address at the Legislative Council meeting on October 27, 2010 (Synopsis)

MR PRESIDENT, this year’s Policy Address is heading at the right direction to refocus on livelihood issues like housing and helping the poor.  However, public opinion and market reactions are not encouraging.  They criticize that policy initiatives are inadequate and imminent problems are not addressed.

Housing

•    Although a series of key measures on housing are put forward in the Policy Address, they do not seem to be capable of arresting property prices.  It is a cause for concern that investors are buying fanatically not only in the primary market but also the secondary market.  I ask the Government to reexamine its housing policy with a view to introducing more rigorous measures to calm down speculative sentiments.

•    The Policy Address says that the average take-up of private housing for the past 10 years is about 18,000 units a year.  Therefore, an average annual supply of some 20,000 units in the next 10 years would be sufficient to meet the demand.  However, this average take-up figure was distorted by dwindled demand in two financial crises and SARS epidemic.  In fact, the annual supply of over 27,000 units a year before the reunification of 1997 was still fallen short of demand.  On the other hand, investors’ interest from the Mainland is increasing nowadays.  I ask the Government to put forward five-year plans on land supply so as to ensure that the supply of residential units is meeting demand.  Misleading signals in the market would also be avoided.

•    In my view the proposed “My Home Purchase Plan” is on the right track.  However, it is too late and too few that the first batch of 1,000 flats will only be available by 2014.  I reiterate my support to resume the “Home Ownership Scheme” to help the working class who could not afford private housing to improve their living standard.

Insurance

•    The Chief Executive says that the Government is proposing to establish an “insurance policyholders’ protection fund” and is consulting the public by the end of this year.  The insurance industry welcomes this policy agenda but wishes to see an accelerated pace.  In case financial crisis recurs in the next two years and some insurance companies do go bust before establishment of the proposed protection fund, the Government would be subject to enormous political pressure.

•    On the other hand, the protection fund would be financed by levy on the premium and it would not have sufficient reserve at the outset.  I wish that the Government would make an advance to the fund for setting up the reserve and starting operation at the earliest.

•    The Government is consulting the public on an independent Insurance Authority, but the consultation document does not provide sufficient details on the future regulatory framework.  While views of the insurance industry may be diverse, there is common anxiety.  I ask the Government to conduct a fresh round of consultation with the industry.

•    The industry is skeptical of overregulation that might threaten the status of Hong Kong as an international financial centre and the sustainable development of insurance market.

•    The industry also objects to the regulation of bank-assurance by HKMA because inconsistence in supervision is a cause for concern.  All selling channels of insurance products should be under the sole regulation of the independent Insurance Authority.  This would help avoid any misunderstanding of the public.

Renminbi Business

•    I am grateful that the Government is actively seeking more investment means on the Mainland for funds in Chinese renminbi (RMB) raised by enterprises in Hong Kong.  With unrelenting development of RMB financial products, local RMB balances would increase phenomenally.  A formal arrangement for financial institutions to repatriate these RMB funds to the Mainland for investment and earn better yields than offshore would make local RMB products like insurance policies more attractive.

•    I also support efforts of the Government to encourage more enterprises to issue RMB bonds in Hong Kong.  When such issues are substantial and unrelenting in amount, they would help reinforce Hong Kong’s role as an offshore centre for RMB transactions.

Social sharing