檢討人口政策

陳健波議員就檢討人口政策議案上發言

•    無論是內地孕婦來港產子所引致醫療及種種社會問題,或是每日150個未有善用的名額,問題癥結在於近年政府缺乏一套按香港形勢制訂的人口政策。

•    入境處數字顯示,由1998年至2011年頭3季,每年持單程通行證來港的人數,由33,000多人到57,000多人不等,合共來港總人數高達667,002人,佔香港總體人口約9.4%,幾近1成。現時每10個香港人中就有1個是從這段時間持單程證來港。

•    在這群人口中,有7成來香港的時候已經是15歲及以上,平均年齡更高達27至28歲。他們當中約有2成人是小學程度,約7成人是中學程度,只有1成人擁有大專或以上的學歷,更有近一半人在內地是料理家務者。在現今知識型的香港,以這些工作條件難以避免要接受較低收入的工作,甚至可能面對失業威脅。

•    由於他們的成長過程或工作經驗不少都在內地,因此他們來港後不單止需要時間適應,亦需要社會撥資源去支援他們的需要。民政事務總署過去曾就內地新來港定居人士在香港面對的困難作調查,有近半的被訪者表示在工作上遇到適應困難,更有超過一半人表示需要協助找尋工作。

•    有七至八成被訪人士表示主要收入來源是工資,但調查同時發現被訪人士的家庭入息中位數14年平均只得$7155,於2011年的第三季亦只有$8000。香港面對的貧窮問題,與此不無關係。

•    雙非這一類問題進一步加劇香港社會資源的壓力,政府不能再逃避。統計處數字顯示雙非家長的子女逐漸長大,不少已屆入學年齡,3歲的雙非孩童更由2003年的709個大幅攀升至今年近3萬個,9年間升幅高達41倍。

•    過去10年,香港雙非嬰兒累積人數超過15萬,若按政府估算,當中有一半人會返香港定居,社會未來面臨的壓力,肯定不單止是來自教育,還要包括來自房屋、醫療以及整個社會保障制度。負責處理整個問題的大旗手明顯不應該是教育局,而是政府的最高領導人。

•    雙非問題並非一朝一夕,政府其實應該一早已經預視得到,而家單靠統計處五年的調查,根本難以追蹤到內地港孩實際來港的情況,我建議政府多撥資源,去就這方面多作一些深入的研究。

•    今日的原動議及修訂案建議我都非常贊同,希望政府細心聆聽建議,並經過分析後能夠於作出具前瞻性的人口政策。

社交分享

Population Policy Review

Speech of the Hon KP Chan on Motion on Population Policy Review (Synopsis)

•    Both the medical and other social problems arising from Mainland women giving birth in Hong Kong and the  improper utilization of the daily migrant quota of 150 have one cause in common.  The Government lacks an overall population policy that serves local circumstances.

•    According to immigration figures, migrants from the Mainland amounted to 667,002 from 1998 to 2011 (Q3), accounting for 9.4 percent of the total population in the latest census.  Annual arrivals ranged from 33,000 to 57,000.  Today, almost one out of 10 Hong Kong residents arrived within this period.

•    Among these people, about 70 percent were over 15 years of age.  Their average age was high, between 27 and 28.  About 20 percent were educated at primary school level, 70 percent at secondary school level and only 10 percent at tertiary level.  Moreover, nearly half of them were housewives before arrival.  As Hong Kong is a knowledge economy, they would have no other choice but accept low pay manual work.  Many even could not find a job.

•    As they were brought up and acquired working experience in the Mainland, they need time to settle down as well as social resources to support their livelihood.  Home Affairs Department has interviewed new migrants on the difficulties faced by them.  Almost half mentioned adaptation to work and more than half mentioned that they needed assistance to find job.

•    Some 70 to 80 percent of interviewees mentioned wage as the main source of income.  The survey also found that median income only averaged HK$7,155 for the past 14 years.  The median for Q3 of 2011 was only HK$8,000.  This is probably a key factor in poverty problem of Hong Kong.

•    Problems like children born of non-resident parents (NRP) are putting Hong Kong social resources under further stress.  The Government should not turn a blind eye.  According to statistics, an increasing number of these children are reaching school age.  Those of 3 years of age surged from 709 in 2003 to almost 30,000 in 2011, or 41 times in 9 years.

•    For the past 10 years, more than 150,000 children were born of NRP.  Assume the Government’s estimation of 50 percent resettlement.  Their future stress on the community goes beyond education.  Housing, medical and social security would also be under stress.  Obviously, it should be the top leadership rather than the Education Bureau to take the helm on this delicate issue.

•    The question of children born of non-resident parents is cumulative and the Government should have known better.   It should not rely on regular censuses conducted every five-year to track their future resettlement.  I urge the Government to allocate more resources to conduct more comprehensive studies.

•    I support both the original Motion and its Amendments.  I urge the Government to listen, study and publish forward looking population policy.

Social sharing