提供香港男士支援服務

主席:

香港回歸後一直受到經濟不景的打擊,社會衍生出不少令人關注的問題,這些問題往往圍繞著弱勢社群,例如婦女、長者及貧窮人士等。然而,一向被視為強者的男士,今時今日亦有部份成為需要社會關注的弱勢社群。其實,「男人之苦」並非偶然出現的問題,是男士在長期社會及經濟壓力下,所引發的問題。

在傳統的社會工作上,服務對象通常集中在單親婦女、貧窮長者、或問題青少年,甚少會以男人為服務核心,但實際上男人亦是人,也有情緒的起跌波動,更要面對龐大的工作壓力,只不過在傳統男性注重面子及自尊心的包袱下,夾硬將情緒壓下來。不過,當香港進一步受到經濟不景的打擊時,男士再要受到失業或保飯碗的問題困擾,和日益惡化的家庭關係,終於因承受太大壓力而爆發出問題,最後需要社會的幫助。

從另一角度來看,男士問題亦與婦女問題息息相關,這涉及到婚姻和家庭角色等問題。由於經濟結構改變,加上經濟不景,中年男士在失業後不容易找到新工作,有時需要靠妻子工作謀生,這時男士除了自覺自尊心受損外,妻子也可能會對丈夫感到不滿,導致雙方關係惡化,婚姻難免亮起紅燈,男士因此而內外受壓。另外,有分析指出,在基層的勞動市場上,適合婦女的工作會較多,中年婦女一般較同齡男士容易搵工,造成中年基層男士難找工作的現象,這些因素都直接加劇男士的精神壓力。

男人內心種種的心結,亦有可能與女權抬頭有關。經過多年努力,香港男女變得越來越平等,我留意到在很多公司內,不少具上進心的女士在工作上超越同輩的男士,而且數量似乎正在不斷增加中,這現象係好事,但卻令男士感覺到傳統的工作崗位受到嚴峻的挑戰。大家可能都注意到,本港男女兩性已開始有互相不滿的地方,在互聯網的討論區上,不時有男士批評「港女」自大高傲,女士亦不甘示弱,力數「港男」差勁懦弱。我希望,這只是我杞人憂天,香港的兩性關係不至於去到嚴重矛盾的地步。

其實,香港男士面對的困境,外國男士近年亦面對相似的境況。我認識不少外國人,他們會認為當家庭遇到問題時,需要妻子外出工作,丈夫在家照顧子女,他們自己及社會都不會覺得有問題。在香港,當類似的情況出現時,丈夫就難免被人譏諷為「無用」,而這些無謂的批評,對相關家庭、丈夫構成無限的壓力。

今日議案提出多項建議,我認同部份建議的理念,但我不打算逐一評論。我同時希望政府能從根源上提出解決問題的方法,例如灌輸正確的訊息及理念,打破男女傳統家庭角色的包袱,鼓勵男士放開心懷,建構公平而和諧的社會。當然,政府要想辦法紓解因經濟結構轉型而出現的失業問題,並且盡快搞好經濟,這些都對解決問題至關重要。

本人謹此陳詞。

社交分享

Provide Support Services for Men in Hong Kong

MR PRESIDENT: Hong Kong has been suffering from economic downturns since reunification. Many social problems so derived are disturbing the customary underprivileged, like women, the elderly and the poor, etc. Yet, the male that is supposedly the “stronger” gender is becoming a new group of underprivileged that equally deserves care of the community. In fact, “man-in-distress” is not an accidental phenomenon. It has been an outcome of the male being subject to prolonged social and economic stresses.

Traditional social work mainly targets at single-parent mothers, poor elderly or troubled teenagers but not the male population at large. Yet, the male are human beings as well and they do have emotional cycles of ups and downs. Moreover, they are facing enormous work pressure, but most of them choose to keep it to themselves owing to masculine pride and vanity. As Hong Kong is hit by renewed economic adversities, job insecurity (or even unemployment) and degenerating family relations are bothering the male further. When they could no longer withstand these stresses, related social problems would emerge inevitably. Communal assistance has become a necessity.

Looking from a different perspective, problem of the male and that of the female are interrelated because they are associated with family troubles like marriage and role-swap. Owing to structural changes of the economy as well as its recent downturns, it would not be easy for the male to find another job if being laid off. Often, the female would have to take over support of the family, probably resulting in sentimental lost of self-esteem on the part of the male. If the wife were dissatisfied with the husband as well, their relations would turn sour to threaten the marriage itself. The male would then be facing both external and internal stresses. Furthermore, by one analysis there are more job opportunities for the female than the male at the base level of the employment market. Middle-age females would find it easier to get a job than their male counterpart, and this phenomenon explains the frustrations of middle-age male job seekers. All these factors are intensifying their psychological stress.

Perhaps, anxieties of the male are related to rising “woman rights” in recent years. Following years of strenuous efforts, Hong Kong has become more equal than ever between the two sexes. I notice an encouraging trend that ambitious female are taking up higher positions than their male peers in corporations, and their population is increasing.

They are also challenging the male dominance in conventional jobs. I am sure all are aware that the male and the female in Hong Kong are getting upset with each other. In chat-rooms on the Internet, the male are criticizing “Hongkong girls” for their arrogance and conceit, whilst the female are disproving “Hongkong boys” for their timidity and cowardice as well. I wish that I were over-worried. Their bilateral relationship is still far from being at odds.

Actually, the male in Hong Kong are not alone. Their peers in other countries are facing similar frustrations in recent years. Many foreigner friends of mine share the same views that it is not unusual for the husband and wife to swap roles if the family ever encounters unexpected difficulties. The wife would go out to work while the husband would stay at home to look after their children. Both society and family do not find it unacceptable. Unfortunately, the sentiment in Hong Kong is different. When there were similar role swap, the husband would often be condemned as “unproductive”. Such unfounded disapproval is exerting immense pressure on the family as well as the husband.

Mr President, this Motion puts forward several recommendations to remedy the situation. I agree to many of them in principle, but I do not intend to speak on each and every one here today. Instead, I call for the Government to put forward measures to redress root causes of the issue. For instance, we should publicize messages on proper perception of family values with a view to breaking down the conventional roles of husband and wife in society. The male might then “pack up [their] troubles in the old kit bag and smile, smile, smile”.1 This would help build a fair and harmonious society. Of course, the Government must find better ways to relieve unemployment arising from structural changes of the economy, while working hard to turn around the economy itself. These are the key to resolutions.

Social sharing