深入研究金管局的問題

今日議員提出的議案及修正案,分別針對金管局的職能及人事架構方面的問題,提出不少意見及批評,而發言的同事亦提出很多不同觀點。我曾經在銀行工作多年,希望在此與各位同事分享我的看法。

不少議員指出,金管局的工作缺乏透明度及問責性,亦有指金管局高層薪金、人事架構有不合理地方。事實上,社會輿論亦有類似的睇法,例如多年來輿論的矛頭都直指金管局高層薪金過高,近期則多了批評金管局的工作缺乏透明度。我個人認為,外間既然有此強烈的睇法,政府確實有責任深入研究有關問題,如果屬實,就要提出改善的地方,如果指摘不實,則要清楚向公眾解釋。

不過,即使上述的指控屬實,亦不應該將金管局的工作,一筆抹煞,特別是金管局在抵抗金融海嘯與及穩定港元匯率上的努力。不少人都批評金管局在雷曼事件上監管不力,但很少人注意到金管局多年來建立健全的銀行運作監管機制,協助香港成功抵抗金融海嘯。事實上,金管局在保護消費者的工作上或者有不完善的地方,可能有需要大幅加強,但這個問題不應該與金管局其他工作混為一談。

金融海嘯發生以來,英美、以至歐洲等地,都是金融制度完善的國家,監管工作也十分嚴謹,但當地有不少銀行出事。反觀香港,雖然是高度開放的小型經濟體系,同時因為聯繫匯率的關係而沒有自己獨立的貨幣政策,這些因素令香港極容易受到國際金融動盪的影響,但本港銀行並沒有出現問題,這並非香港銀行沒有沾手美國的有毒資產,而是金管局對金融體系監管得力,包括要求銀行保持充足的流動資金及資本,及定期要提交財務資料申報表等措施,令銀行不容易違規。我們知道,如果有香港銀行出現嚴重的壞賬而瀕臨破產,後果將不堪設想,而香港銀行並無出現此情況。

至於雷曼事件的問題,立法會調查雷曼事件小組委員會正全力作出調查,我相信小組委員會一定會找到問題所在,金管局要負的責任,自然會有公論,更何況金融海嘯仍未完全平息,不能排除稍後會再出現,所以現階段就要為金管局做大手術,實在為時尚早,亦可能削弱本港抗海嘯能力。

總括而言,金管局一方面對穩定香港銀行體系有重要的貢獻,然而亦不能坐視問題而不理,政府有必要深入研究金管局的種種問題,以回應公眾的疑慮,但起碼要等待雷曼事件的調查報告完成,以及金融海嘯正式平息後,才可以進行,如果在現階段就有大動作,恐怕有欠週詳,對各方面都不公平。

社交分享

Study Issues with the Hong Kong Monetary Authority

MR CHAN KIN-POR (in Cantonese): President, the motion and the amendments proposed by Members today are addressing issues related to the functions and the staffing structure of the Hong Kong Monetary Authority (HKMA) respectively, and lots of comments and criticisms have been put forward. Also, Honourable colleagues who spoke have voiced many different points of view. Having worked in a bank for many years, I would like to take this opportunity to share my viewpoints with all of you.

Many Members pointed out that the work of the HKMA had been lacking transparency and accountability; some also alleged that there were many unreasonable aspects regarding the remunerations of the senior management as well as the staffing structure of the HKMA. Actually, public opinions have echoed similar views. For example, since many years ago, the public opinions have been directed at the excessively high remunerations of the HKMA’s senior management. However, recently, there have been increasing criticisms on the lack of transparency of the HKMA’s work. In my opinion, given such strong views from the outside, the Government certainly has the responsibility to look into the problems concerned in depth. If the problems are factual, it will have to make improvement recommendations; if the criticisms are untrue, it will then have to give the public a clear explanation.

However, even if the above accusation is factual, the work of the HKMA should not be discounted across the board, especially the efforts devoted by the HKMA in fighting against the financial tsunami and stabilizing the exchange rate of Hong Kong dollar. While many people criticize that there was inadequate monitoring on the part of the HKMA in the Lehman Brothers incident, not many note that the HKMA has, for many years, established a sound monitoring mechanism over the operation of banks to help Hong Kong fight against the financial tsunami successfully. In fact, there may be imperfections on the part of the HKMA in consumer protection which probably needs to be strengthened substantially, but it is inappropriate to align this problem with other work of the HKMA.

Ever since the outbreak of the financial tsunami, many banks in the United Kingdom, the United States, Europe and so on have been in trouble despite the perfectly well developed financial systems and the very strict monitoring work in these countries. In Hong Kong, on the contrary, though it is extremely susceptible to the international financial turmoil given that it is a highly open small economy and does not have its own independent monetary policy because of the linked exchange rate system, banks in Hong Kong are free from any problems. This does not mean that banks in Hong Kong did not have a hand in the toxic bonds of the United States, but means that the monitoring efforts devoted by the HKMA to the financial system are effective. These efforts include measures such as demanding banks to maintain sufficient liquidity and capital, and asking banks regularly to submit financial returns in order to deter non-compliance of banks. As we know, if some banks of Hong Kong teeter on the verge of bankruptcy under the weight of heavy bad debts, there will be unthinkable consequences. Fortunately, this situation does not exist in Hong Kong.

As regards the issues relating to the Lehman Brothers incident, the Legislative Council subcommittee to investigate the Lehman Brothers incident is sparing no effort to carry out the investigation. I believe that the subcommittee will certainly find out where the problem lies. When the time comes, a fair judgment will be formed as to what responsibilities the HKMA must bear. Besides, as the financial tsunami has not completely subsided, the possibility of a second wave cannot yet be ruled out. Hence, it is indeed too early to perform a surgery on the HKMA at this stage, which may in consequence weaken the ability of Hong Kong to counteract the tsunami.

Overall speaking, notwithstanding that the HKMA has made significant contribution to the stability of the banking system of Hong Kong, it cannot merely sit and watch without resolving its problems. The Government must study in detail the various problems with the HKMA in order to address the doubts of the public. However, this should only be done pending, at least, the completion of the report on the investigation of the Lehman Brothers incident and the subsidence of the financial tsunami. Any drastic measures taken at this stage probably lack careful consideration and are unfair in every respect.

President, I so submit.

Social sharing