2013施政報告致謝議案 扶貧及人口政策

香港過去一直對人口政策嘅問題,採取視而不見嘅態度,導致社會出現種種流弊。今次嘅施政報告終於唔再迴避,主動提出人口容量嘅問題,並強調要做好外來人口嘅管理工作。

施政報告今年喺引言部份指出,香港空間有限,人口和其他政策必須考慮容量問題,並且強調要做好外來人口嘅管理工作,優先發展港人嘅潛能,並發揮青年、婦女和較年長人士嘅才能,提升勞動力和生產力,做到人盡其才,並在有需要時以外來人口補充不足。

雖然,施政報告無明確表示將會制定人口政策,但當中嘅意思已經十分明確,實際上已經係 表明政府喺制定政策時,會將人口問題列入為其中一個重要嘅考慮因素。我認為,政府已經行出正確嘅第一步,下一步就要制定一套明確、清晰嘅人口政策,俾政府 制定教育、房屋及醫療等政策時,有一個客觀、具體嘅考慮準則。我舉一個簡單嘅例子,當政府發現雙非兒童喺未來數字會陸續來港,各個政府部門喺制定政策或服 務方案時,就必須要將有關因素計算在內。

漠視人口政策而衍生出來嘅問題,其中一個例子就係任由雙非孕婦來港產子,除咗令到本港 產房出現混亂外,長遠更會對社會各項服務,例如教育及房屋,構成好大嘅壓力。據統計所得,雙非兒童已多達22萬人,我認為,政府應該主動出撃,最好調查雙 非兒童嘅去向,了解佢哋打算幾時嚟香港定居,制成一個資料庫,以便各部門制定政策時,可以掌握更清楚嘅人口變化,否則雙非問題分分鐘成為社會另一個計時炸 彈。事實上,過去政府根本就無研究過有關嘅問題。

至於外來人口嘅管理工作,我過去已經講過好多次,除咗雙非問題外,持單程通行證來港人 士嘅問題,亦必須要正視。由98年至2011年,持單程證來港嘅人數已超過660,000人,佔香港總體人口接近一成,佢哋絕大部份係基層市民。他們係以 家庭團聚理由來港,係唔能夠拒絕佢哋來港嘅申請,但喺規劃同準備工作上,香港係可以好得更加好,例如提出更多具針對性嘅工作培訓或輔導服務,至少要避免再 出現天水圍悲情城市式嘅錯誤規劃。

另外,我想講下貧窮問題。貧窮問題困擾咗香港好多年,新一屆政府已經率先成立扶貧委員 會,並把制定「貧窮線」列為其中一項首先工作。我係支持成立扶貧委員會,並且制定「貧窮線」,作為扶貧措施嘅標準,令各項扶貧措施都可以根據呢個「貧窮 線」而制訂,亦都期待將來扶貧嘅工作,可以做得更加到位。

引致貧窮問題嘅其中一個原因,就係香港人口老年化。正如施政報告所講,30年後,香港 65歲及以上的長者將由94萬人急升至256萬人,政府必須及早處理社會人口老化而帶來衝擊。我一直認為,強積金只係針對在職人士嘅退休保障制度,強積金 亦有本身嘅缺點,就係對低收入及快將退休人士,唔能夠提供足夠保障,所以政府應該喺強積金以外,研究制定一個專門針對低收入嘅退休保障方案,一方面補強積 金不足,亦都解決將來人口老化帶來嘅壓力。

至於其他嘅福利問題,我認為要優化綜援制度下嘅「自力更生支援計劃」,鼓勵有能力嘅受 助人自力更生,重過新生活。除咗考慮提高計劃中豁免計算入息嘅最高限額外,仲可以考慮減低扣款嘅金額,要受助人將多出嘅金額存入指定戶口,當受助人有實際 需要時,先至可以提取出來用,以加強計劃嘅鼓勵性。

社交分享

Speech on Motion of Thanks for the Chief Executive’s Policy Address 2013: Population Policy

Hong Kong has always been oblivious to the Population Policy issue, causing various problematic practices in the society. This year’s Policy Address finally took the initiative to raise the population capacity issue, reinforcing that immigration must be managed properly.

This year’s Policy Address has pointed out in the introduction that with limited land resources, Hong Kong must take the capacity problem into account in its population and other related policies. It has also emphasized that immigration must be managed properly to accord priority to developing the potentials of Hong Kong people; and provide more opportunities for young people, women and the elderly to join the workforce to enhance our productivity. The objective is to make the best use of our local talent pool and, when necessary, take in immigrants to make up any shortfall.

Although the Policy Address has not blatantly stated that a Population Policy will be drawn up, its meaning has made this rather obvious. As a matter of fact, the government has clearly indicated that the population issue will be listed as an essential consideration when drawing up policies. I believe the government has taken a correct first step. The next step is to formulate a clear Population Policy, so that when the government establishes education, housing and medical policies, there is an objective and concrete consideration guideline. A simple example would be when the government foresees an increase in the number of children born to non-local parents coming to Hong Kong in the next few years; the various government departments must take these elements into account when formulating policies or service proposals.

One of the problems caused by overlooking the Population Policy is having no restrictions on non-local women giving birth in Hong Kong. Not only does it cause chaos in delivery rooms in Hong Kong hospitals, it also creates huge burdens for various social services in the long run, for example education and housing. According to statistics, the number of children born to non-local parents has reached 220,000. I think that the government should initiate investigations on when these non-local children plan to settle in Hong Kong and form a database, so that various departments can have a clearer grasp of the population change when formulating policies. If nothing is done, these children born to non-local parents will only become a time bomb to the society. In fact, the government has never looked into this issue in the past.

As for immigration management, I have mentioned many times in the past – apart from the issue of children born to non-local parents, we must also face the problem of Mainlanders coming to Hong Kong with the one-way permit. From 1998 to 2011, the number of Mainlanders who came to Hong Kong with the one-way permit has exceeded 660,000, which is 10% of Hong Kong’s total population. Most of them are grassroots citizens. Their reason for coming to Hong Kong is to reunite with family, thus these applications cannot be rejected. However, Hong Kong can do a better job on planning and preparation. For example, the government can provide more targeted employment training or counseling services to prevent another incongruous urban planning like Tin Shui Wai, the “City of Sadness”.

Moreover, I would like to address the poverty issue, which has tormented Hong Kong for many years. The new administration has already established the Commission on Poverty and has listed the formulation of the “poverty line” as its first task. I support the establishment of this Commission and the formulation of the “poverty line” as a criterion to poverty alleviation, so that various poverty alleviation measures can be formulated according to this “poverty line”. I look forward to seeing the poverty alleviation tasks achieving their aims in the future.

One cause of poverty is the aging population in Hong Kong. As stated in the Policy Address, the number of people aged 65 or over will increase from 940,000 to 2.56 million after 30 years. The government must deal with the negative impact of the aging population as soon as possible. I have always believed that the MPF is only the retirement protection system of the employed; its flaw is that it does not provide enough protection for people with low income nor for people who will soon retire. Therefore, the government should formulate a retirement protection system which targets people with low income, so that it can make up for the shortcomings of the MPF and at the same time, relieve the pressure of the aging population.

As for other welfare issues, I believe we must optimize the Support for Self-reliance Scheme under the Comprehensive Social Security Assistance, so as to encourage healthy able-bodied recipients to work to rebuild their lives. Apart from considering an increase in the maximum amount of “Disregarded Earnings”, we can also think about reducing the amount of deductions against assistance payment if recipient finds a job with income. The recipient must deposit the excessive amount into a specific account, so when he/she is in need of financial assistance, the money can be withdrawn. This can strengthen the effectiveness of the Self-reliance Scheme.

Social sharing