就推動廢物循環再造業議案之發言

本港近日為咗擴建堆填區嘅問題而爭論不休,老實講,今時今日我哋仍然被逼用堆填嘅方法去處理垃圾,就係因為香港管理廢物嘅政策同好多其他政策一樣,自從回歸以來一直原地踏步,結果而家社會就嚐盡苦果。我哋成日話要學台灣,但其實台灣以前管理廢物嘅工作比香港落後,甚至會嚟香港吸取經驗,後來台灣下定決心,引入生產者責任制政策,並喺二千年實施廢物按量收費,11年間減廢65%,而家竟然成為香港嘅學習對象。

香港被逼要擴建堆填區,係無辦法之中嘅辦法,亦都警醒我哋,一定要下定決心引入新嘅廢物管理政策,等我哋可以早日減少堆填數量。事實上,環境局早前公佈咗《香港資源循環藍圖2013-2022》,提出推動以「惜物減廢」為主題嘅廢物管理政策,建議喺2022年前,把都市固體廢物人均棄置量,由現時嘅每日1.27公斤減至0.8公斤,同時加入焚化技術處理垃圾,並擴大垃圾回收嘅規模。

政府嘅目標係要喺10年內減廢4成,外界擔心目標訂得太過進取,但過去台灣及南韓都同樣能夠10年內大幅減廢,佢哋做得到,只要我哋決心去做,一樣可以做得到。當然,如果我哋嘅社會仍然只顧鬥爭,唔理社會及經濟嘅改革,任由社會繼續原地踏步,香港遲早都難免會變成臭港!

環境局局長近日透露,政府即將成立一個可持續發展督導委員會,負責研究及推動回收業長遠嘅發展,包括考慮以現時嘅環境及自然保育基金,資助推動回收業嘅發展計劃,長遠更可能成立回收基金,提供經常性補助。我好高興政府有咁嘅決定,政府過去一直任由回收業自生自滅,回收業長期面對經營困難嘅問題,主要因為經營成本高,包括租金貴及人手需求大,而回收到嘅物料,大都只能平價出口外地,喺咁情況下回收業根本難以得到發展。

政府而家終於醒覺,唔再堅持所謂大市場嘅方針,放棄過去唔肯用公帑去補貼私營行業嘅傳統做法。坦白講,要回收業呢啲競爭力咁低嘅行業壯大發展,為我哋社會服務,就一定要政府嘅推動及補貼,否則唔可能有乜嘢成績。況且,政府嘅補貼唔係單單資助回收業,而係補貼全港嘅環保工作,因為回收業係有好重大嘅社會職能,實質上係推動廢物循環再造嘅工作,而且亦都能夠創造大量嘅基層職位,就算每年要投入數以億計嘅資源,政府亦應該去做。我希望委員會能夠早日成立,並盡快定出資助嘅範圍及條件,俾回收業界早日開展工作,政府嘅藍圖就有機會得到落實。

另外,我都想講下廚餘嘅問題。目前,根據環境保護署嘅統計,都市固體廢物中竟然有多達4成係廚餘,情況可謂十分驚人,反映出香港人浪費食物已去到令人震驚嘅地步,而且廚餘係廢物中臭味嘅主要來源,對社會構成好大滋擾,亦構成衛生問題。所以,要減少產生廢物,最快有效嘅方法係鼓勵市民減少浪費食物。政府已經推出「惜食香港」運動,推動香人減少浪費食物,近日有宣傳片喺電視中播出,宣傳片拍得唔錯,令人留下深刻印象,但其他活動嘅宣傳效果只係一般。

我認為,要收到最好嘅效果,應該提升運動嘅層次,邀請政府高層加入督導委員會,並帶頭去宣傳惜食香港嘅訊息,特首及司局長亦可以以身作則,制定官員請客時惜食嘅節約原則,同時引導社會討論惜食背後嘅問題,包括浪費、廢物及衛生等問題。事實上,我認為,應該將「惜食香港」運動及減廢文化嘅資訊,列入學校通識科目之中,希望可以直接向學生教授惜食及減少廢物嘅價值觀,因為宣傳活動只能起短期作用,唯有教育先至可以喺學生心中建立長達嘅價值觀,惜食嘅訊息可以持續下去。

最後,我仲想講下堆填區嘅問題。今次堆填區嘅風波,突顯咗全港性同地區性嘅矛盾,大家都明白擴建堆填區係有實際需要,但各區都希望唔好喺我哋個區擴建。其實,全世界都有類似嘅情況,外國政府通常會為受影響嘅地區提供補償,以緩和市民嘅不滿,我哋都可以考慮為受影響嘅地區提供新建嘅泳池、圖書館,甚至減免居民電費及差餉。我希望,政府可以拿出最大嘅誠意,同居民溝通,並盡量做好補償工作,設法減低實際影響,務求可以緩和地區不滿嘅情緒。

社交分享

Speech on Promoting the waste recycling industry to create employment opportunities

Recently, Hong Kong has been disputing over the landfill extension problem. Until this day, we still have no choice but to use landfill to dispose waste. That is because Hong Kong’s waste management policy is like the many other policies – it has not improved since the Handover, and now the society is suffering from the consequences. We always say that we have to learn from Taiwan. In fact, Taiwan’s waste management methods were once so behind that they had to come to Hong Kong to seek our advice. Later, Taiwan decided to make changes and introduced its Producer Responsibility Scheme. In 2000, it also implemented a quantity-based waste charging system. In eleven years, the amount of waste has decreased by 65%. Ironically Taiwan has now become Hong Kong’s role model.

We have seen Hong Kong being forced to extend the landfill. Alas, that seems to be the only solution to the problem. This lesson warns us that we must introduce a new waste management policy, so that the amount of landfill waste can soon be reduced. Recently, the Environment Bureau unveiled the “Hong Kong: Blueprint for Sustainable Use of Resources 2013-2022” to map out a waste management strategy with the theme “use less, waste less”. They suggest decreasing the daily per capita municipal solid waste disposal rate from 1.27kg to 0.8kg by 2022, while adopting modern incineration technologies and extending the scale of waste recycling to handle waste.

The government aims to reduce waste by 40% in 10 years. Outsiders worry that this goal may be too ambitious, but Taiwan and South Korea have successfully done so within 10 years. If they can do it, with determination, we can do it too. Now having said that, if Hong Kong only focuses on strife and ignores social and economical reforms, our society will not go anywhere. Hong Kong would inevitably become a stinking harbour sooner or later!

The Secretary for the Environment recently told us that the government would soon set up the Sustainable Development Steering Committee. This committee is responsible for researching and promoting the long-term development of the recycling industry. They might consider using the current Environment and Conservation Fund to subsidize the development plans for the recycling industry. In the long run, they might set up a recycling fund to provide regular subsidy. I am very delighted about this decision from the government. In the past, the government left the recycling industry to fend for itself. Recyclers have continuously been facing difficulties to sustain their business. The main reason is the high costs, including high rent and a big demand for manpower. The materials that have been collected can only be exported overseas on a low price. Under these circumstances, it is very difficult for this industry to grow.

The government is finally waking up to the problems. It stopped insisting on its “big market, small government” notion and gave up on its traditional practice of not using public funds to subsidize private sectors. To be honest, for industries with low competitiveness, such as the recycling trade, to grow and serve our society, the government must subsidize them. Otherwise, it is impossible for them to achieve very far. Moreover, the government subsidy is not only sponsoring the recycling industry, but the entire environmental protection of Hong Kong. The recycling industry has a vital social function – it is indeed promoting waste recycling, as well as providing a large number of elementary occupation jobs. Therefore, the government must invest in this industry even if it requires hundreds of millions of dollars worth of resources every year. I hope the steering committee can be set up soon and that they can soon decide on the scope and conditions of subsidies, so that the recycling industry can begin their work as soon as possible. Then, the government’s Blueprint can be accomplished.

Furthermore, I would like to talk about the kitchen waste issue. According to the statistics from the Environmental Protection Department, up to 40% of municipal solid waste is kitchen waste. This figure is alarming. It shows shocking food waste levels of Hong Kong people. The terrible smell in waste comes mostly from kitchen waste. It is a nuisance to the society and causes hygiene problems. Therefore, to reduce waste, the most effective method is to encourage people to stop wasting food. The government has already launched the “Food Wise Hong Kong Campaign” to inspire Hong Kong people to reduce their food waste. A promotional film has been aired on television recently. The video was done quite well, and leaves lasting impression on people. But other publicity campaigns seem to only have average responses.

In my opinion, we should elevate the level of this campaign to achieve the best results. We should invite senior government officials to be part of the steering council, and lead the “Food Wise Hong Kong Campaign” promotion. The Chief Executive and bureau secretaries can set themselves as role models, and draw up food conservation principles when officials invite guests for meals. At the same time, they can lead the society to discuss the issues behind food waste, including squander, garbage and hygiene etc. In fact, the government should include the messages of “Food Wise Hong Kong Campaign” and waste reduction culture as part of liberal studies in schools to teach students directly on the values of appreciating food and reducing waste. Campaign promotion can only have a short-term effect. Only education can build up correct values in the next generation in the long run, so as to pass on the food wise message.

Lastly, I would like to talk about the landfill issues. The landfill dispute has highlighted the conflicts between the whole city and different districts in Hong Kong. Everyone understands the practical needs of landfill extension. But each district hopes that it will not be built in their area. There are similar issues around the world. The government of other countries would usually provide compensation for the areas affected to soothe people’s resentment. We can also consider building new swimming pools or libraries for the affected districts, or even reduce the residents’ electricity fees and government rates. I hope the government can communicate with the residents with sincerity. They should do their best on compensation, and devise a way to minimize the effects of landfills, in order to soothe the displeasure of people in the affected districts.

Social sharing