就減稅議案之發言

我哋今日討論全面減稅還富於民嘅議案,我好同意減稅建議,但我認為減稅除咗還富於民,仲有其他重要嘅目的,就係刺激經濟。早前,我就施政報告提交建議,其中一項重要主張,就係減稅以刺激經濟。

事實上,我一直都支持透過減稅或退稅嘅方式,達到還富於民嘅目的,但要長遠維持低稅嘅政策,政府一定想辦法去擴大收入嘅源頭,以彌補少收嘅稅款,及支付龐大嘅公共開支,否則今年減稅,過兩年又加番,咁嘅減稅根本無意義,亦唔係真正嘅還富於民。

今日有議員提議向企業開刀,呢啲建議等如殺雞取卵,無錯喺短期內政府可以搵到更多收入,但慢慢資金同人才就會流走,大家都知道,我哋嘅競爭對手係成日都想嚟搶走我哋嘅資金同人才,我哋向企業開刀,即等如將會為本港生金蛋嘅鵝,拱手送俾對手。所以,我認為,最好都係我哋去爭取人哋會生金蛋嘅鵝,我哋要提升本港嘅競爭力,吸引國際投資者嚟香港,最簡單直接就係減利得稅。

減稅以刺激經濟,係公共財政中常用嘅手段,目前本港正需要採用呢種手段,去重建本港嘅競爭優勢。本港競爭力逐漸萎縮嘅問題,近期本會已經多次討論過,今日我只想指出,提升整體競爭力係本港最優先要做嘅事,如果我哋故步自封,國際金融中心嘅地位就會好似世界第一貨櫃港嘅地位一樣,遲早都會被人搶走,所以本港需要盡快去提升競爭力。同時,隨著國內經濟改革進一步深化,本港面對嘅競爭會越來越激烈,上海已經成立自由貿易區,有內地傳媒報導,中央可能會喺短期內通過喺廣東省成立另一個自貿區,我哋要爭取進一步同國內合作,將香港嘅生意做大,當然需要多方面嘅配合,其中一定要優化本地嘅營商環境。

另外,本港有減稅嘅需要,但亦都要有能力先至可以減。本港已經累積超過7,000億元嘅財政儲備,再加上巨額嘅外匯基金盈餘,我哋喺坐擁萬多億財產,足以支持我哋推行減稅計劃。由於減稅去刺激經濟,一定需要一段時間先至見效,短期嚟講,稅收減少係無可避免嘅事,所以巨額財政儲備令本港有能力去實施減稅計劃。

有好多人都認為,減利得稅只會益咗大企業,呢啲只係短視嘅睇法,佢哋根本未睇到長遠對社會有幾大得益。我可以講一啲例子,等大家容易啲明白。新加坡近年經濟發展迅速,目前已經有唔少領域超越香港,佢哋嘅成功有好多方面嘅配合,但新加坡政府同有好多分析都認為,佢哋成功刺激起經濟,減稅係一個好重要嘅因素。喺97年,新加坡企業稅嘅稅率高達26%,佢哋先後因為經濟環境嘅變化,分5次削減企業稅稅率,直至目前嘅17%,已經貼近我哋16.5%嘅水平。佢哋大幅減稅,但收入增長亦相當驚人,新加坡同期嘅本地生產總值急速上升,由1,460億坡元升到最近已經超過3,000億坡元,升幅超過一倍,當然新加坡成功有好多原因,減稅只係其中一個原因。我相信,如果我哋肯減利得稅,再加上其他方面嘅配合,本港亦可以因減得加。

事實上,減利得稅係世界嘅大趨勢,好多亞洲、甚至西方國家近年都先後減過企業稅,例如英國08年企業稅高達30%,今年已經減到23%,台灣同新加坡一樣減到17%,我哋低稅率嘅競爭優勢逐漸被人追近,其實早就應該研究相應地下調稅率,以繼續維持本港嘅競爭優勢,可惜我哋無咁樣做。我哋都清楚,過去好多國際企業選舉嚟香港投資,都係睇中本港低稅率嘅優點,如果我哋俾呢個咁重要嘅優點慢慢消失,日後我哋仲可唔可以留住國際投資者,實在好成疑問。

同時,必須一提嘅,就係本港近年住宅及辦公室租金高企,變相要投資者繳交昂貴嘅地稅,加上國際學校學位又不足,早已蠶食梗我哋嘅優勢,減稅正好減輕企業嘅負擔,以挽回本港部份嘅優勢。

此外,有一啲本港嘅例子,亦都證明到減稅可以提升競爭力。本港喺06年取消遺產稅,本港合併資產管理業務由當時管理6萬億嘅資產,上升到去年超過12萬億,令本港逐步成為資產管理中心。另一例子,就係喺08年取消葡萄酒稅,當時一年進口約28億元嘅葡萄酒,上升至去年嘅80億,而香港亦已成為葡萄酒貿易及集散中心。

香港政府正致力推動本港成為專屬自保、同再保險中心,但有關嘅稅務優惠都比新加坡差,希望政府能夠加以檢討,並設法去增強本港嘅競爭力。

我明白到每當講到減稅,特別係利得稅嘅時候,好多人都有疑慮,但其實我哋可以學新加坡摸著石頭過河嘅方法,因應經濟變化而定期作出調整,甚至可以定為三年試驗計劃,到時再做檢討,如果起唔到刺激經濟嘅作用,或者只係益咗企業,我哋再作調整,甚至將計劃取消,咁就可以消除社會嘅疑慮。至於應該減幾多,就要等專家去做精確嘅推算。

今日,我花咗大部份嘅時間解釋香港需要減利得稅嘅因由,但正如之前所講,我同樣支持減薪俸薪,由於社會及本會有較多人支持減薪俸薪,所以我寧願花多啲時間去講利得稅,希望政府及社會都能夠明白到,減利得稅對提升本港嘅競爭力,有好重要嘅作用。

社交分享

Speech on Reducing taxes across the board

Concerning today’s discussion motion on an overall tax cut to restore wealth to Hong Kong people, I very much support this proposal. I think that a tax cut will not only restore wealth to the people, but will also achieve another purpose: stimulating the economy. Earlier, on suggestions on the Policy Address, I made an important proposal, which is to reduce taxes to stimulate the economy.

In fact, I have all along supported reducing taxes and making rebates to restore wealth to the people. However, to maintain a long-term policy of keeping the tax rate low, the Government has to think of ways to broaden the tax base to compensate for the reduced tax monies and to pay for the large public expenditures. Otherwise, if we cut taxes this year then, after two years, increase them again, there is going to be no point and is not a real way of restoring wealth to the people.

Today, some councilors have suggested raising taxes on corporations, which proposal I think is like killing a chicken to get its eggs. It would, in the short term, increase government revenue, but result in a slow siphoning off of investment monies and talent. We all know that our competitors are always on the lookout to wrest our investment funds and talents from us. If we target our tax increases at our corporations, it’s like handing over to our competitors a goose that would hatch golden eggs. Therefore, I think that the best way is for us to fight for others’ such geese. In order to raise the competitiveness of Hong Kong and to attract international investors to Hong Kong, the simplest and most direct method is to cut profits taxes.

Introducing tax cuts to stimulate the economy has been a method employed by public finance authorities often. At present Hong Kong needs to employ this means to rebuild its competitive clout. Recently we have already here in Legco discussed Hong Kong’s shriveling of its competitiveness. What I want to point out now is that our first priority is to raise our city’s overall competitiveness. If we continue to stagnate, our status as an international finance center will repeat the example of the loss of our former status as the first container port in the world. It will be wrested from our hands. Therefore we have to raise our clout in the shortest possible time. Moreover, with the intensification of economic reforms on the mainland, the competition Hong Kong will face is going to intensify. Shanghai has launched the China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone. According to mainland reports, the Central Government is likely to pass a motion to establish Guangdong province as another free-trade zone soon. We should therefore fight for further collaborating with the mainland to increase the pool of Hong Kong businesses. That would entail cooperation from many sides, one of which is to improve the local business environment.

Also, apart from the need to cut taxes in Hong Kong, the question arose as to whether Hong Kong is capable of cutting taxes. Right now, there is more than HK$700 billion fiscal reserve in Hong Kong, as well as our huge Exchange Fund surplus. We have more than HK$10,000 billion financial reserve in our hands, and these funds are enough to enable us to cut our taxes. However, tax-cut measures take time to have their effects. In the short term, a reduction in our tax revenues is inevitable. Therefore, the Government can definitely introduce tax-cut plans with the backing of a huge financial reserve.

Many people are of the opinion that tax cuts will only benefit the large corporations. This is a short-sighted view and ignores the long-term benefits to Hong Kong. An example will clarify matters. Singapore has experienced rapid economic growth in the last few years and has edged out Hong Kong in many areas. Its successes, of course, are due to coordination of many sides. But Singapore government and other analyses indicate that tax reduction played a leading role in their economic growth. In 1997, Singapore’s corporate income tax rate stood at a high of 26%. However, with the changes in its economic environment, it has, on five occasions, reduced its corporate income tax rate. Now it stands at 17%, which is very close to our 16.5%. While Singapore has introduced large tax cuts, its revenue growth is also astounding. Its GDP in that period recorded a rapid rise – from S$146 billion to more than the recent over S$300 billion. In other words, it has doubled. The success of Singapore is due to many factors, one of which is its measure to cut taxes. I believe that if we cut our profits tax and receive coordination from other sides, Hong Kong will stand to benefit, not lose.

In fact, cutting profit taxes has become a worldwide trend. Many Asian and Western countries in recent years have, one after another, reduced its corporation taxes. For example, in 2008 the UK’s corporation tax stood at a high of 30%, which it has cut to 23% this year. Taiwan and Singapore also trimmed their tax to 17%. Our advantage of having a low tax rate is being threatened by others, and we should have earlier trimmed our tax rates to maintain our competitive clout. Instead we didn’t do that. It is clear that so far Hong Kong has attracted investments from many international investors mainly because of our low tax rates. If we “let go of”, albeit slowly, of this advantage, our ability to keep these international investors is called into question.

What is also worth a mention is that in recent years rentals for residential homes and offices have been at a high level. This means that investors have had to pay high taxes on the usage of land. Coupled with a lack of places in international schools, this has eaten away at our clout. Reducing taxes therefore will lessen the burden on corporations and also reclaim our competitiveness.

Moreover, some local examples are sufficient to illustrate the effectiveness of tax cuts in raising our competitiveness. In 2006, we did away with the estate duty. As a result, combined fund-management business jumped from HK$6 trillion then to over HK$12 trillion last year. Hong Kong became, gradually, an asset management center. Another example is that in 2008, Hong Kong abolished wine duty, propelling the value of imported wines from about HK$2.8 billion to last year’s HK$8 billion. In that way, Hong Kong has become a trade and distribution center for wines.

Although the Hong Kong administration has made efforts to promote the territory as an offshore captive insurance and reinsurance center, its relevant tax advantages are worse than those of Singapore. I hope that the Government will review its policies to upgrade Hong Kong’s competitiveness.

I understand that when we mention tax cuts, especially profits-tax cuts, many people have doubts. However, we can follow the example of Singapore by adopting a step-by-step approach. We can adjust our plans in accordance with changes in economic situation. We can even make it a three-year pilot and keep up our reviews. If our plans fail to stimulate the economy, or benefit only the corporations, we can make further adjustments or even cancel our plans to “clear the air.” As to how much we should reduce our taxes, we should leave it to the experts to study and come up with their predictions.
Today, I have spent most of my time explaining why Hong Kong needs to reduce its profits tax. But as I suggested before, I also support salaries-tax cuts. Because the community and more Legco members support salaries-tax cuts, I would rather spend more time talking about profits taxes. I hope the Government and society will understand that cutting profits tax will be very important in raising Hong Kong’s competitiveness.

Social sharing