就環境事務委員會大韓民國廢物管理經驗議案之發言

我係今次訪問團嘅成員,有機會到南韓睇下當地廢物管理嘅情況,實在令人大開眼界,當地唔單止有先進而完善嘅廢物管理模式,重大力發展回收業,並且養成國民環保嘅習慣,呢啲都令人留下深刻印象。但另一方面,南韓成功嘅經驗亦令我聯想到,點解香港呢方面嘅發展會遠遠咁落後於人?

南韓喺廢物管理方面有咁好成績,唔係一朝一夕,過程亦有遇到阻力。南韓喺95年推出四管齊下嘅管理措施,包括減少廢物、推廣商品重用、回收、及轉廢為能,結果佢哋整體廢物棄置率喺幾年之間減低46%。其實,當日南韓嘅政策同本港今日嘅減廢構思,有好多相似嘅地方,所以佢哋嘅經驗好值得我哋去參考。但我認為對本港最有啟發性,係南韓點樣克服社會上嘅阻力,成功推動政策,達到減廢嘅目的,以及大力發展回收業,成為全球都市廢物回收率最高地方之一。

目前,本港發展焚化設施及堆填區等問題時,都遇到好多反對聲音,但原來南韓推動政策之初,一樣遇到唔少阻力,例如居民反對喺同區興建焚化設施,甚至有市政府反對延長區內堆填區嘅運作期。南韓政府最後成功解決問題,往往都係靠官員嘅努力,做好諮詢及游說嘅工作。

我舉一個例子,南韓興建焚化設施,政府喺準備階段已經深入同居民溝通,並邀請輿論領袖參觀海外最先進嘅焚化設施,同時安排專家向區內居民講解。另一方面,焚化設施設計美觀,而且用開放式設計,俾市民睇到運作情況,從而打破對焚化設施嘅負面印象,最後政府更提供經濟誘因,包括為受影響居民支付大廈管理費及暖氣費,又從設施嘅利潤中,撥出部分款項成立居民援助基金,用以改善居住環境。

可以見到,只要政府下定決心,認真同居民傾,想辦法解決居民嘅疑慮,將影響減到最低,並提出合理嘅補償,係可以說服到居民接受。特區政府目前計劃喺石鼓洲建焚化爐,遭長洲居民反對,政府雖然都有同離島區議會傾,但官員明顯需要更佳之遊說技巧。所以政府長遠應該派官員去外國,例如南韓,去學習做地區遊說工作。此外,本港正計劃推動垃圾徵費嘅工作,由於涉及好多技術性或執行上問題,而我哋無相關嘅經驗,亦都應派出官員去南韓或台灣實地學習。

順帶一提,南韓採用嘅焚化設施十分先進,已可以徹底處理焚化爐排放嘅廢氣,證實對環境影響極微,將來本港引入類似或更先進嘅焚化設施,相信社會亦會較為放心。另外,南韓將焚化垃圾視為轉廢為能,係極為正面嘅睇法,將垃圾變成能源,而且當區居民亦可享受到生產出嘅能源,我相信呢啲都好值得學習。
另一個值得學習嘅地方,就係發展回收業嘅工作。目前,南韓廢物回收率係全球最高之一,首爾嘅都市廢物中,63%經循環再用,25%被焚化,12%送往堆填區,呢啲數字正好反映出南韓回收業嘅興旺。南韓政府大力推動回收業嘅發展,除咗向小型回收公司提供長期低息貸款,協助開發回收設施和技術,仲會為新公司提供專業諮詢服務。南韓政府最近更決定,為咗減少使用堆填區,會加快發展回收業,當地民間團體更希望可以推動回收率上升至80%。

反觀香港,廢物回收率雖然已上升到48%,但仍有52%廢物要送去堆填。目前,特區政府亦正推動回收業發展,例如設立環保園、向回收商提供短期嘅租用地、推廣廢物源頭分類等措施,但總係令人感到政府唔夠積極,措施亦未見有好大成效。如果我哋要達到政府嘅目標,即係要喺2022年將廢物回收率提升到55%,就應該參考南韓嘅做法,用更主動及積極嘅方法,直接扶助回收業發展,提供資源及技術嘅協助。

南韓有咁多值得學習嘅地方,但原來亦有啲優勢,我哋係學唔倒,就係南韓國民嘅團結同愛國,佢哋願意為國家而付出,所以即使減廢會為市民帶嚟幾多麻煩,為咗國家佢哋仍願意去做,政府亦會較容易說服市民。相反,香港社會近年內耗不斷,政府推動政策難免事倍功半,但我希望將來喺減廢嘅工作中,大家可以更加團結,為美好嘅環境一同努力。

社交分享

Speech on Report of the Delegation of the Panel on Environmental Affairs on its duty visit to the Republic of Korea to study its experience on waste management

I travelled with the LegCo delegation to Republic of Korea to study waste management. It was an eye-opening trip. Korea is not only advanced in waste management system but also in development of recycle industry. Koreans also get used to environmental protection. All these are impressive. Our apathetic development is in contrast to their achievements. Why do we lag behind?

Rome is not built in one day. Korea has travelled a long way and overcome much resistance to attain such impressive results. It all began in 1995 with four-prong measures, including waste reduction, re-utilization recycle and re-generation. Total waste disposals had been reduced by 46% within a few years. Actually, these policies are similar to our proposals on waste reduction recently. Their experiences are lessons for us to learn. However, what are most inspiring are ways in which Koreans have overcome social resistance in the course of implementation to attain their goals and have developed the waste recycle industry to rank among top cities in the recycle rate.

Hong Kong is meeting strong oppositions against incinerators and landfills. Actually, Korea did face the same resistance at the outset. People were against local incinerators. Even Metropolitan Authorities were against extending local landfills. These resistances were finally resolved with unfailing efforts of local consultation and lobbying.

Let me illustrate with incinerators. At the planning stage, Korean Government already started dialogues with local residents. Community leaders were invited to visit advanced facilities overseas. Experts were engaged to make presentations. Seeing believes. On the other hand, modern façade and open design were adopted to help remove negative impressions on facilities. Lastly, financial incentives are offered, including payment of management fee and heating fee. Moreover, money is set aside from operating surplus as community assistance fund for improvement of living environment.

Apparently, all we need is determination of the Government to talk to people, find ways to address their concerns, minimize impacts and offer reasonable compensation to convince the local community. Cheung Chau residents are opposing the incinerator under planning at Shek Kwu Chau. Although the Government has talked to Island District Council, better lobbying is obviously needed. As longer term planning, the Government should send officers overseas to study local lobbying in places like Korea. Moreover, we are planning to introduce garbage charges. There are technical and practical complexities but we lack field experiences. Officers should also be sent to Korea and Taiwan on field studies.

Incidentally, advanced incinerator facilities installed in Korea are proven to have insignificant environmental impacts. They are capable of completely treating exhaust for safe discharge. If similar or even more advanced facilities are introduced in Hong Kong, the community would be more receptive. On the other hand, incineration is regarded as turning waste into energy in Korea. It is positive thinking. When waste is turned into energy, local residents would also benefit. In my view, these experiences deserve borrowing.

Another lesson to learn is the recycle industry. Currently, Korea ranks top in the world league of recycle rate. In Seoul, 63 percent of metropolitan wastes are recycled, 25 percent are burnt and only 12 percent are sent to landfills. These statistics reflects a booming recycle industry in Korea under advocate of the Government. Apart from long term low interest loans to small companies and assistance in technological development and facilities, professional consultancy is also offered to newcomers. Lately, Korea has decided to further reduce landfills through acceleration of recycling. Local NGO are expecting the recycle rate to go up to 80 percent.

Back in Hong Kong, waste recycle rate has increased to 48 percent but the other 52 percent are still sent to landfills. Currently, the SAR Government is also promoting the recycle industry with policy measures like Eco Park, short term land lease to operators, and waste separation at source. Yet, the Government is not impressive in attitude and measures are not effective in results. If it is the goal of the Government to lift recycle rate to 55 percent by 2022, the Korean experiences are worth borrowing. More active and positive means of supporting the recycle industry, including resource and technical assistances, should be considered.

Admittedly, Hong Kong might borrow a lot from Korea but there are also advantages that we would only envy, like unity and patriotism of the people. Koreans are willing to give to their country. Even though waste reduction is tedious, people are still willing to follow and the Government has an easier job to convince the public. In the contrary, Hong Kong lacks consensus in recent years and the Government has to spend twice as much efforts to push ahead new policies. It is my wish that the community would stand side by side to work for a better environment.

Social sharing