就捍衛編輯採訪獨立自主之發言

 

香港係一個高度自由嘅社會,香港人都支持新聞自由,大家對傳媒一直都好支持。不過,近日出現唔少有關傳媒嘅負面新聞,包括明報總編輯嘅調任風波、及傳媒公信力創回歸後新低等,令人關注到傳媒長遠嘅發展。立法會今日討論傳媒嘅問題,我認為,傳媒公信力問題好值得社會反思。

 

近日,中大新聞與傳播學院發表咗新聞傳媒公信力調查,發現香港港傳媒整體公信力下跌至97年以來嘅新低,負責調查嘅學者認為,今次顯示出市民對新聞界嘅表現感到不滿意,而公信力下降嘅原因,就與傳媒嘅表現有關,由於有部份傳媒嘅報道及評論,未做到中肯持平,例如有傳媒用煽情嘅報道手法、或者政治立場有偏頗等等,同時報導內容亦不時出錯。

 

另外,港大民意研究計劃去年十月亦做咗一項調查,當時因為受到免費電視牌照風波嘅影響,市民對傳媒整體表現及新聞自由嘅評價都同時下降,但仍有53%嘅受訪市民對本港新聞自由表示滿意,不滿只有28%。調查又顯示,有53%嘅受訪者認為傳媒有誤用或濫用新聞自由嘅情況。

 

事實上,傳媒公信力創新低,雖然同新聞自由唔可能完全無關,但從上述嘅調查及實際嘅現象嚟睇,公信力下降同傳媒嘅表現有更加直接嘅關係。

 

長期以來,有部份傳媒唔重視新聞客觀公正嘅原則,以嘩眾取寵或惡意謾罵嘅方式去報導新聞,新聞取材完全唔理中立及平衡,或者用纏擾不法嘅方式去達到採訪目的。此外,亦有部份節目主持人喺主持節目時,用有佢講無人講、甚至惡意攻擊嘅方式去主持,令到節目失去中立及平衡。傳媒呢啲處理新聞嘅手法,或者可以理解到點解市民對傳媒嘅評分會不斷下跌。

 

我聽過唔少朋友講,呢啲吵吵鬧鬧嘅報導或聲音,起初可能會覺得好得意,但聽聽下就會感染到呢啲負面情緒,會覺得自己最重要,乜都係自己啱晒,全部都係其他人嘅錯、政府嘅錯、社會嘅錯,心情就會越來越差,更變成只喺會用批評及謾罵嘅態度,去對家人或者身邊嘅朋友。所以,好多人最後都選擇唔再聽唔再睇呢啲訊息。

 

今日議會上,有好多議員都講到新聞自由嘅問題,但大家可能無留意到,新聞自由有一個孖生兄弟,就叫做新聞操守,或許叫新聞道德。有新聞自由就一定有新聞操守,由新聞操守去約制新聞自由,如果只係講自由唔講操守,自由無限擴大,一旦被存心不良嘅人利用,好容易就會變成一個惡魔。新聞自由係社會公器,係堅守新聞道德嘅傳媒工作者手中嘅利器,而絕對唔係一啲無操守嘅人嘅保護罩。

 

當然,我上面所講只係部份傳媒,我所認識嘅傳媒朋友,大都敬業樂業,不但會用專業而嚴謹嘅態度去處理新聞,而且維護新聞自由之同時,更會謹守新聞操守,值得我哋繼續去支持。事實上,傳媒朋友工作時間長,但收入卻不成正比,而且近年新媒體發展迅速,傳統媒體營運會越來越困難,實在有需要得到社會更多嘅關注。

 

最後,我都想講下明報事件。我當然支持新聞自由,作為訂閱咗明報接近40年嘅讀者,我好希望明報可以繼續堅持過去多年沿用嘅編輯方針,包括平衡、中肯及全面嘅報導,例如既要報導批評政府嘅消息,亦要報導政府施政困難嘅地方,俾讀者全面掌握實際情況,我認為呢啲先至係明報過去引以為傲嘅傳統價值觀。事實上,明報讀者比較多係持平嘅中產階級,佢哋希望接收到嘅係全面、唔係側埋一面嘅訊息。

 

今次明報有好多編採人員企出來表達立場,顯示出佢哋真係有擔心,但我想指出,報紙一方面係以商業原則營運,另一方面又肩負社會責任,所以喺營運嘅角度睇,老闆任免傳媒高層人員係無可厚非嘅事,大家要關注嘅,應該係被委任嘅人日後可唔可以履行到社會賦予嘅責任,如果做唔到,就有理由去批評,總唔可以事件未發生就先定罪。況且,如果老闆作出錯誤決定,讀者自然會離棄,老闆自然亦要改變。所以,我認為現階段去判斷事件,實在言之尚早。

社交分享

Speech on Safeguarding Editorial Independence and Autonomy

Hong Kong is a free society. People have been supportive to freedom of press and the media. Unfortunately, there is too much negative news on the media recently including replacement of Chief Editor of Ming Pao Daily and record low in rating of creditability since reunification. Thus, its long term development is a cause for concern. Today’s Motion is about the media and, in my view media credibility deserves critical review.
Not long ago, School of Journalism and Communications of The Chinese University of Hong Kong published findings of a survey on media creditability. Overall rating fell to record low since 1997. Researchers commented that the decline reflected performance. Certain media are not impartial in reports and commentaries. For instance, some use sensational approach; some are politically biased. Moreover, misreporting occurs from time to time.
Incidentally, Public Opinions Program of The University of Hong Kong also conducted a survey last October. Despite impacts of the incident of new free terrestrial television license, 53 percent of respondents were still positive on press freedom in Hong Kong. Only 28 percent were dissatisfied. The survey also found 53 percent of respondents considered that the media did either misuse or abuse press freedom.
In fact, media creditability falling to record low does not necessarily relate to press freedom. However, findings of these surveys and realities show that the decline is more related to media performance.
For years, some members of the media have not been serious about the principle of impartiality. They are fond of exaggerated or cynical reporting. They lack objectivity and neutrality in editing. They may even use disturbing or illegitimate means to gather information. Moreover, some programs hosts turn dialogue into monologue, and some are even hostile in attitude. Thus, these programs would lose impartiality and neutrality. In light of these unscrupulous reporting, falling rating in media public polls is understandable.
Many friends of mine tell me that they found such reporting, in print and voice, noisy but interesting at the outset. However, one would be affected by repeatedly negative sentiments and become self-centered. Apart from oneself, all others are wrong, the government and society alike. One might become critical or hostile to family and friends. Therefore, many people now simply choose to see no “evil” and hear no “evil”.
Many learned colleagues speak on freedom of the press today. However, not many realize that freedom is only one of the twins. The other is called ethics or moral of the press. Where there is press freedom, there must be also ethics to check freedom. If only press freedom is upheld in isolation, then sky would be the limit. Once there were malpractices, the media would turn themselves into demon. Press freedom is public tool. It is a sharp weapon in the hand of ethical journalists, but never a shield to protect those who are unethical.
Of course, the latter is only the minority. Most media workers that I know are dedicated. They are not only professional and resolute in reporting but also conscious of ethics. They deserve our support. Actually, they are long in working hours but disproportionately low in income. Moreover, new media are emerging to threaten traditional media. Thus, the media and their workers deserve more attention of society.
Let me close with remarks on the Ming Pao incident. Of course, I support freedom of the press. As Ming Pao reader for almost 40 years, I wish its established editorial principles, including balanced, full and neutral reporting might persist. For instance, criticisms on the Government should be reported; so are difficulties facing the Government. As such, readers would get a full picture of the incident. In my view, this is precisely the traditional value that Ming Pao is supposed to be proud of. In fact, the majority of Ming Pao readers are middle class, who are rational and unbiased. They are looking for uncensored reports rather than sanitized reports.
At this juncture, many editorial and reporting staffs have come forward, and their stance shows that concerns are genuine. That said, may I remind that daily newspaper is still a business concern. It operates on commercial principles, but it also has social responsibilities. From business viewpoint, the boss has every right to appoint senior staff of the media. Any public concern should be confined to whether the successor is capable of delivering social responsibilities so accorded. If he lets people down, the public would have good cause to criticize. If guilty verdict were handed down before any offence is ever committed, however, it wouldn’t make sense, would it? After all, if the boss were wrong, readers would turn their back and he would be compelled to rectify. Thus, in my view, it is too early to jump to any conclusion.

Social sharing