致謝議案 – 經濟發展

今年嘅施政報告針對民生問題,包括喺安老、扶貧、青年及土地供應等問題上,提出好多好實在嘅建議,例如低收入家庭補貼、關愛基金多個項目恒常化等等,呢啲建議的確可以幫到唔少有需要嘅人士,我個人十分支持。

不過,我同時亦感到憂慮,呢一系列嘅建議,將會令政府經常性開支每年增加200億,每年嘅開支要大幅增加,理論上我哋應該想辦法賺多啲錢,用以應付開支,但施政報告無同時推出發展經濟嘅建議。老實講,本港目前競爭力已出現下滑嘅跡象,而家經常開支大幅增加,但經常收入就未見有大幅增長,喺咁嘅情況下,本港嘅前景就難免令人憂慮。

我哋經常批評政府為守財奴,就係由港英年代起,政府一直維持審慎理財、大市場小政府等等原則,不會隨便大幅增加經常性嘅開支,擔心一開咗頭,每年都要繼續使落去,再唔可以返轉頭,政府有錢都寧願用一次性嘅措施,去做所謂派糖嘅紓解民困措施。所以,過去政府只可以不斷派糖,而對扶貧助弱嘅工作就一直都無真正成績。

現屆政府終於肯用有為嘅心態,大幅增加經常性開支,去落實扶貧助弱嘅工作,顯示出政府改善民生嘅決心。睇返咁多項建議,例如低收入家庭補貼及其他多項措施,的確可以持續咁幫到低收入家庭,而增加醫療券金額、擴大長者搭車優惠等等,長者都會好受惠,呢啲都係立法會一直想爭取嘅措施,我相信社會上大部人都會支持。當然,社會上亦有好多意見認為,施政報告無重視中產人士嘅訴求,有好多中產人士失望,但大家唔好忘記,財政預算案即將在月底公佈,大家都寄望財爺有措施可以紓解中產人士嘅壓力。

講到對財爺嘅期望,我同時期望預算案有發展經濟嘅具體措施,以配合施政報告開支嘅計劃,作為特區完整一套嘅施政方針。政府已經放棄守財奴式嘅理財原則,亦應可以放棄過去不干預市場嘅原則,全身投入去推動經濟發展。

過去一年,已經有多項數據顯示,本港多方面嘅競爭力都出現不進則退嘅情況,社會仍然倚重金融業,其實一直都係食老本,但最令人擔心就係連金融業嘅優勢亦不斷減退之中。近日有學者推算,如果按目前開支增長嘅速度計算,本港將在2030年用盡儲備。當然,呢啲只係簡單嘅數學推算,現實中唔一定出現,但係就可以提醒大家,食老本最終只會坐食山崩,更何況本港將要面對人口老化嘅問題。既然我哋要扶貧助弱,就一定要同時大力推動經濟發展,為香港社會搵更多嘅錢,去支持我哋嘅工作。

至於點樣去發展經濟? 上屆政府提出發展六大產業,我係衷心支持,可惜政府堅持不干預政策,結果做嚟做去都無成績。大家要知道,六大產業未必可以為香港搵到好多錢,但就可以製造大量工作機會俾青年人,而且改善目前產業結構不平衡嘅情況,所以係值得做,希望政府可以用大有為嘅態度,重新整理及推動六大產業發展。另一方面,我認為,我哋應該參考新加坡嘅經驗,以新思維推動總部經濟嘅發展,吸納更多國際企業來港投資,呢方面我已經講過多次,今日唔再重覆。

同樣,金融業亦好需要增強基礎,金融發展局已經完成一系列嘅研究報告,就多個範疇提出具體意見,大部份嘅建議對業界都好有幫助,部份更提出長遠發展方向,我希望政府可以盡快落實各項建議。此外,上海已經成立自由貿易區,而廣東亦正籌備成立另一自貿區,有好多分析指出,國內嘅自貿區將會同本港構成直接嘅競爭,既然競爭難免,我哋都好應該主動出擊,分享發展嘅成果,所以我希望政府可以主動尋求同自貿區嘅合作機會,等本港商界能夠參與自貿區嘅發展。

總而言之,我認為今次係一次契機,俾政府及社會睇清楚香港目前面對嘅難題,從而下決心去作出改變。

另外,我都想趁今日嘅機會,講下保險業嘅問題。施政報告今年無提出有關保險嘅新建議,喺施政綱領中亦只係提到成立保監局及保單持有人保障基金嘅進展,但其實保險仍有唔少問題需要我哋關注。

目前,保險欺詐嘅問題依然嚴重,單係喺勞工保險上,過去10年蝕咗26億元,而單單去年亦都蝕咗6億元,詐騙活動係導致虧損嘅主要因素。上一屆立法會中,我哋成立咗運輸業保險事宜聯合小組委員會,專門研究打擊相關嘅保險詐騙活動,當時政府同警方反應尚算正面,警方更即時成立舉報詐騙活動嘅渠道。但好可惜,小組委員會喺前年完成報告,並提出多項有用嘅建議,例如打擊欺騙病假紙嘅問題,但政府一直都無回應,令到詐騙活動仍然持續發生。保險業界會繼續跟進有關問題,並希望政府能夠認真處理有關嘅欺詐活動。

至於保單持有人保障基金嘅問題,政府正在草擬法例之中,保險業界仍對部份細節有所擔心,包括清盤保險公司保單失效嘅期限。由於清盤嘅公司一般都有唔少問題,佢哋嘅承保方法亦好可能有問題,如果長時間要基金負起有關保單嘅法律責任,有可能有好大嘅潛在風險。所以,業界希望只承擔清盤公司嘅保單短時間,例如一個月,讓投保人可另購保險。至於徵費嘅問題,由於政府建議採用漸進式徵費模式,基金喺有需要時會增加徵費額,業界希望法例能明確訂出徵費嘅上限,最好少於百份之零點五,以消除業界嘅不明朗因素。

政府計劃喺今年內,提出成立獨立保險業監管局嘅法案,政府已經承諾會在保監局董事會及有關嘅委員會上,委任更多業界人士參與,以增加其代表性,保險業界會繼續跟進,並會繼續就過渡問題上,同政府溝通。另外,醫保計劃亦都係保險業界嘅重點,我會喺第三節嘅時間上作出討論。

社交分享

Speech on Motion of Thanks – Economic Development

This year’s Policy Address focuses on livelihood covering issues like caring for the elderly, helping the poor, nurturing the young and increasing land supply etc. There are many concrete proposals, like low-income family allowance, regularization of Community Care Fund programmes, etc. They would definitely help the needy, and I fully support.

That said I am concerned that these proposals would add $20 billion to recurrent expenditure a year. Conceptually, increased expenses should be met by increased revenue. Unfortunately, the Policy Address does not hint on economic development. Frankly, it is evident that our competitiveness is slipping. If substantial rise in recurrent expenditure were not covered by increase in revenue, our economic outlook would be a cause for concern.

We often criticize the Government as miser. In fact, the Government has been always prudent in public finance even before unification and subscribing to the doctrine of “big market and small government”. It has been cautious in raising recurrent expenditure simply because once introduced there is almost no way out. Thus, the Government would rather choose one-off relief measures or so-called “sweeteners” in case of fiscal surplus. This explains why “sweeteners” have been repetitive but supports for the disadvantaged have been selective.

This Administration has taken more positive stance, eventually, and increases recurrent expenditure to alleviate poverty and support for the disadvantaged. It reflects the determination to improve livelihood. Among various proposals, low-income family allowance and other welfare, for instance, would be sustaining benefits to recipients. Raising the value of health care voucher and extending concessionary fare in public transport, etc would benefit the elderly. As these are measures that the Legislature has been striving for, I am sure they are supported by the community. Meanwhile, the middle-class might be disappointed for being neglected on this occasion. However, the forthcoming Budget is due to release toward the end of this month. We are looking forward to specific measures that would address and relieve financial stress of the middle-class.

On specific expectations on the Financial Secretary, I am also looking forward to concrete measures in the Budget on economic development to complement expenditure proposals in the Policy Address. Thus, the SAR Government would achieve coherent policies. As the Government has changed course from “miser” principle in public finance, the legacy doctrine of non-interventionism in economic development should also become redundant and give way to more proactive policies.

Economic figures for the past year have sounded alarm that competitiveness is stagnant in many areas. We are still heavily reliant on financial sector, a legacy industry. However, the real cause for concern is erosion of its comparative advantages. Scholars have cautioned that if the current rate of increase in public expenditure persisted, fiscal reserve would be depleted by 2030. Of course, this is theoretical using simple arithmetic and would never happen in reality. That said it is a warning that reserves would be exhausted one day if not replenished. Above all, Hong Kong is facing the problem of aging population. If it is our choice to give more help to the need, we must also work harder to grow the economy and to earn more in support of our social work.
The next question is how. The past Administration has identified six pillar industries for development and I have fully supported. Unfortunately, the Government then insisted on non-interventionism and progress was unimpressive. We all realize that these six industries do not necessarily generate substantial income but they would offer considerable opportunities to young people and rebalance structure of the economy. They should be followed up and pursued. I wish the Government would take a more positive attitude in revamping and developing them. On the other hand, I would suggest borrowing experience of Singapore and pursue headquarters economics with new thinking to attract investments from international enterprises. I have spoken on many occasions and shall not repeat.

Meanwhile, foundation of the financial sector should be reinforced. Financial Services Development Council has submitted its first set of reports on the way forward with concrete proposals on many areas. Most proposals are useful to the financial sector, including future positioning for some, and I wish that they would be realized early. Moreover, Shanghai has established a free trade zone (FTZ) and Guangdong is prepared to follow. Analysts are saying that FTZ on the Mainland would compete directly with Hong Kong. Under such circumstances, we should play an active role and share their benefits. Thus, I ask the Government to take the lead and seek cooperation with FTZ for involvement of our businessmen in development.
In a nutshell, this is an opportunity, in my view, for both the Government and the community to take a closer look of our challenges ahead and they would endeavor to change.

I would also like to speak on the insurance industry today. The Policy Address does not have new proposals on insurance. There are merely progress reports on the establishment of Independent Insurance Authority and Policyholders Protection Fund in the Policy Agenda. In fact, the insurance industry is still facing problems that deserve public attention.

Insurance fraud is still serious. For the past 10 years, employee compensation insurance has suffered total loss of $2.6 billion. The loss for the previous year alone amounted to $600 million. Fraud is a major factor of loss. In the previous term of the Legislature, the Joint Subcommittee on Issues Relating to Insurance Coverage for the Transport Sector was formed to study ways of fighting insurance fraud. Both the Government and Police then were reactive. The Police even set up a separate channel for reporting frauds. The Panel submitted its report in 2012 with many constructive recommendations like actions against the abuse of sick leave certificates. Unfortunately, the Government is yet to respond but frauds persist. The insurance industry would continue to follow up these matters as usual but the Government should take serious actions against such crimes.

On policyholders’ protection fund, the Bill is being drafted. Our industry still has reservations on certain provisions, including proposed time bar of outstanding policies issued by underwriters under liquidation. Understandably, those companies are problematic in management as well as underwriting. The potential risk would be too large for the compensation fund to take over their legal responsibilities for a prolonged period of time. Our view is that such contingency undertaking should be limited to, say, one month simply to facilitate affected policyholders making alternative arrangements. On the levy, the Government proposes to adopt a progressive model with additional calls in case of contingency. Our view is that a ceiling rate should be written into the law, preferably less than 0.5% for the purpose of definition.

The Independent Insurance Authority Bill would be tabled later in this session. The Government has undertaken to increase representation of practitioners in both governing body and committees of the new Authority. Our industry would follow up and continue our dialogue with the Government on transitional arrangements. Health Protection Scheme is also our concern. I shall defer discussion till the third part of this debate.

Social sharing