就評估’體育普及化、精英化、盛事化’政策的成效,制訂長遠體育政策議案之發言

本港一直都無具體體育嘅政策,令到體育嘅發展停滯不前。事實上,運動除了對參與者身心有好大得益,對社會亦有好大益處,但自從回歸以嚟,政府一直忙於處理經濟及政治上嘅危機,對一啲需要長遠發展嘅政策,包括體育政策,一直無時間兼顧,政府當年提出嘅“體育普及化、精英化、盛事化”,令人懷疑已經淪為一句口號。

我係跑步愛好者,我可以同大家講,運動不但能夠強化體能、促進健康,而且仲會令人心情舒暢,生活倍感愉快,更加激發起人嘅上進心,所以我一直都支持推動運動發展,鼓勵市民一齊做運動,而呢方面一定要政府長遠嘅推動。簡單嚟講,體育最基本嘅功能,係令市民身心健康,從而減少公共醫療嘅開支。

不過,體育嘅好處遠遠唔止咁少,對整個社會嘅穩定和諧,亦都有好大貢獻。英國以至整個歐洲,足球運動蓬勃發展,已經成為一種社會文化,市民工餘時間都寄情於比賽之中,除咗成為市民嘅生活興趣,更加令社區及全國團結,大大減低社會嘅不滿情緒,而且喺家庭中各個成員亦容易有共同話題及信念,增加咗家庭嘅凝聚力。大家喺電視上都會見到,每當有大賽舉行時,當地嘅支持者都全情投入,市民心靈有寄託,對社會嘅滿意度亦會提昇,社會嘅衝突自然會減少,所以運動已經成為國家穩定嘅重要機制。

老實講,香港都好需要一個類似嘅穩定機制。本港係一個經濟發展成熟嘅體系,年青人上游嘅機會不多,大多唔能夠喺工作上得到滿足感及成就感,因此佢哋需要喺生活上尋找個人興趣,俾佢哋心靈上有寄託,運動係最好嘅方法,無論係佢哋自己做運動,或者欣賞運動比賽,都可以為佢哋帶嚟無窮樂趣,同時又可以平衡一下工作上遇到嘅壓力。我曾經喺德國公司工作,德國青年人其實都面對類似問題,德國政府會鼓勵青年人喺文化上嘅發展,以提昇人生嘅樂趣,體育項目係其中一個重點。所以,體育同整體嘅社會政策息息相關,外國政府都好重視體育政策,特區政府應該吸取外國經驗,認真去制定長遠體育政策。

至於要點樣推動體育發展,今日原議案提出好多有用建議,值得政府去研究。我個人相信,我哋應先從運動普及化入手,最好仍然係由學校做起,因為學生係最經常做運動嘅群體,好多熱愛運動嘅人,都係由學生年代培養出嚟,政府應該鼓勵學校重視體育科嘅發展,多教授運動知識給學生,以及培養學生對運動嘅興趣,亦可以舉辦多啲校內或校際比賽,俾不同水平嘅學生都有參加嘅機會。

同時,喺社區上,政府應提供更多價廉物美嘅運動設施,否則市民好想做運動,無場地亦都係無用,而社區亦可以多搞比賽活動,或贊助市民組織成參賽隊伍。另外,運動亦可以作為潮流時尚活動,例如近年興起單車熱潮,呢啲活動好值得政府加以推廣,政府亦正興建大型單車徑,以配合呢個新趨勢。

至於精英化及盛事化,由於本港缺乏職業性嘅運動比賽,即使有,水平都唔算高,不利培養專業嘅運動員。我曾建議過,政府應協助本地嘅足球、籃球及排球等球隊,參加國內嘅職業聯賽,一方面提昇本地運動員嘅水準,同時亦吸引本港市民欣賞球賽,及支持本港球隊,更可以加強本港與國內不同省市嘅交流。當然,要達到理想效果,一定會困難重重,有好多技術上、資金上嘅問題要解決,同時亦面對內地聯賽不時出現嘅負面新聞,甚至會有好多爭議,但我仍然認為,係值得政府去研究,因為如果本港成功打造出一兩支勁旅,可以在國內嘅職業聯賽爭標,一定吸引到大量港人支持,亦可以成功推動到相關運動嘅發展。

最後,議案提倡發展與體育相關嘅產業,包括運動保險,為運動員及青年人提供多元化嘅就業出路,並鼓勵商界贊助體育活動。我作為保險業界嘅代表,當然歡迎有關建議,亦同意有需要發展體育相關嘅保險產品,但大前提係市場嘅需求要有一定嘅規模,否則根本唔可以長遠維持落去。我相信,其他同體育相關嘅產業,都會有同樣問題,所以政府應先有長遠嘅體育政策,大力推動運動發展,當社會有更多人喜歡運動時,相關嘅產業發展自然會水到渠成。

社交分享

Speech on Motion on Evaluating the effectiveness of the policy on ‘promoting sports in the community, supporting elite sports and developing Hong Kong into a prime destination for hosting major international sports events’ and formulating a long-term sports policy

Hong Kong has never had a concrete sports policy, thus stalling the city’s sports development. In fact, not only do sports benefit the participants, it is also hugely beneficial to the society. However, since the Handover, the government has been busy focusing on economic and political crises. As a result, they have had no time for areas that require long-term policies, such as sports policy. The government has presumably forgotten about their then proposal – “Promoting sports in the community, supporting elite sports, and developing Hong Kong into a prime destination for hosting major international sports events”. All that seems to be left are empty slogans.
I love running. And I can tell everyone, not only does exercising enhance our physical health, it also comforts our minds. Exercising makes us feel happy with our lives and thus boosts our ambition. Therefore, I always support the development of sports and encourage citizens to take up sports and become physically active. But sports developments must require the long-term promotion from the government. To put it simply, the most fundamental function of sports is to maintain citizens’ good mental and physical health, and thus reduces public health expenditure.
The benefits of sports go far beyond that. It contributes immensely to the stability and peace of a society. From the United Kingdom to the entire continental Europe, the flourishing development of football has become a social culture. Citizens enjoy football matches for leisure. Not only has football become a hobby for the British, it has united the community and the whole nation, thus largely decreasing any discontentment. In families, every member has a common topic and belief; this increases a family’s cohesion. As we see on television, whenever there is a big match, local supporters really get so excited. When citizens have spiritual sustenance, their satisfaction towards the society will elevate. Societal conflicts will naturally decrease; therefore, sports are undoubtedly an important mechanism to national stability.
Frankly, Hong Kong really needs a similar stability mechanism. This city is an economically well-developed setup. Not many opportunities are offered for young people to climb up the social ladder; many of them cannot find satisfaction and a sense of accomplishment at work. Therefore, they need a hobby in life to meet spiritual needs. Sports are the best solution. Whether they participate in sports themselves or watch a game, it can bring them endless joy. At the same time, it releases their stress at work. I once worked in a German company. The German youth faces similar problems. To help them, their government encourages young people to cultivate themselves culturally to bring more joy to their lives. Sports are a focal point. Therefore, sports and the entire society policy go hand in hand. Governments overseas very much value sports policy; the SAR government should learn from their experiences and strive to develop a long-term sports policy.
As to how to promote sports development, today’s original motion has made many useful suggestions worth for the government to look into. I personally believe that we should first popularise sports. The best is to start from schools, because students are the groups who exercise the most. Many sports lovers grew up to love sports during their student years. The government should encourage schools to value physical education development; pass on sports knowledge to students and to cultivate their interest in sports. Schools should organize more intra- and inter-schools competitions for students of different levels to participate.
At the same time, the government should provide more cheerful sports facilities that charge heavily subsidized fees. Otherwise even when citizens want to exercise, they do not have a place to do so. Communities can also host more competitions or sponsor residents to form competition teams. Moreover, sports can be a trendy event. For example, biking is becoming increasingly popular in the recent years. These events are worth the government’s promotion. The government is currently building large cycling tracks to match up with this trend.
As for supporting elite sports and hosting international sports events, because Hong Kong lacks professional sports competitions, it is unfavourable when it comes to cultivating professional sportspeople. I have suggested that the government should assist local football, basketball and volleyball teams to join in professional leagues in the Mainland. It can upgrade the local athletes’ standards, while it attracts local citizens to watch the matches and support local teams. This can strengthen Hong Kong’s relationship with different provinces in the Mainland. To achieve the desired outcome, barriers are inevitable. There will be lots of technical and financial issues, as well as scandals that may arise during leagues in the Mainland. This might even lead to controversies. But I still believe that this is worth for the government to look into. If Hong Kong can build one or two strong football teams which win leagues in the Mainland, it will surely attract a lot of support from Hong Kongers. This will lead to successful football development.
Lastly, the motion suggests the development of sports-related industries, including sports insurance, to provide diversified career paths for athletes and youth, and encourage the business sector to sponsor sports events. I, as an insurance industry representative, certainly welcome this recommendation and agree that there is a need to expand sports-related insurance products. But the demand must reach a certain scale, otherwise the trade cannot sustain. I believe that any other sports-related industries will face the same problem. Therefore, the government must first come up with a long-term sports policy to greatly promote sports development. When there are more sports lovers in the society, the sports-related industries will naturally see fruitful results.

Social sharing