就捍衞學術自由議案之發言

近日有人公開質疑港大民意研究計劃總監鍾庭耀所做嘅民調,係咪有唔妥善嘅地方,一時間引起社會熱烈討論。我對民調研究方法無深入嘅認識,但近日睇咗各方面嘅爭議,相信好多市民同我一樣,心裡面有好多疑問,希望相關嘅研究人員能夠進一步解釋。

首先,我要指出,自由係香港嘅核心價值,而學術自由更加係本港珍貴嘅資產,我相信無人會話唔支持。不過,我相信今次嘅事件,唔應該隨便就上綱上線,將之等同為干預學術自由。事實上,學者提出自己嘅學術研究,喺公開發表後,會有機會被其他學者或社會人士質疑、甚至挑戰,提出嘅學者通常都會作出辯護,務求令有關研究能夠精益求精,而只有經得起考驗嘅研究,先至會被學術界、社會接受,學術水平提高。

同樣道理,鍾庭耀公佈咗佢嘅民調研究,有人質疑佢處理嘅方法,我哋無理由話佢喺受到干預,有關嘅民調研究同樣需要面對公眾,面對外界對佢嘅質疑,呢啲都係學術界經常發生嘅事,問題係外界嘅質疑係咪有道理有根據,如果係無道理,研究嘅人員可以據理力爭,只要能夠清楚解釋,社會一定會支持。不過,如果質疑係有道理,研究嘅人員亦需要檢討。
今次事件引起爭議嘅地方,係有人質疑港大民意研究計劃喺3月所做嘅調查,當時喺998受訪者中,有615人俾特首50或以上嘅分數,當中29人俾100分,383人俾50分以下,有91人俾0分。質疑嘅人士認為,民調公佈特首民望為47.5分,但實際上逾六成受訪者俾50分或以上,認為民調平均分嘅計算方法,未能準確反映特首民望,因為有太多人俾0分,質疑港大民調沒公正持平發布數據。

我對調查嘅方法當然唔太了解,但作為一個普通市民,睇到有關嘅數據後,就會覺得好疑惑,點解有逾六成受訪者俾了50分或以上,但結論會變成唔合格,而一般市民當然唔會明白係因為用平均分嘅計法。由於特首民望係一個敏感題目,同時民調有好大嘅指標作用,對社會有好大影響性,所以喺有責任做到各界都信服。所以,有人提出質疑,唔能夠話係唔合理。

鍾庭耀其後出嚟解釋,從未以50分作為民望評分「合格」指標,50分只係代表「一半半」或「中性」,但質疑嘅人就提出例子反駁,指他的確有講過50分係合格,包括第11期嘅《民意快訊》中寫過:「彭定康所得的分數一直能夠維持在五十分的合格分數以上」。 鍾庭耀點解咁講,我唔想隨便下判斷,但作為一個有睇報紙習慣嘅市民,就一定好疑惑,報紙成日話特首或某官評分合格或唔合格,點解未聽過鍾庭耀公開澄清,任由報紙長期誤解佢嘅意思?

另一項令人感到疑惑嘅,就係調查嘅透明度。港大民意研究計劃原來一直沒有全面公開評分嘅原始數據,當有人質疑後,就喺網站加上原始數據嘅資料,但就要用特別軟件開啟,同時鍾庭耀喺網站表示: 「這種透明度,已經超過一般學術與專業要求,希望社會人士珍惜」。老實講,商界就話商業秘密,但學術研究應該提供充分嘅證據或數據,去支持研究嘅分析,高度透明理應係必須嘅事,而目前嘅事件明顯俾人嘅印象係透明度十分不足。

以上我嘅疑惑,相信亦係好多人嘅疑惑,希望港大民意研究計劃能提供到令人信服嘅解釋,平息大家嘅疑問。總結而言,我認為,港大民意研究計劃喺公佈評分調查後,有人提出合理嘅疑問,並提出一定嘅理據,唔應該被視為干預,而係一個合理嘅質詢。

社交分享

Speech on Motion on Safeguarding Academic Freedom

Lately, there are heated public debates arising from queries on validity of polls conducted by The University of Hong Kong Public Opinions Programme (POP) led by Robert Chung. Admittedly, I know little about public polls but like fellow citizens I have many questions to ask in light of these debates. We are looking forward to further clarifications from the researchers.
First of all, I must affirm that liberty is our core value and academic freedom is our invaluable asset. I am also certain that they are fully supported. Thus, I am not convinced and have reservation that this incident is tantamount to interference of academic autonomy. Frankly, any published academic research is subject to scrutiny or even challenge either by peers or the community. Researchers would defend and refine their arguments in search of excellence. Only studies that stand the test of debate would be accredited by both scholars and the public, and thus academic standards might be advanced.
Similarly, when polls published by Robert Chung are being queried, it should not be construed as academic interference. These polls are also accountable to the public and subject to scrutiny. It is not uncommon in the academic circle. The crux of matter is whether such queries are well founded. If they were not, researcher should endeavour to clarify and justify. So long as there are justifications, the public would support. If queries were founded instead, researchers should review and revise their studies.
The recent dispute arises from outcomes of the poll of March 2014 of POP. Among 998 respondents, 615 gave the Chief Executive a rating of 50 or above with 29 giving the score of 100, and 383 gave a rating below 50 with 91 giving nil score. Critics thus query the validity of average rating of 47.5 on the ground that over 60 percent of respondents did rate him 50 or above. They argued that the average score is not reflective of approval rating of the Chief Executive because it is distorted by too many zero scores. Thus, they claim that there is good ground to suspect POP is unfair in publishing poll results.
I must confess that I do not fully comprehend the survey methodology. As an ordinary citizen, I am also puzzled by these figures. More than 60 percent of respondents did give a rating of 50 or higher in the poll. How could the overall approval rating result in “failure’? Apparently, not every man-on-the-street knows what is meant by “averaging”. As approval rating of the Chief Executive is a sensitive issue and such polls are supposed to be indicative and influential, researchers owe the public a duty of care and credibility. Thus, it is not unreasonable for the public to raise queries.
Subsequently, Robert Chung explains that the rating of 50 is never regarded as the pass score. It only represents “half-half” or “neutral”. However, critics disagree, quoting his previous remarks. They found that Chung wrote in Public Opinion Express No 11: (Quote) “… Chris Patten has been maintaining an approval rating over the pass score of 50…” (Unquote) I do not know why did Chung make such remark then and would not dare to guess. As reader of daily newspapers, I am really confused. There are media reports of pass or failure in approval ratings of the Chief Executive and his team from time to time. Why has Chung never clarified in public such misunderstanding and still allowed the media to continue misreporting?
Another puzzle is transparency. POP has never made available raw data of surveys. In response to recent queries, raw data are posted on its website but may only be read with special software. Chung also remarks that (Quote) “Such transparency is already exceeding established academic and professional practices and should be treasured by the community.” (Unquote) Frankly, commercial secrets are understandable. However, academic studies should be fully supported by evidence and data. Transparency must be high and the current dispute reflects that it is still far from satisfactory
These are my puzzles and presumably they are also shared by others. I wish POP would give a plausible explanation and answer our queries. To conclude, there is good and creditable ground to question results of POP and it should not be regarded as intervention but reasonable queries instead.

Social sharing