施政報告及財政預算案建議書 2015年

保險
1)推動保險業全面發展–在未來數年內,保險業界將面臨極大變化,包括成立獨立的保險業監管局、成立保單持有人保障基金、改用以風險為本的資本架構等等,新變化特別是全新的監管制度,將令保險業在資本上及經營方式上之合規成本大幅增加,對行業的規管亦變得更嚴格。所以,政府有責任協助保險業界開拓新業務,令香港成為世界保險及再保險中心,特別是海事保險及專屬自保業務等等,不能因為過嚴的規範而扼殺整個行業的發展空間。政府應全面研究與本港競爭的國家及地區,他們如何扶助當地保險業界的發展,從而制定相應的措施,以確保香港保險業之競爭力。

2)盡快及全面打擊保險詐騙活動–保險詐騙活動近年變得越來越猖獗,亦越來越集團化組織化,近期警方偵破的個案中,竟然涉及公證行、索償代理、車房、索償的車主,甚至懷疑有律師涉及其中,詐騙集團網絡牽涉之廣令人目瞪口呆。同時,保險詐騙集團可以同流合污,亦反映出法援、醫管局及交通意外傷亡援助計劃等架構,均存在極大而明顯的漏洞,令騙徒有可乘的機會,而最荒謬之處是騙徒可以一騙再騙,令業界束手無策。結果令保險業、運輸業、建造業、環保業等行業,以至中小企僱主及消費者等等直接或間接蒙受巨大損失。本人建議政府成立跨部門專責小組,集合各部門的力量,全面打擊詐騙保險活動,並堵塞現行制度的漏洞。

3)重新研究切實可行的醫保方案–食物及衞生局即將提出具體的醫保方案,公開諮詢市民意見。不過,保險業界認為,食衛局制定的方案原則,實際是偏離市場原則,長遠根本無法在市場上維持運作,甚至可能因沒有足夠參與者而爛尾收場。首先,保險公司只能出售符合最低要求的保單,一切不符最低要求的平價醫保將絕跡市場,最後醫保計劃會在最低要求的限制下,再加上醫療通脹的影響,價格只會變得越來越貴,逼使更多市民回到公營醫療系統中。其次,政府當年提出500億的承擔額,現在抽走450億,只剩下50億用以資助高風險池的營運,實際是將大部份早期提出的經濟誘因抽走,令方案變得毫無吸引,難以吸引到足夠市民,特別是健康及青年人參加,結果當到達索償高峰期時,醫保計劃就會不斷大幅加價,令已投保者難以負擔。本人希望食衛局能接受保險界的建議,確保計劃切實可行,當中必須要維持500億的資助,以維持初次投保折扣、退休者折扣等經濟誘因,市民能真正受惠。

社會、民生及經濟
1)全面審視社會各大政策的不足之處–佔中事件表面上是政制爭拗,但卻反映出社會潛藏著很多深層次矛盾,特別是青年人缺乏上游機會、中港矛盾及教育政策等問題,政制爭拗只是爆發點。過去,本港每逢社會出現騷亂情況,政府事後除了調查事件成因外,還會研究社會政策是否出現問題,以化解潛在的危機。本人認為,政府應趁著今次事件,聘請研究機構全面查找社會深層次矛盾,並重新調整社會政策,希望能夠化解社會潛藏的問題。
2)重新制定切合時代的施政方針–佔中事件後,激烈的抗爭將會成為社會常態,同時反對派將會在議會利用拉布的方法,不斷阻撓政府的工作,政府將會舉步維艱。面對困境,政府不應再單單追求高效率的施政方針,明白欲速不達的道理,寧願花更多時間務求施政精益求精,用同理心去體察社會的需要,並落區解釋政策,做好地區的工作,爭取民意支持。如果政策得到民意真正支持,反對派亦不敢逆民意而行。

3)制定全面的青年政策–佔中事件已一再暴露年青人因缺乏上游機會而對社會產生的怨憤。政府要做好青年政策,才能避免社會出現矛盾,當中包括鼓勵青年人提升個人技能,及學會追求工作以外的心靈滿足。本人建議:
(a)提倡通才式訓練,使年青人能夠具備良好的語文能力、溝通技巧、管理能力及責任心等,在不同的工作崗位上能有優秀表現。在未來的教育,應著重年青人跨行業界別的能力;
(b)將傳統藍領工種轉化成專業技術工作,為無興趣讀書的青年人開創新路向。本港有不少薪酬不俗的傳統藍領工種,包括建築、維修及裝修等工種,長期面對請人困難的情況,原因是有不少人認為是厭惡性行業。根據外國的經驗,當有關工種轉化成專業技術工作,提升行業的社會形象及地位,便吸引到更多人入行,具體的做法可以包括: 通過一定的考試認證、配備專業及整潔的制服、引進更專業化的器材、提供安全及整潔的工作環境、提供晉升及進修的階梯、專業化的形象推廣等等,務求打造成現代化、有專業知識的技術人員,目前飛機維修的技術人員就具備上述各項條件,是參考的對象。有關建議可能要投入大量資源,但長遠一定物有所值,除為青年人開創造新路向,更為有關行業注入新動力;
(c)政府亦應積極協助年青人創業,特別是互聯網購物逐漸盛行,年青人創業更容易,加上網上創業成本較低,而且需要一定的資訊科技知識,特別適合年青人;
(d)教導青年人追求工作以外的心靈滿足,由於上游機會減少,社會上只會有少數人能從工作上出人頭地,所以青年人應除了努力工作外,亦應明白到人生有很多值得追求的事,學會從生活中找到心靈的滿足,包括參與及享受家庭生活、個人興趣、文化藝術、運動及義務工作等等。

4)及早制定應對經濟動盪的支援方案–佔中事件對本港長遠的經濟發展或許影響不大,但對短期的經濟卻有負面影響,而影響有多深仍視乎事件何時完結。據悉,佔中對零售及旅遊業的影響已逐漸浮現,業界已預計生意會受到嚴重打擊,而對其他商業的影響亦正醞釀中,特別是第四季通常是企業制定來年營運計劃的重要時刻,目前的局勢一定對企業的計劃有重大影響。所以,本港來年的經濟可能會出現極大的波動,政府應未雨綢繆,及早做好準備,特別對中小企及失業率等問題,留意市場最新變化,隨時可以因應情況提出支援的方案,例如刺激市場的方案及支持中小企的計劃。同時,在草擬財政預算案時,亦應準備好紓解民困的短期措施,一旦經濟逆轉的時候,就可以立即推出。

5)盡快提升香港整體競爭力–過去兩年,本人在立法會內多次指出,香港競爭力正面臨重大挑戰,而本港經濟結構一直過份依靠金融地產等傳統產業,令本港經濟有重大的隱憂。可惜的是,本港近年已將大部份精力放在政治爭拗及鬥爭之中,連關係到民生的重大問題亦受拖延,更何況經濟創新及改革。我相信,目前本港競爭力下跌的情況,已經是極為迫切的局面,政府應該盡快提出全面的改革,包括本人多次提出的建議:
(a)發展總部經濟,吸引外國企業來港設立地區總部,以引進國際資金及人才,為本港經濟注入活力,為本港青年創造更多優質職位;
(b)加強與內地金融的合作,令本港的金融產業得以可持續發展;
(c)扶持新興產業發展,令本港產業結構趨向平衡,青年人有更多發展路向。

6)撤銷專線小巴坐位限制以締造5贏局面–政府積極打造一個以鐵路為骨幹的交通系統,隨著鐵路承載量大幅上升,各種輔助交通工具的承載能力亦獲得提升,包括准許專營巴士公司引進載客量更大的巴士。專線小巴作為鐵路的輔助交通工具,一直廣受市民歡迎,但由於乘客量上升,市民繁忙時間要大排長龍,如果要增加班次,無可避免會令交通進一步擠塞、路邊空氣污染上升,同時專線小巴因薪酬偏低而難以招聘足夠司機,所以增加班次並不一定是合適的方法。但現實中,專線小巴的設計是設置24個座位,只是目前法例硬性規定只准設16個座位,令到應有的承載能力受到限制。本人建議撤銷專線小巴坐位限制,以不超過24個座位為限,為本港締造5贏局面:
(a)市民贏: 承載量即時增加50%,解決市民繁忙時間等車排長龍的問題,同時可紓緩車費增加壓力;
(b)政府贏: 用最環保及不用公帑的方法,在繁忙時間增加50%小巴載客量,協助解決繁忙時間的交通問題;
(c)小巴司機贏: 小巴公司有資源去增加司機工資、福利及培訓等,既可提升服務質素,又可吸引更多人入行;
(d)業界贏: 解決小巴業界經營困難,亦可避免終止部分虧損路線,加費壓力亦可紓緩;
(e)環境贏: 在不加小巴數量下,用最環保之方法即時增加50%承載量。

7)推動全民驗身運動–本人在上一屆立法會中曾提出議案,建議政府推出全民驗身運動,但未獲當時政府採納。事實上,越來越多研究及調查顯示,港人生活及飲食不健康,三高情況十分普遍,本人希望政府能夠推出全民驗身計劃,用年齡的分組方式,分階段及逐步資助中年以上的市民作基本的常規檢查,例如驗血驗尿的簡單常規檢查,當中包括血糖、血脂及血壓。驗身計劃除了為市民及早發現本身的疾病外,更可以提醒市民注意健康及飲食,因為自身的健康資料往往就是推動自己實踐健康生活的最大原動力,同時可以促使市民,特別是一些三高邊緣的人士,養成驗身的習慣,定期監察自己的健康,長遠對整體市民健康水平及公共醫療有極大好處。

社交分享

Submission of the Hon K P Chan on Policy Address and Budget of 2015

On Insurance
1. Drive total development of insurance. The insurance industry is facing major changes in coming years, including establishment of independent Insurance Authority, establishment of policyholders’ protection fund, adoption of risk-based capital framework, etc. These changes, particularly new regulatory regime, would substantially increase compliance costs of capital and operations and also mean tightening supervision. Thus, the Government is bound to support the industry in exploring new business and making Hong Kong a global insurance and re-insurance centre, especially in marine risks and captive insurance, etc. Over-regulation would suffocate industrial development. The Government should study how rival countries and territories in the vicinity support their insurance to grow, and devise corresponding measures to reassure competitiveness of the industry in Hong Kong.

2. Fight insurance scams promptly and extensively. Insurance scams are increasingly serious, structured and organized. In recently solved cases, suspected criminals include adjustors, claim agents, garages, owners and probably even lawyers. The span of gang network is really astonishing. Moreover, their collaboration reflects serious and visible flaws in public bodies like Legal Aid, Hospital Authority and Traffic Accident Victims Assistance Scheme, etc. Obviously, crooks are taking advantage of these flaws. Yet, it is most ridiculous that scams are recurrent but the insurance industry is left helpless. In consequence, insurance, transport, construction, environmental protection, etc as well as small and medium businesses and consumers are all victims suffering considerable collateral damages directly and indirectly. I suggest the Government to set up cross-departmental task force and fight insurance scam extensively with concerted efforts. Loopholes in the system should be plugged.

3. Reconsider healthcare insurance to assure practicality. Food and Health Bureau will publish details of the Health Protection Scheme for public consultation shortly. The insurance industry is concerned that the basis of its proposal is against the principle of free market. Thus, it would be unsustainable in the long run and might even fall through for insufficient enrolment. Firstly, the industry is required to offer policies meeting minimum requirements only. Lower priced “sub-standard” policies would disappear. Consequently, healthcare insurance would be increasingly expensive under such constraint even without medical inflation. In turn, more people are compelled to revert to public medicine. Secondly, the FHB intends to scale down the $50 billion to $5 billion. In effect, most of the original incentives would be removed, and the scheme would become unattractive to the healthy and the young. Whenever claims are high, the scheme as proposed would have no choice but to raise premium making healthcare insurance less affordable. I ask FHB to endorse views of the insurance industry that the government undertaking of $50 billion must be fulfilled to offer incentives like discounts for first-timers and retirees. It is crucial to a viable scheme for the benefit of the public.

On Social, Livelihood and Economy
1. Fully review major policies and identify inadequacy. The Occupy Central Movement is more than disputes over constitutional reform. It exposes underlying controversies of the community, especially issues like lacking social mobility for young people, Mainland and Hong Kong conflicts and education policy. The Government used to look into each and every incident of social disturbance. Root causes were indentified and policy mismatches, if any, were studied to defuse potential crisis. In my view, the Government should take this opportunity to commission researches to find out those underlying controversies and adjust social policies with a view to defusing potential problems embedded in society.

2. Adjust policies to address changes of times. Following Occupy Central, radical social protest would become norm. The opposition would continue disrupting the Government with filibuster in the Legislature. The Government is facing tough times and should not merely pursue efficiency of administration. Better late than never. More attention should be paid on policy details to achieve more robust governance. It should find out what the public really needs and communicate more effectively with policy briefing at district level to win support. As long as policies are supported overwhelmingly, the opposition would dare not defying public opinion.

3. Establish comprehensive youth policy. The Occupy Central Movement has exposed once again frustration of the young people for lacking social mobility. The Government must do a much better job in youth work to prevent further social conflicts. These would include incentives for improving personal skills and pursuing spiritual contentment outside work. I propose to:
(a) Promote generalist training to equip young people with better language skill, communications skill, management skill and accountability so that they may contribute positively in different roles in society. Education development should focus on improving cross-industry abilities.
(b) Convert classic blue-collar jobs into specialist skills as alternative career path for young people who are falling behind in school curriculum. Many classic blue-collar jobs like construction, maintenance and decoration are suffering from prolonged labor shortage for being considered as offensive work. According to foreign experience, they would attract new blood after conversion to specialist skills to improve public image and social standing. More specific measures may include: proper accreditation, professional and tidy look, specialist tools, safe and clean worksites, development and promotion ladder, professional image promotion, etc. In a nutshell, they might be repackaged as modern, specialized technicians. Aircraft maintenance is a good illustration. Admittedly, these proposals call for substantial resources in support but they would pay in the long run. Apart from offering alternative career path to young people, they would also inject new impetus to these classic industries.
(c) To actively help young entrepreneurs taking off. In this era of internet shopping, entrepreneurship is more reachable to young people. eBusiness, as it is called, is also demands less start-up capital but more skills in information technology. It is appealing to the next generation.
(d) To help young people seek spiritual contentment outside work. As social mobility is rather restrictive nowadays, less people might succeed in career. Young people should realize that life is more than hard work and there are many other goals to pursue. They should learn to search for spiritual contentment in daily life including pleasure of family life, hobbies, art and culture, sports and volunteer work, etc.

4. Design contingency plan for economic volatility early. The long term impact of Occupy Central Movement on the economy is probably limited but short term adversity is inevitable and dependent on its duration. It is reported that adverse impacts on retail and tourism are becoming apparent. Both industries are expecting serious setback. Impacts on other businesses are yet to be felt. In particular, the last quarter of the year is crucial time of business planning and budgeting. The prevailing situation would impact significantly on their plans. Thus, the economy in the coming year would be volatile. The Government should be prepared and well-planned for any adversity, particularly the shock to small and medium enterprises (SME), employment, etc. It should pay attention to latest market changes with a view to introducing measures in response like market stimulation and SME support. Meanwhile, short term relief measures should also be allowed when preparing the Budget. If the economy did turn sour, they could be launched timely.

5. Improve consolidated competitiveness of Hong Kong urgently. I have repeatedly point out at the Legislative Council for the past two years that Hong Kong is facing serious challenges in upholding competitiveness. Moreover, the economy has been over-reliant on finance and property sectors, and the situation is very worrying. It is piteous that Hong Kong has been entrapped in political disputes and struggles in recent years. As salient livelihood issues are held up, economic innovation and reform are still not receiving deserved attention. I am convinced that falling competitiveness is already critical and the Government should introduce comprehensive changes including but not limited to my proposals on different occasions.
(a) Develop headquarters economy and attract foreign enterprises to base their regional hubs in Hong Kong. They would bring in international capital and talent, inject agility to the economy and create more quality jobs for the young people.
(b) Step up partnership with the Mainland to sustain growth of the financial sector.
(c) Support emerging industries to rebalance economic structure and offer more development paths for the young people.

6. Relax seating of Green Line Public Light Bus (PLB) for 5 wins. The Government is building a railway-centric transport system. With expanding railway capacity, feeder transport capacity is also increasing, including acquisition of larger buses by franchised carriers. Green Line PLB is also a popular feeder and passenger queues are getting longer during rush hours as demand rises. If higher demand were met by higher frequency, traffic jam would only get worse. So would roadside pollution. Moreover, drivers are not well paid and recruitment is not effortless. Therefore, higher frequency is not necessarily the best solution. In fact, the approved vehicle type is designed for 24 seats but remodeled with only 16 seats to compile with local law. Thus, its designed capacity is not fully deployed. I propose to relax seating of Green Line PLB to 24 for five-sided benefits to Hong Kong.
(a) The people would benefit: An increase of 50 percent in passenger capacity would help reduce queue time during rush hours and relieve pressure on fare hike.
(b) The Government would benefit: An increase of 50 percent of PLB payload to help resolve traffic demand in rush hours in the most environmental friendly way and without costing the public purse a dime.
(c) Bus drivers would benefit: PLB operators would afford better pay, welfare and training to drivers. Service quality would improve and new blood would be attracted.
(d) The industry would benefit: It would help relieve operators under financial stress, avoiding termination of routes in deficit as well as pressure of fare hike.
(e) The environment would benefit: Payload would be increased by 50 percent in the most environmental friendly way as there is no increase in bus fleet.

7. Launch universal medical check-up. In the previous term of Legislative Council, I tabled a Motion on territory-wide medical check-up but the proposal was not accepted by the last Administration. Actually, it is increasing evident that people in Hong Kong are unhealthy in daily life and diet. “Three-highs” are not uncommon. I ask the Government to launch universal medical check-up progressively by age group with subsidy to the middle-aged and above in basic routines like simple blood and urine tests (i.e blood sugar, blood fat and blood pressure, etc). The plan would not only help discover symptoms of disease early but also help remind people to pay attention to personal health and diet. The logic is simple. Vital figures are the best driver to live healthy. It would also encourage people, particularly those who are at the verge of “three-highs”, to undertake regular check-up and watch personal health. In the long run, public medicine would benefit from a healthier population.

Social sharing