就大專院校學生宿位短缺問題提出之書面質詢

問題:

據報,大學教育資助委員會資助的八間大專院校均有學生宿位供應緊張的問題。為提供2 400個新宿位,香港中文大學正進行興建五幢學生宿舍的工程計劃,但當中有兩幢要到明年中至年底才落成。有鑑於此,校方在現有的崇基書院、新亞書院及逸夫書院推出臨時宿位計劃,安排三人共用兩人房間及四人共用三人房間,以額外提供340個宿位,而這些屬「擠迫戶」的宿生則獲減收兩成宿費作為補償。就大專院校學生宿位短缺問題,政府可否告知本會:

(一)是否知悉,在2012/13學年,每間大專院校的學生總數及提供的宿位數目,以及分別有多少名學生申請、獲分配、未獲分配及在獲分配後放棄宿位;

(二)政府會否就大學生於大學附近地區租住房屋的情況及有關單位的租金趨勢進行調查;若會,詳情為何;若不會,原因為何;及

(三)政府會否推出進一步的措施,確保大學生可享有足夠和質素良好的宿位,以及確保無需再推出上述的臨時宿位計劃;若會,詳情為何;若不會,原因為何?


 

教育局局長吳克儉的書面答覆:

主席:

(一)根據大學教育資助委員會(教資會)資助院校所提供的資料,在2012/13學年有關宿位的資料載列於:http://gia.info.gov.hk/general/201301/09/P201301090315_0315_105303.pdf

教資會根據現行學生宿舍政策及計算準則,致力為其資助院校提供公帑資助宿位。如何分配公帑資助及私人資助宿位給學生,則屬院校自主範圍事宜,惟院校應確保公帑資助宿位應分配給公帑資助課程學生入住,以免變相補貼院校的自資活動。

(二)及(三)政府當局與教資會多年來一直按照沿用已久的政策及計算準則,支持教資會資助院校興建符合既定標準的學生宿舍,並通過一貫機制及程序,為新的宿舍工程計劃尋求所需撥款資助,以及在有需要時在院校範圍外找尋合適土地,應付宿位方面的額外需求。目前,剛竣工和興建中的宿舍,以及七項規劃中的學生宿舍工程計劃預計可分別提供約1 733個及4 820個公帑資助宿位。

為確保有限的土地資源得以善用,政府當局與教資會除了為院校物色校園以外的新土地外,更鼓勵院校在校園內選擇合適地點興建宿舍,或把校園內現有建築物改建為宿舍,以充分發展和善用校內土地。此外,政府亦鼓勵院校探討不同方法回應對宿位的需求。事實上,部分院校正以創新形式提供宿位(例如租用私人住宅單位作學生宿舍之用)。

我們將繼續致力為院校提供政策所需的公帑資助宿位,暫無計劃就學生於院校附近地區租住房屋的情況及有關租金進行調查。

社交分享

Written Question on Shortage of hostel places for students of tertiary institutions

Question:

It has been reported that the eight tertiary institutions funded by the University Grants Committee have all encountered the problem of tight supply of student hostel places. To provide 2 400 new hostel places, The Chinese University of Hong Kong is implementing a project for the construction of five student hostel blocks. However, two of these hostel blocks will not be completed until the middle or the end of next year. In view of this, the university has introduced an interim hostel place scheme in the existing colleges, namely the Chung Chi, New Asia and Shaw Colleges. Under the scheme, three students share a room for two and four students share a room for three so as to provide 340 additional hostel places. Students of these “overcrowded units” are recompensed by a 20% reduction in hostel fees. Regarding the shortage of hostel places for students of tertiary institutions, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) whether it knows the total numbers of students and hostel places provided, as well as the respective numbers of students who had applied for, had been allocated with and had not been allocated with hostel places, and those who gave up their hostel places after places had been allocated to them, in each tertiary institution for the 2012/13 academic year;

(b) whether the Government will conduct surveys on the situations of university students renting accommodations in districts near the universities and the trend of rents of such residential units; if it will, of the details; if not, the reasons for that; and

(c) whether the Government will introduce further measures to ensure that sufficient and good quality hostel places are available for university students and that the aforesaid interim hostel place scheme needs not be implemented again; if it will, of the details; if not, the reasons for that?


 

Reply by the Secretary for Education, Mr Eddie Ng Hak-kim:

President,

(a) According to the information provided by the University Grants Committee (UGC)-funded institutions, student hostel provision figures in the 2012/13 academic year are listed at: http://gia.info.gov.hk/general/201301/09/P201301090317_0317_105304.pdf

The UGC strives to provide its funded institutions with publicly-funded hostel places according to the existing student hostel policy and calculation criteria. The allocation of publicly-funded and privately-funded hostel places to students is a matter of institutional autonomy. However, institutions should ensure that publicly-funded hostel places are allocated only to students of publicly-funded programmes to avoid cross-subsidisation of the self-financing activities of institutions.

(b) and (c) The Administration and the UGC have all along been supporting the UGC-funded institutions in the development of student hostels of prescribed standards in accordance with the well-established policy and criteria for calculating the provision of student hostel places. In addition, efforts have been made to seek the necessary funding support for new hostel projects through the established mechanism and procedures, and where necessary to identify suitable sites outside the campus of the institutions to meet their additional requirements for student hostel places. At present, it is anticipated that a total of some 1 733 and 4 820 publicly-funded hostel places will be provided respectively by student hostels under construction and seven hostel projects under planning.

To optimise the use of limited land resources, apart from identifying new sites for institutions, the Administration and the UGC also encourage them to make use of suitable sites within campus for hostel development or redevelop existing campus buildings into hostels so as to maximise the development and utilisation of their own campus. The Government also encourages institutions to explore various options to meet students’ demand for hostel places. In fact, some institutions are making available hostel places in an innovative manner, such as leasing private residential premises to provide accommodation for students.

We will continue to sustain efforts in providing institutions with publicly-funded hostel places in accordance with policy and have no immediate plans to conduct surveys on the situations of students renting accommodations near campus and the relevant rental levels.

Social sharing