就紀律部隊職系公務員的退休事宜之書面質詢

問題:

在現行的新退休金計劃或公務員公積金計劃(公積金計劃)下,紀律部隊職系公務員(紀律部隊人員)的訂明退休年齡為55或57歲(視乎職級而定),較 文職職系公務員的正常退休年齡60歲為低。據悉,除特別情況外,政府一般不會考慮繼續聘用已超過退休年齡的員工,而不少紀律部隊人員退休後會在私營機構繼 續工作。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)過去五年,每年退休的紀律部隊人員數目為何,並按他們退休時的職級和年齡,以及屬新退休金計劃抑或是公積金計劃列出分項數字;預計未來五年內退休的紀律部隊人員數目為何;

(二)鑑於公務員在放取離職前休假期間,或退休公務員在退休後的管制期內從事外間工作,須事先申請並獲得批准,過去五年,當局接獲退休紀律部隊人員提出該等申請的數目,以及該等申請一般涉及的外間工作職位為何;

(三)鑑於有部分紀律部隊人員在退休後獲所屬的紀律部隊以合約形式重新僱用,現時該等合約僱員的人數;有關的政策詳情為何,包括當局決定重新僱用該等人員的準則;及

(四)有否評估紀律部隊人員退休年齡的規定,有否導致紀律部隊出現青黃不接或經驗豐富的人員流失的情況;當局有否考慮設立機制,准許符合要求的紀律部隊人員申請把退休年齡延至60歲;若否,原因為何?

公務員事務局局長鄧國威的書面答覆:

主席:

(一)根據庫務署提供的資料,過去五年由二○○八至二○一二年退休紀律部隊人員的數目,按職級、年齡及所屬退休福利計劃劃分,載列於附件。

根據庫務署提供的資料,預計在二○一三至二○一七年期間,平均每年約有1 500名紀律部隊人員按正常/指定退休年齡退休。

(二)現時,離職首長級公務員在指定限制期內(包括離職前休假期、及/或最低限度禁制期及/或管制期),以及按可享退休金條款受聘的退休非首長級公務員在退休前休假期及/或退休後兩年內,如欲從事外間工作,均須事先向當局申請批准。

由二○○八年至二○一二年,當局一共批准了大約1 200宗退休紀律部隊公務員離職後從事外間工作的申請。獲准從事的外間工作性質多樣化,大部分涉及駕駛、教育、管理、辦公室行政/支援和保安的工作。

(三)根據保安局提供的數據,於二○一三年五月二十四日,有115名退休的紀律部隊人員在退休後在其所屬部門受聘為全職非公務員合約僱員。

就聘用非公務員合約僱員方面,非公務員合約僱員計劃的目的是為部門首長提供靈活的方式僱用人手,以便能更迅速回應不斷轉變的運作和服務需求,這些運 作和需求可能屬有時限、季節性或受市場波動影響,或只需僱用工作少於公務員規定工作時數的人手;又或需要從市場招攬在特定範疇具備最新專業知識的人才;又 或服務模式正在檢討或可能有變的工作。在非公務員合約僱員計劃之下,部門首長可全權和酌情決定僱用非公務員合約僱員的事宜,包括在顧及公開及公平的原則 下,決定適當的招聘及遴選程序。

(四)當局已有一套既定機制,以助各紀律部隊盡早進行接任人選的策劃工作,並在有需要時及早採取行動。在這機制下,公務員事務局局長定期會晤保安局 常任秘書長和紀律部隊首長,商討個別部隊和職系的接任情況,以確保能及早識別接任問題(如有的話)、預先制訂計劃和及早採取適當措施。因應紀律部隊人員在 未來數年的退休情況,保安局及各紀律部隊會仔細規劃和積極進行招聘工作,以應付運作需要及配合長遠接任安排。為配合接任人選的策劃工作,各紀律部隊亦為各 級紀律部隊人員提供培訓及發展機會,讓他們擴闊眼界, 學習所需知識和技能以履行職務,並透過調職計劃提升員工的工作能力,為擔當更高層次的職務作好準備。

至於公務員退休年齡方面,公務員事務局正進行初步研究,評估公務員退休情況,以及探討是否有任何運作需要及應對方案,以助接任人選的策劃工作。局方 正向各局/部門(包括各紀律部門)的管理層收集資料,並會因應公務員系統的獨有情況和特點(包括接任和運作需要、人力策劃、在職人員的晉升機會等),分析 收集所得的數據。我們的目標是在二○一三年年底/二○一四年年初完成有關研究,繼而考慮下一步的路向。

 

附件: http://gia.info.gov.hk/general/201305/29/P201305290415_0415_111944.pdf

社交分享

Written Question on Retirement of disciplined grades civil servants

Question:

 

Under the existing New Pension Scheme or the Civil Service Provident Fund (CSPF) Scheme, the prescribed retirement ages for civil servants of the disciplined grades (disciplined service officers), which are set at 55 or 57 (depending on their ranks), are lower than the normal retirement age of 60 for civil servants of civilian grades. It has been learnt that except for exceptional circumstances, the Government generally does not consider the continued employment of officers beyond the retirement age, and quite a number of retired disciplined service officers continue to work in the private sector. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) of the number of disciplined service officers who retired in each of the past five years, broken down by their ranks and ages at the time of retirement, and whether they were under the New Pension Scheme or CSPF Scheme; and the anticipated number of those who will retire in the coming five years;

(b) given that civil servants who take up post-service outside work during the final leave, or former civil servants who take up such outside work during the specified restriction periods after retirement, are required to seek and obtain prior permission, of the number of such applications, received by the authorities in the past five years from retiring / retired disciplined service officers, and the positions of outside work involved in general in such applications;

(c) given that some disciplined service officers are re-employed by their disciplined services on a contract basis after retirement, of the number of such contract staff at present; and the details of the policy concerned, including the criteria adopted by the authorities for deciding to re-employ such officers; and

(d) whether it has assessed if the stipulation on the retirement ages of the disciplined service officers has led to succession problems or wastage of experienced staff in the disciplined services; whether the authorities have considered establishing a mechanism to allow those disciplined service officers who meet relevant requirements to apply for extending their retirement age to 60; if they have not, of the reasons for that?

Reply by the Secretary for the Civil Service, Mr Paul Tang:

President,

(a) According to the information provided by the Treasury, the number of disciplined services staff retired in the past five years from 2008 to 2012, broken down by rank, by age and by retirement benefits schemes they belonged to is shown at Annex.

According to the information provided by the Treasury, it is projected that on average about 1 500 disciplined services staff will retire at the normal / prescribed retirement ages annually from 2013 to 2017.

(b) At present, departing directorate civil servants, during the specified periods of restriction (namely final leave period, and / or minimum sanitisation period and / or control period) as well as non-directorate civil servants retiring on pensionable terms, during their pre-retirement leave period and / or in the first two years of retirement, are required to apply for prior permission if they wish to take up post-service outside work.

From 2008 to 2012, the Administration had approved a total of about 1 200 post-service outside work applications by retired disciplined services civil servants. The nature of the approved outside work varied and the majority of them were in the areas of driving, education, management, office administration/support and security.

(c) According to the statistics provided by the Security Bureau, as at May 24, 2013, there were 115 retired disciplined services officers employed by their respective department as full-time non-civil service contract (NCSC) staff after retirement.

Regarding the employment of NCSC staff, the NCSC Staff Scheme aims at providing Heads of Departments (HoDs) with a flexible means of employment to respond more promptly to changing operational and service needs which may be time-limited, seasonal or subject to market fluctuations; or which require staff to work less than the conditioned hours; or which require tapping the latest expertise in a particular area; or whether the mode of service delivery is under review or likely to be changed. Under the NCSC Staff Scheme, HoDs have the full discretion and authority to decide on matters relating to the employment of NCSC staff including the appropriate recruitment and selection procedures, having regard to the principle of openness and fairness.

(d) The Administration has put in place a well-established mechanism to facilitate disciplined services departments in making early planning for succession and taking timely action where necessary. Under the mechanism, Secretary for the Civil Service regularly meets with Permanent Secretary for Security and heads of disciplined services departments to discuss the succession situation in individual departments and grades, with a view to ensuring early identification of any succession problems, advance planning and timely implementation of suitable measures. In the light of the retirement situation of disciplined services staff in the next few years, the Security Bureau and respective disciplined services departments will map out detailed planning and proactively conducting recruitment exercises so as to meet the operational needs and facilitate the long-term succession planning. In tandem with the succession planning efforts, respective disciplined services departments also provide training and development opportunities for disciplined services staff at all levels so as to enrich their exposure, enable them to acquire the necessary knowledge and skills for the discharge of their responsibilities, and enhance their competence through postings with a view to preparing them for taking up higher responsibilities.

As regards the civil service retirement age, the Civil Service Bureau is conducting a preliminary study to assess the retirement situation in the Civil Service and look at possible options to address any operational needs identified, with a view to facilitating succession planning in the Civil Service. We are inviting inputs from the bureau / departmental management (including disciplined services departments) and will analyse the data collected taking into account the unique circumstances and features of the civil service system, including succession and operational needs, manpower planning, promotion prospects of serving officers, etc. We aim to complete the study around end of 2013/early 2014 and would then consider the way forward.

Annex: http://gia.info.gov.hk/general/201305/29/P201305290417_0417_111945.pdf

Social sharing