就消防裝置及設備之書面質詢

問題:

 

鴨洲海怡半島於本年四月十一日發生一場四級大火。據報,救火工作遇到困難,包括消防車輛未能進入火場附近的通道、大廈消防栓水壓不足,以及部分住客聽不到警鐘鳴響。雖然消防處於翌日澄清,消防車輛在火警當日駛入火警現場的緊急車輛通道時並未遇到阻礙,但仍有市民就大廈的緊急車輛通道狹窄,以及消防裝置及設備保養不足等潛在消防風險表示關注。就此,政府可否告知本會:

(一)目前全港有多少幢大廈及多少個屋苑未設有建築事務監督根據《建築物(規劃)規例》(第123章,附屬法例F)指明的六米闊緊急車輛通道;如果沒有該等數字,會否考慮進行全面的調查;

(二)鑑於有報道指出,在第(一)項的規定生效(二○○四年)前落成的樓宇不受有關條文規管,政府會否考慮要求在二○○四年以前落成的大廈及屋苑,檢視其設計是否符合該規定,並協助有關的大廈及屋苑提出全面的改善方案;及

(三)鑑於有報道指出,海怡半島的消防設備曾於去年七月及火警前一日由消防裝置承辦商分別進行年檢及季檢,但仍然發生消防栓水壓不足及警鐘沒有鳴響的故障,政府會否(i)成立專家小組,深入研究該等消防設備失效的原因、(ii)要求全港的大廈即時全面檢查消防設備,以及(iii)研究就加強該等設備的保養工作作出規定,以確保有關設備能夠在火警發生時發揮效用?

署理保安局局長李家超的答覆:

主席:

就問題的三個部分,我現回覆如下:

(一)及(二)根據發展局提供的資料,政府在二○○四年底修訂了《建築物(規劃)規例》(第123F章)(下稱《規例》),規定在二○○五年或以後落成的建築物須設有緊急車輛通道,以便利緊急車輛前往建築物。按照屋宇署《2004年消防和救援進出途徑守則》,有關的緊急車輛通道闊度應不少於六米。部分因建築物受地形限制或有關建築物擬作用途僅構成較低的火警危險,屋宇署可考慮豁免設有緊急車輛通道的要求。當局自一九八○年至在上述《規例》修訂前亦有透過行政安排,當建築發展計劃涉及新的批地契約時,在地契上載有提供相關通道的規定。

至於未設有緊急車輛通道的樓宇,有關部門會考慮對該建築物的消防安全措施加添額外要求,例如增加消防水缸的容量、走火樓梯須設有抽風裝置等。各區消防局亦會定期到其管轄範圍進行視察,以確保消防人員了解地區的最新發展及道路情況,從而確保發生火警及事故時的應變行動及救援效率。

屋宇署並沒有備存全港未設有緊急車輛通道的大廈或屋苑的統計數字。基於上述提及的措施(即加強消防裝置及熟習道路環境等),政府認為目前沒有需要就此作出全面調查。

(三)根據消防處的資料,在海怡半島發生火警的有關樓宇,其消防裝置及設備在二○一二年七月由相關註冊消防裝置承辦商進行了年度檢查。該承辦商所提交的年檢證書並未顯示消防裝置及設備出現故障。處方在接獲有關證書至火警發生前,亦沒有接獲有關樓宇消防裝置及設備故障的報告。

就火警當日有關樓宇的消防裝置未有正常運作的問題(即消防栓出現水壓不足及警鐘沒有鳴響),消防處已手進行調查,包括對有關樓宇內的消防裝置及設備進行了檢測,現正分析所搜集的資料,以確認問題的成因。調查完成後,消防處會向有關區議會和居民組織匯報結果。

根據《消防(裝置及設備)規例》(第95B章),消防裝置/設備的擁有人必須保持該等消防裝置/設備可有效操作,並須每年最少一次由註冊消防裝置承辦商對裝置/設備作出檢查,完成檢查後14日內必須將年檢證書的副本送交消防處。對於未有按時安排檢查的消防裝置/設備擁有人,或有任何承辦商提供屬虛假或具誤導性的證明書等,消防處會採取執法行動。此外,消防處會對年檢證書進行抽樣檢查,及對年檢證書上顯示的問題採取適當跟進行動,例如對有關樓宇發出警告信等。

註冊消防裝置承辦商如因違規而被法庭定罪,消防處會根據《消防(裝置承辦商)規例》(第95A章),將有關個案轉交《註冊消防裝置承辦商紀律委員會》作出紀律聆訊。委員會會視乎問題的嚴重性及個案情況,對相關承辦商作出譴責,或從承辦商註冊紀錄冊中將其除名。

除此以外,消防處對消防裝置承辦商,亦有一套違例記分制的行政措施以作監管。消防處會按承辦商的過失或違規情況給予相應的記分,並因應其記分情況,調節對該承辦商負責維修保養的消防裝置及設備系統的巡查次數,目的是對有問題紀錄的承辦商作出較嚴密的監管,以確保其水平達到有關要求。

社交分享

Written Question on Fire service installations and equipment

Question:

 

A Number 4 alarm fire broke out at South Horizons, Ap Lei Chau on April 11 this year. It has been reported that the firefighting efforts encountered difficulties, including fire appliances being unable to enter the access roads in the vicinity of the fire scene, insufficient water pressure from the building’s fire hydrants, as well as some residents not hearing the alarm bells ring. Although the Fire Services Department clarified on the following day that the fire appliances had not been obstructed when entering the emergency vehicular access (EVA) to the fire scene, some members of the public still expressed concern about the potential fire hazards in relation to the narrow EVA to the building and the inadequate maintenance of fire service installations and equipment, etc. In this connection, will the Government inform this Council:

(a) of the numbers of buildings and housing estates in Hong Kong which do not have a six-metre wide EVA as specified by the Building Authority under the Building (Planning) Regulations (Cap. 123 sub. leg. F); if such figures are not available, whether it will consider conducting a comprehensive survey;

(b) as it has been reported that buildings completed before the commencement of the requirement in (a) (i.e. 2004) are not subject to the regulation by the provision concerned, whether the Government will consider requiring the buildings and housing estates completed before 2004 to review their designs to see if they comply with the aforesaid requirement, and assisting the buildings and housing estates concerned in putting forward comprehensive plans for improvement; and

(c) as it has been reported that although annual and quarterly inspections of the fire service equipment at South Horizons had been conducted by the fire service installation contractor in July last year and on the day before the fire respectively, malfunctioning still occurred in the form of insufficient water pressure from the fire hydrants and failure of the alarm bells to ring, whether the Government will (i) set up an expert group to examine in depth the causes of the malfunctioning of such fire service equipment, (ii) require a comprehensive inspection to be conducted immediately of the fire service equipment in the buildings in Hong Kong, and (iii) consider prescribing requirements on strengthening the maintenance of such equipment, in order to ensure that the equipment can function in the event of fire?

Reply by the Acting Secretary for Security, Mr John Lee:

President,

My reply to the three parts of the question is as follows:

(a) & (b) According to information provided by the Development Bureau, the Building (Planning) Regulations (Cap. 123F) (the Regulations) were amended in end-2004 to stipulate that a building completed in or after 2005 must be provided with emergency vehicular access (EVA) to facilitate access of emergency vehicles to the building. According to the Code of Practice for the Provision of Means of Access for Firefighting and Rescue Purposes 2004 issued by the Buildings Department (BD), the width of the concerned EVA should be no less than six metres. BD may consider exempting a building from providing an EVA if there are topographical constraints or the use of the building constitutes a lower fire risk. Between 1980 and the amendment of the Regulations, the Administration also implemented an administrative arrangement, where for building development projects involving new land grants, there was a requirement to provide a related access under the lease.

For buildings without EVA, the concerned departments may consider imposing additional requirements on fire safety measures, such as increasing the volume of fire service water tanks and providing ventilation installations at staircases for escape, etc. The local fire stations also conduct regular inspections to the areas under its purview to familiarise themselves with the latest local developments and road conditions to ensure efficiency in operation and rescue in case of fire and other incidents.

BD does not maintain statistics of buildings or housing estates in Hong Kong where EVAs are not provided. In the light of the measures mentioned above (i.e. enhancing fire service installations and familiarisation of road conditions, etc), the Government does not consider it necessary to conduct a comprehensive survey at this point.

(c) For the concerned building in South Horizons where the fire occurred, Fire Services Department (FSD)’s record shows that an annual inspection of fire service installations (FSIs) and equipment was conducted by the registered FSI contractor in July 2012. The annual inspection certificate submitted by the contractor did not indicate any malfunctioning of the FSIs and equipment. In the period between the filing of the certificate and the concerned fire, FSD has not received any report indicating malfunctioning of any FSIs and equipment in the concerned building either.

Regarding the malfunctioning of the FSIs in the concerned building (i.e. insufficient water pressure from the fire hydrant and failure of the fire alarm) on the day of the fire, FSD is conducting investigation, which include testing of the building’s FSIs and equipment. The Department is analysing the data collected so as to confirm the cause of the problem. It will report the result to the concerned District Council and residents’ organisations when the investigation is completed.

In accordance with the Fire Service (Installations and Equipment) Regulations (Cap. 95B), an owner of FSIs/equipment shall make sure that their FSIs/equipment can function properly and have them inspected at least once a year by a registered FSI contractor, who shall forward a copy of the annual inspection certificate to FSD within 14 days after completion of the inspection. FSD will take enforcement actions against FSIs/equipment owners who fail to arrange inspections of their FSIs/equipment on time and against contractors who file a false or misleading certificate, etc. The Department also conducts random checking on the annual inspection certificates and takes appropriate follow-up actions against problems shown on the certificates, such as issuing warning letter to the building concerned, etc.

When a registered FSI contractor is convicted by the Court for contravening a regulation, FSD will refer the case to the Registered FSI Contractors Disciplinary Board for disciplinary inquiry under the Fire Service (Installation Contractors) Regulations (Cap. 95A). Depending on the seriousness and circumstances of the individual case, the Disciplinary Board may reprimand the concerned contractor or remove it from the list of registered FSI contractors.

In addition, FSD monitors the performance of registered FSI contractors through an administrative measure, i.e. a demerit point system. The Department will record demerit points corresponding to the fault and contravention committed by the contractor. It will then adjust its frequency of inspection on FSIs and equipment maintained by such contractors in accordance with the demerit point record. This is to ensure that contractors with unsatisfactory record would be monitored more closely in order to ensure that their service level meets the required standard.

Social sharing