就改善物業管理及業主立案法團運作之發言

本港由六、七十年代開始,人口不斷上升,大量私人大廈亦喺當時落成。時至今日,當年興建嘅大廈都已有四、五十年樓齡,難免出現老化嘅現象,當中更有唔少大廈欠缺妥善嘅管理,甚至係完全無管理,喺日久失修嘅情況下,近年開始不時發生石屎剝落導致途人受傷嘅意外,呢啲失修嘅大廈成為城市嘅計時炸彈。

 

為咗避免炸彈爆發,政府決定大力鼓勵大廈成立業主立案法團,負擔起大廈管理及維修嘅工作。現時,全港約有40,000多幢私人大廈,其中約有17,600多幢大廈,合共成立咗9,600多個業主立案法團,而每年仍約有250個新法團成立。法團成立後,大廈嘅管理工作自然會有所改善,但由於法團喺大廈管理上有好大的權力,亦控制著大廈嘅財政資源,自然容易引起貪污及管理上嘅糾紛,引發出唔少流弊。事實上,喺政府嘅推動下,法圑將會不斷增加,而產生嘅流弊亦可能會越來越多,政府實在有必要檢討現行嘅法例,一方面增加對法團嘅支援,同時又要加強對法團嘅監管。

政府一方面鼓吹成立業主立案法團,但一直未能為法團提供足夠嘅協助,而且喺鼓勵嘅同時,亦都無向相關嘅業主充分解釋,成立法團後所要承擔嘅責任同風險。政府其實亦都有做一啲協助法團嘅工作,包括設立大廈管理聯絡小組、及大廈管理糾紛顧問小組、推出大廈管理專業顧問服務計劃等等,但主要負責有關工作嘅民政事務總署聯絡主任,則只有120人,由呢120人去處理40,000多幢私人大廈嘅管理問題,實際提供到嘅協助自然好有限,而單單處理每年平均收到約1,600宗大廈管理糾紛嘅求助個案,已可能疲於奔命。政府既然大力推動成立法團,所以必然有責任要為法團提供更全面更到位嘅協助,而最簡單有效嘅方法,就係大幅增加聯絡主任嘅人手,直接派佢哋到各個法團協助做好管理嘅問題。

政府鼓勵成立法團,一直都強調成立後嘅好處,務求業主肯出嚟組織,真係好話講盡,但據地區人士嘅反映,當局對於成立法團後要負嘅責任及風險,以至可能出現嘅紛爭,往往都係輕輕帶過。對社會嚟講,成立法團當然係好事,但對滿腔熱誠嘅業主嚟講,如果唔係喺充分了解風險及責任嘅情況,包括法律上嘅責任,就鼓勵佢哋成立法團,就明顯有唔公平嘅地方,而近年亦出現過有法團委員因擔心要負上法律責任而決定要辭職的個案。我認為,政府鼓勵成立法團之同時,亦應全面解釋涉及嘅風險及責任,唔應該因擔心會打擊到業主嘅熱誠,就避而不談,更加重要嘅係,應想辦法協助業主解決疑難,因為只要做好管理工作,自然可以減低業主要承擔嘅風險。

目前,政府正全面檢討《建築物管理條例》,當中有部份問題值得大家關注,希望檢討時能夠進一步考慮。目前業主立案法團嘅運作缺乏有效監管,導致貪腐違法嘅情況叢生,其中一個主要問題就係財政問題。老實講,法團擁有嘅財政大權,極容易引起貪污出現,要知道,一般嘅大廈都有幾十至幾百萬元嘅常用及備用基金,而具規模嘅屋苑更會有過千萬,甚至上億元,呢啲錢都係業主嘅共同資產,但對不法之徒嚟講,就係一大塊肥豬肉,法團嘅核心委員如果心術不正,的確係有機會可以上下其手,而且廉署要偵查亦往往有一定難度。民政事務總署不時都會同廉署合作,舉辦有關誠信大廈管理及維修嘅宣傳活動,但宣傳工作收效始終有限,我認為,政府應該趁今次檢討法例嘅機會,研究加強監管財政開支嘅情況,或增加財政開支嘅透明度,以減低貪污嘅機會。

另一項我認為需要研究嘅問題,就係授權書嘅問題。現行法例規定,舉行業主大會時業主可以用授權書嘅方式,委任代表出席會議及投票,而政府更備有標準格式嘅授權書,供業主使用。使用授權書嘅目的,係方便業主大會容易達到法定人數,或者就重要嘅事項可以順利作出表決。不過,授權書亦產生唔少流弊,例如攞到足夠授權書嘅人喺投票中就會取勝,但結果未必符合大多數業主嘅預期,因為授權嘅人可能根本唔知到代表嘅人會點投票,或者授權嘅人可能係老人家,對法團根本一無所知,只係基於個人情面而作出授權,最終就引發好多矛盾、甚至操控等情況。所以,應該研究改革授權書制度,加強其透明度,例如將現行全權授權嘅方式,改為列明授權嘅項目,甚至列明投贊成或反對票,以減低可能引發嘅糾紛。

社交分享

Speech on Improving property management and operation of owners

From the 60s and the 70s, Hong Kong’s population started to increase continuously. At the same time, many private buildings were completed. The buildings built back then are now 40 to 50 years old. It is inevitable that signs of age start to appear. Many buildings lack proper management or have no management at all. In a dilapidated state, there are recently many cases of falling concrete injuring passer-bys. These ruinous buildings become the city’s time bomb.

 

To prevent the time bomb from going off, the government urges the formation of Owners’ Corporation to take on the buildings’ management and maintenance. Currently, Hong Kong has around 40,000 private buildings, including which around 17,600 buildings have formed 9,600 OCs together. Every year, around 250 new OCs are formed. After their formations, the management of the buildings subsequently improves. However, because the OCs have a lot of power over the building management as well as the financial source, it is very easy for corruption and management disputes to arise. With the encouragement of government, more OCs are to be formed and therefore, more arguments and issues may come up. The government needs to review the current laws to offer more help to the OCs as well as strengthening the supervision.

The government promotes the formation of Owners’ Corporations, but they have been failing to provide sufficient assistance such as an explanation to the owners of the responsibilities and risks after the OC is formed. The assistance the government has provided so far include setting up District Building Management Liaison Teams and Panels of Advisors on Building Management Disputes and launching the Building Management Professional Advisory Service Scheme. However, there are only 120 Home Affairs Department Liaison Officers to take care of over 40,000 cases of private building management issues; there is no doubt on the low quality of assistance. These officers are most likely overloaded with the average 1,600 cases of building management disputes they get every year. In order to successfully advance the formation of Owners’ Corporations, the government is responsible for providing more comprehensive and more precise assistance. The simplest way to achieve this is to greatly increase the number of Liaison Officers, so that they can directly deal with each OC about their management issues.

The government has always been reinforcing the advantages of forming Owners’ Corporations, in order to encourage owners to initiate formation. But according to local communities, they only gloss over its responsibilities, risks and the possibility of disputes. For the society, the formation of OCs is certainly a good deed, but it is not fair on the dedicated owners, if they are encouraged to be part of an OC without being fully informed of the risks, responsibilities and liabilities. In the recent years, there have been cases where the owners are afraid of legal responsibility and consequently resigned. In my opinion, the government should comprehensively explain the risks and responsibilities involved when promoting the formation of OCs; they should not avoid talking about this only because they worry about it making the owners reluctant to join the OC. What is more important is that, they should help the owners come up with ideas to solve the problems. If the management is done well, the risks which the owners take on are significantly lower.

At present, the government is comprehensively reviewing the “Building Management Ordinance”, in which there are issues that we should pay attention to and we hope the government can further consider them. The current Owners’ Corporations lack effective regulatory, causing corruption and other similar crimes. One of the most important problems is financial issues. The OCs have great control over the finances, which easily causes corruption. An average contingency fund for a building consists of a few hundred thousand to a few million dollars; sizable estates may have tens of millions to billions of dollars. This money is the asset of the owners, but for criminals, this is an extremely tempting target. Should the core members of the OC harbour malice in their hearts, they definitely have the opportunities to attempt corruption. It would also be difficult of the ICAC to investigate. The Home Affairs Department is often in cooperation with the ICAC and hold promotional activities about reliable building management and maintenance, but these activities are limited. During this comprehensive review, I believe the government should further look into supervising financial management or increasing its visibility, in order to lower the risks of corruption.

Another problem which we should investigate is the Power of Attorney. The current laws state that owners may use Power of Attorney during Owners’ Meetings to appoint a representative to attend the meeting and to vote. The government has even prepared a standard format of Power of Attorney for owners to use. The purpose of Power of Attorney is for the Owners’ Meeting to reach the quorum, so that important votes can be conducted smoothly. However, the use of the Power of Attorney is often abused. For example, people who have enough Power of Attorney may win the vote, but the result is not what the owners were expecting, because the representatives did not know how the owners would have voted; or that the owner is an elderly and has absolutely no knowledge on the OC. When the Power of Attorney is used on a personal level, many arguments or manipulation may ensue. Therefore, we should investigate into reforming the system of Power of Attorney and increasing its visibility, in order to lower the chances of disputes. For example, changing the current full authority system to listing particular authorized items, or stating voting for “approve” or “oppose”.

Social sharing